Yorkshire Water

Yorkshire Water Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun pace to work
Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire17 January 2020
It was a standard 9-5pm job. Learnt how to manage time and deal with customer queries. The workplace is very diverse. The hardest part was the progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall YW is a great place to work
Procurement Administration Team Leader - Shared Services (Former Employee) –  Bradford4 December 2019
Fast Paced, Rewarding and challenging place to work.

Variety of Management abilities
Variety of Cultures
Rewards
Friendly accessible people
Graduate Development
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Catchment Operator (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire30 November 2019
Great Company to work for working with some great people well looked after with PPE and transport etc but pay is way below par for the type of work done
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t waste your time here
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire28 November 2019
People who have been here have been here for years and generally are pretty bad at what they do. They hate anything new or anyone new, and don’t bother suggesting anything new as they will want to just do it the way they’ve always done it !
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to work
Customer Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Midpoint Bradford8 September 2019
You are treated s an individual and are listened to. There is plenty of scope for personal development and progression \long with options to amend your hours to suit your needs. Often challenging but always rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Water Quality Scientist (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire30 August 2019
Great people and a good work culture. The company is generally good to work with with an excellent work life balance and the opportunity to explore roles in different teams if you want either on secondment or permanently
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly boring
Planning & Scheduling Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bradford15 August 2019
Decent enough place to work, although not without its flaws. My personal experience was one of boredom and frustration over a 12-year period. Suffers from a culture of almost-constant change and restructuring and rebranding. Years of cost-saving has left it crippled in many ways, so that it relies almost totally on contract partners and consultants to deliver some primary services and make decisions in major areas. There is no training on corporate systems, which themselves vary from decent to downright appalling and crippling. Poor and cynical attitudes towards its own data do not help.The money is good and they have a progressive attitude to some things.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Rate of change is too high and not sufficiently well planned
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Casual Temp (Former Employee) –  Bradford24 July 2019
They have a high rate of people going off sick with mental health problems because of the stress and pressure management put upon people they expect too much without giving anything back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying culture
Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 March 2019
Yorkshire water seems to pride itself on its culture of inclusion and fairness, but this couldn’t be further from the truth. Senior managers are at best incompetent and they hide this through bullying and adding undue pressure and stress to colleagues. Bullying is inherent in this organisation and if you dare raise it your targeted as weak and the bullying gets even worse. Personally this left me in a very very bad state and only now 6 months after leaving do I feel comfortable talking about it. My advice to anybody considering working for Yorkshire water, would be DONT
Pros
Some of the people there are nice
Cons
Bullying and threatening environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely people, welcoming and productive place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire18 January 2019
Yorkshire Water was a brilliant place to work
lovely people, welcoming and productive place to work

The management and staff were professional and supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Customer Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire14 January 2019
this company seems to deliver great policies and a great belief system however everything is done on prison timings, you risk losing your job over a little mistake. youre an ant in a hill within that company. its a false pretense that youre initially under. Not a good company to work for. you have such a bollocking if you are anxious or nervous to be sat there not allowed to move for a full shift with timed breaks and lunches the pay is absolutely shocking and not worth your time
Cons
Long Hours, Rubbish Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with fabulous people
Retail Competition Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire27 November 2018
I loved my time working at Yorkshire Water from day one. The culture is amazing and I would recommend this company to anyone. They have a good drive and direction.
Pros
Onsite restaurant
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
customer relationship manager (Former Employee) –  Bradford8 March 2018
Very busy environment dealing with all sorts of issues but very rewarding. Management are keen to help and get the best out of the team. Working hours are reasonable.
Pros
freindly staff, canteen on site, career progression, safety of staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place To Work
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire8 January 2018
Staff & management friendly, opportunities for progression & development. Offers job security, provides good working environment and has staff canteen.
Pros
Subsidised Canteen
Cons
1 Hour Travelling Time By Train & Bus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yw
Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Bradford City Centre, West Yorkshire14 December 2017
yorkshire water is a great organistation it puts customers first and was a decent place to work and develop new skills for complex systems that are required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work.
Director of Communications (Former Employee) –  Leeds16 November 2017
A high-profile company operating in a highly-regulated environment. Good focus on customer service. Region's biggest investor in the environment and a huge capital improvement programme delivering significant benefits for local communities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied workload
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Bradford3 October 2017
I have managed wide variety of schemes which has been excellent for learning. The general work atmosphere is good. The company has been pushing the training aspect in AMP6 which has been well received. Management (like any workplace) can vary wildly between departments and teams but I have had reasonable success in this field. There can be a lot of hoops to jump through and the E2E process could be streamlined which can be frustrating.
Pros
Interesting projects. Fairly relaxed work environment. Training.
Cons
Pay could be better. Having enough control over key decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Mechanical Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  North Yorkshire4 September 2017
Nice place to work. Some very good engineers out on the front lines. 37 hours per week creates a good work life balance we currently work a 4 day week which is perfect for most.
Pros
4 day working week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire28 February 2017
working for Yorkshire water was my so far best job, i loved my job.
a typical day at work would be keeping every thing in order making sure my men out on site knew what they was doing making sure my team was all aware of where we was at through out the day i learned a lot about computers, utility work, planning work, the hardest part of the job was making sure all the reports were as up to date as possible before they left to the management this was because things could change with in minutes but i loved the challenge.
this was a great work place and a kind environment this job really helped with m confidence in trying new things.
Pros
group things
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, Interesting and Engaging
Strategic Asset Planner (Current Employee) –  Bradford29 December 2016
My experience with Yorkshire Water is very positive as I look back over the last eight years or so. It has provided me with some great development opportunities and provides a relaxed and enjoyable work environment overall.
Pros
The benefits I think are good overall
Cons
Nothing worth noting here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yorkshire Water. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 45 reviews
519
414
36
22
14

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Yorkshire Water Reviews by Location