Yodel Employee Reviews

Found 494 reviews matching the search See all 510 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard graft
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Shaw, Greater Manchester16 February 2019
It’s a physically demanding job. I was sorting heavy items to their correct locations. The pay doesn’t match the graft you do. The people are so-so, just like any work environment, but being able to have a laugh with your colleagues to get you through the day is essential, which this place does just about manage to achieve. No issues with management - like with a lot of half-decent places, they’ll leave you alone if you actually do your job.
Pros
Management leave you to it
Cons
No appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full management is a joke.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Bellshill7 January 2019
Slave labour, constantly spoke to like dirt. Treated like dirt, constantly asked to do over time without a thanks. Always given dirty broken vans when you ask to get them cleaned or fixed they don’t do it they tell you to get on with it. If you take your time to lay out your van they deduct time off your shift. Just not nice people to work for.
Pros
No pros no thanks or care for they’re employees
Cons
Company managers and ceo is a con.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay
Neighbourhood Courier (Former Employee) –  Warrington14 November 2018
Paid per parcel delivered. If a delivery fails due to the recipient not being home you have to return the following day and are not paid for the failed attempt. If a recipient refuses a delivery you have to return the parcel and are not paid anything for that parcel.

You use your own car for deliveries and have to pay for your own fuel.
Pros
Set your own hours. As long as your parcels are delivered it is up to you when you work.
Cons
Very low pay after you account for fuel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Bellshill, North Lanarkshire12 January 2019
I've read a lot of negative comments about Yodel

But since I started as a Christmas temp the management staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Always offering help and advice when required
Its a fast paced environment but it's enjoyable
Would recommend working for Yodel in a heartbeat.
Pros
Friendly and helpful staff
Cons
Hours can be a bit tough at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Borehamwood, UK9 December 2018
Always scan parcels correctly and making sure all un-delivered parcels are back at the warehouse and ready to re-deliver the next morning.
Making sure all items have been scanned to make sure they have arrived in the warehouse.
Keeping good partnership with drivers.
Helping eachother where needed and work together as a team
Pros
Bring your own lunch
Cons
Decent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed going to different area's
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Lancashire23 October 2018
Driving a Luton van, duties included loading and unloading, transporting packages to couriers in their various areas, also scanning and delivering items to houses and business, ensuring excellent time management skills and using my geographical knowledge well.

I enjoyed driving through different areas and meeting new people.
Pros
Nice team
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible and badly organised
Employed driver (Former Employee) –  Alfreton27 September 2018
No one knows what they’re doing in this place, parcels are badly sorted, you ask for help and you get looked at like you’re a moron, majority of the management are friendly but its the select few that let you down, they give you 2 days “training” this consists of being a drivers mate for two days then they expect you to be able to do the job although youve been there years, ridiculous, overtime is just expected, you’ll not be done for the time you’re meant to finish for and you’re lucky if you get paid for any extra hours you work let alone any overtime pay, i did a 14 1/2 hour shift one day, must have been a 65 hour week and no one even said thankyou for the ridiculous amount of over time i worked.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, terrible lay
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Driver (Former Employee) –  Carrickfergus9 December 2018
The management have a poor attitude especially if you are a temp. The hours for a driver are excessive and potentially dangerous. The rate of pay seems good for overtime but it is not. You just end up doing twice the work (80 hours) for the same money in one week.
Pros
It’s a job at Christmas
Cons
Poor management and attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job...
Agency Driver (Former Employee) –  Devon14 October 2018
In Agency Driver land, the sheer mention of Yodel , strikes terror into the hearts of grown men, as it's reputation goes before it.
If you are unfortunate enough , to be doing the bog -standard Multi- drop deliveries , it's a nightmare !
You can spend hours waiting to load your van & leave depot at 11am and not get back until very late ; after 7pm . You will then be treated harshly by a surly Night Manager for any undelivered parcels.
The scanners regularly break and finding most rural addresses is very difficult.
You could get 50+ drops ,all spaced out sometimes.
For Town Centre deliveries you have the added stress of getting parking tickets.
On a more positive note , if you are given the bag or pallet runs , it's a doddle !
The Day management staff were fair and seemed decent people.
Pros
Doing Pallet or Bag deliveries- very cushy.
Cons
Doing Multidrop...silly amounts of parcels
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was self employed for 3 years loved the job just doesnt pay enough.
selfemployed driver (Former Employee) –  Llanelli, Carmarthenshire16 October 2018
I spent almost three years at yodel as a self employed multidrop delivery driver working six days a week and severn over the busy Christmas period. I had my own van; own insurance etc. I did like the job but too much responsibility for the low earnings.
Pros
own boss
Cons
poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repetitive and heavy lifting
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Willenhall3 September 2018
working at yodel isn't something anyone would want to do long term. even though the work is easy to do, everyday is the same. you are either scanning parcels, loading/unloading trucks or moving parcels from one location to another.


the induction is very long and not that useful. the first week of working there, they put you in a section to work in, but do not tell you what you have to do exactly. you have to learn everything yourself pretty much or ask another worker for assistance.
Pros
morning shift - good hours
Cons
repititive, hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't the best
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Exeter10 September 2018
Wasn't the best working environment but it could have been a lot worse as i have heard stories on other depots. Some of the management weren't the best as when some of the lorries arrived late they would be nowhere to be found especially the old manager who didn't come in till around 9 in the morning when most of the heavy lifting had been done.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst work place ever
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire5 November 2018
The management is incompetent, most of transport office staff are useless, been working at Yodel for 3 years as a class 1 driver the only good thing is that they leave you alone to deal with your job.
It's not worth getting up in the morning to go there.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people to work with, Terrible company to work for.
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Oldbury5 January 2019
Considering i have been working for this company for the past two years i see no progression in my future here especially considering how disposable the ground level staff appear to be.
I am on a Saturday contract and have tried numerous times to acquire a full time one to no avail as the "budget" will not allow it.
Although i am still able to work full time as overtime.
Clearly to avoid them having to pay me any holidays or sickness and to keep me flexible between shifts.
To which i have told them numerous times i would still be able to cater to.
Overall this company is completely money hungry and give the staff no incentive to continue to work for them yet expect you to bleed yourself dry and forget about any instance of a social life you may have otherwise you are punished as such for failure to comply.

This is a stop gap at best especially for younger people just do not expect any sense of progression or warmth from this employer.
Pros
The people
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull dark and dusty
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Southampton4 August 2018
i worked over xmas in the warehouse, its fastpaced obviously. drivers are grouchy, customers are even worse if they come in to collect. its very samey. same routine everyday which some people might enjoy. not challenging at all work, considering half the staff dont even speak english you will be fine. i was only girl in warehouse alot of heavy lfiting but nothing i couldnt manage. worked overtime alot but you get paid 1.5x and 2x on a sunday so i just got my head down over xmas. not a bad a job i would go back not couldnt do it for years....
Pros
on your feet
Cons
long hours, short breaks, dark warehouse, loud machines, grumpy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will throw you out at any time
Courier Driver (Former Employee) –  Kent31 July 2018
Worked 5 years for them doing the Neighbourhood Courier job. Despite the obscenely low 'pay' I enjoyed the job and knew my area inside out. Then straight out of the blue, they said my services were no longer required, as Yodel can save money by booting out their non-contract fools like me. Don't touch this company - they even had the cheek to offer me a month's work over Christmas.....p taking or what?
Pros
Customers okay
Cons
being paid a pittance
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interactive place to work
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire9 January 2019
Good place thing get done
Great delivery service. Plenty of communication before amd after delivery so they knew what was happening

Useful

Share

Notify
Pros
Anytime eating break
Cons
Sitting in a van
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke of a place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Borehamwood, Hertfordshire22 July 2018
Not only are management pony at their job the wages are horrendous. Hours promised but never got them. Very dull and boring job. Same thing over and over again. They expect miracles from you as soon as you enter the building. Uniform is so small and tight. Nada smell constantly coming from the toilets. Useless canteen for breaks. Wouldn't send my worst enemy to this gaff. Joke of a place
Pros
You must be joking?
Cons
just being there
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time courier
Courier (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear12 November 2018
advert say 30 to 50 pound a day but you only get 47p per parcel and and 30 t0 40 parcels a day do the maths its a rip off dont think about doing this one one day i recieved 17 parcels at 47p i got paid £7.99p
Pros
none
Cons
cant make a living
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are willing to work you can earn money
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Hove15 October 2018
Not as easy as people think but if you put in the time and effort you can make money, Overall the delivery drivers are not treated that well even though they are the face of the company.
Pros
work at own pace
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yodel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 510 reviews
583
4111
3125
263
1128

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture