YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Romford, Greater London12 October 2018
the ymca is a very good place to work. as someone on work experience they were very accepting and helpful. I learnt communications skills and shadowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but challenging
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Camp Cullen11 October 2018
There are definitely management issues and the days are long but the experience is unforgetable and definitely life changing in so many ways. The oppourtubities provided more than suffucient
Pros
Lofe changing experiences
Cons
Very long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and stressful
Creche Assistant (Current Employee) –  Thornton4 October 2018
Own department team really good, management lack customer service and communication skills. the children are brilliant to work with and parents are very nice.
Cons
mixed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire3 October 2018
Good to work for nice and polite great team of kitchen staff great hygiene good hours pleasant work force clean and precise a great standard of food and excellently well kept kitchen 5star cleanliness
Pros
Free food
Cons
Not overly long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really helpful and mind opening to what woinh in a gym is like
Sports Assistant (Former Employee) –  Romford30 September 2018
Very fun and happy work place, lots of diversity when it came to clients and a good experience overall. Staff there were very welcoming and provided good instructions.
Pros
Always someone to help understand how the facilities worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive and interesting
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk27 September 2018
i Learned how to interview people for the YMCA , it is a nice and calm place to work all of the staff are really nice and kind the hardest part of the was was intervening people that dint communicate very well
Pros
free lunch and good experience
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful
support (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex18 September 2018
Where do i start?

APPALLING experience

Never again

Pretentious "one team, one love" ethos....(which is a load of rubbish, because if your face doesn't fit....thats it.....you are out)

unhelpful

stressful (not one break in the whole working day)
Pros
shift patterns are ok
Cons
where do I start?
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well looked after
Nursery Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire12 September 2018
The company has very good morals and will look after the staff as well as they look after the clients. They are keen to intergrate all parts of the company so people get to know each other. The high up management are friendly and will listen to staff.
Pros
Good communication within the company, good pay
Cons
Long commute for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benifits and hours
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Girton, Cambridgeshire11 September 2018
The job comes with great benefits and easy and flexible hours. The pay is reasonable and there is always an opportunity for additional training to grow your skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Job, good experience
health and fitness advisor volunteer, started (Former Employee) –  London10 September 2018
It was a great opportunity to get involved in the fitness area, focusing in customer engagement and cub assistance.
The facility was great, which offered a great platform to train clients.
It was great to finally start engaging with members in the gym floor and finally develop the skills to transform them in to potential clients.
Pros
Discount some of the courses.
Cons
No payment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thetford9 September 2018
It was pleasant working here apart from it being sold out from under our noses although I was a volunteer I found it a compelling experience at this shop
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
IQA (Current Employee) –  Home Based7 September 2018
Home worker so unable to comment on typical day etc, Communication is poor from management, Currently undergoing changes that is resulting in redundancies. No real wage structure, management favours some employees over others.
Pros
Working from home
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands24 August 2018
I was there on work expierence staff were lovely and friendly, great place too work again it was same sort of thing working as shop assistant tagging, pricing replenishing stock steaming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun and happy place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool24 August 2018
it was a productive and a great way to meet other peop[e we opened boxes and bin bags full of donated items then they where inspected to see if they where saleable. the volenteers took turnsat using the cash register and working on the shop floor,some volenteers like staying at the back of the shop cleaning and tagging items. the money raised went to keep vunerable kids of the streets and food was also given to them.
thankyou
thomas
Pros
it kept you busy
Cons
it was a long day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wigan18 August 2018
i was a un-paid volunteer whilst i was in college. i enjoyed helping sort the items for selling and pricing them as well. the staff there are helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is very hard work
Play Worker (Former Employee) –  Dorking15 August 2018
this job is very hard work. It is long hours (7) and you get a very short lunch break (20-30 mins). the staff are not all friendly to other staff and the management is poor. we are always understaffed in certain locations and the people in charge do not seem to care or worry about how the workers are going to have to deal with this. The job itself is hard because you have to take care of an individual who needs a lot of support. You feed them, toilet them, make sure they are clean. the pay is okay at £6 an hour however, for the work I did in each hour I would expect it to be £8-9 an hour minimum.
Pros
rewarding
Cons
long hours, low pay, staff attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Experience (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester26 July 2018
very good place to learn about mechanics if that's the industry you would like to work in also they provide you with every information you require and the teaching is amazing,
Pros
free learning
Cons
teaching
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with rent arrears
Supported Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  London21 July 2018
arranging a meeting with a customers and looking at there financial circumstance and arrange flexible way to pay back the arrears to avoid eviction .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy work envirnment
Reception duties and customer service (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire19 July 2018
As I only worked their as part of my work experience their isn't much I have to say other than all staff are lovely and you feel very welcome from the moment you get there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive place
Helped out (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire15 July 2018
I worked in YMCA in which I experienced working long hours. Not only did I gain skills such as developing and producing
tasks to keep kids busy, I also experienced working with different types of individuals especially kids in which some were
very difficult to handle. Although my work experience was only a couple of days, I believe that unlike normal work
experiences where individuals tend to gain a lot of confidence, I have developed intense cooperation, stamina and the
ability to work and deal patiently with all sorts of individuals. I also took part in meeting to help young people with
fitness. I believe that these skills will highly benefit me in any field of work.
Pros
Gained plenty of skills
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22,620 reviews
59.9K
47.1K
33.9K
21.1K
1663

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture