YMCA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary based
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire21 May 2018
setting up and running of store,
taking on of volunteers
raising profile of charity
dealing with donations
Target based
Dealing with customers
If the lease on building expires you have to pack up and find another site.
Pros
Working for a valued charity
Cons
traveling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Engaging Environment
Voluntary Children's Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Torbay18 May 2018
Spent time running girls basketball sessions to promote this in the South West. Thoroughly enjoyed getting to know all of the girls and helping them develop basketball skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here
Security officer (Current Employee) –  Penzance, Cornwall11 May 2018
i wouldnt never work here ever again most of the staff dont know what there doing,the young people that live here do just what they want and the staff dont do any thing about it.most of the kids cause that are what they are smoke cannabis and get drunk every night
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and serious work environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 April 2018
What happens as with any shop as the week goes on business picks up and there is more work to do. As in most charity shops the mood is warm and friendly
Pros
Hour lunch break
Cons
Long hours to occupy your time constructively
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleetwood, Lancashire22 April 2018
Worked really hard and did was i was asked to do and always got stuff done was very helpful towards customers if they asked any questions i would always answer them politely at all times
Pros
They gave me money for greggs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Prenton16 April 2018
Fantastic great company to work for, great people to work with and excellent customers that you form close bonds with over the years of working there.
Pros
people
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Volenteer (Current Employee) –  London8 April 2018
It is a good place to work and play with. Since been coming from about 8 years it has changes not much there but there has been a couple of good people go in the climbing department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Gymnastics Coach (Former Employee) –  Neath Port Talbot5 April 2018
Management= good
wouldn't have to worry about anything as there was always someone to take care of everything so you could get on with your job.
i don't know about anyone else's job i only went there for three hour one day a week to complete my job as a gymnastics coach.
the facilities and staff were all lovely, but unfortunately i don't work there anymore since i went away to university. i would recommend going as it is a lovely place and lovely people to work with. i have had fun and enjoyed my time there.
Pros
free first aid
Cons
no time for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace
Voluntary Worker (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, Suffolk4 April 2018
It's okay would like paid work but I'm only volunteering. I have its quite and its very busy sometimes the staff are very nice the treat you like a team member
Pros
Let lunch
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Case Practitioner (Trainee) (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire31 March 2018
The staff are always fun and friendly. The staff and customers always work in partnership to try and improve the young persons circumstances and help them go forward with their lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Housing support team leader (Former Employee) –  Halton Runcorn22 March 2018
No two days were ever the same
Good prospects of advancing
Management was good there if you needed them
Can be very stressful when dealing with residents
All staff were like family
Cons
Hours can be long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dogs Trust
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Eastleigh7 March 2018
very good and awarding charity shop good at working with others enjoys working on the till likes serving the customers giving the customers a friendly smile
Pros
going out shopping
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ymca
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton and Hove, East Sussex1 March 2018
i did loving going there to help out love to meet new people are alway friendy and help fall love talkig to custom they alway make me smile its not hard to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, good pay, good young people, and good people to work with.
Community Sports Coach (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire26 February 2018
Good work, good pay, good young people, and good people to work with reasonable flexibility at the time of working there. Good coaches and excellent pay for the work I did there.
Pros
Friendly people to work with as a former football focused community sports coach for the charity.
Cons
Zero-hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun experience
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Southwark21 February 2018
I enjoyed working with the children and staff. Everyone was welcoming and helped out if I was ever confused or needed help with a task. Overall I really enjoyed my time there, even when I attended as one of the children a couple years prior.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wylde Green15 February 2018
fun place to work, inclusive and accepting, is different each day as you never know whos going to come in or whar may be donated, always something to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but Rewarding
Music Counsellor Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wells6 February 2018
This was a volunteering job, therefore, I was not getting paid, hence the 1 star for salary. My job was teaching music to homeless people aged 16-25 who were living in this sheltered housing. This was for both myself and the YMCA to see whether music could be a viable form of therapy for these people and I have to say the reason I found this job so rewarding was because of the success this form of therapy had on them. A typical work day would involve me going round to the home for a few hours once a week to just play music both for and with those who would like to join, teaching them various instruments and songs that they all wanted to learn. This could become quite stressful sometimes, as obviously, in most cases those who lived at the house had had very traumatic lives. However it must be said that the therapy worked tremendously well, more and more people came each week and I was often informed of the tenants' improved mental stability and application to school work.
Pros
very rewarding
Cons
only there for a short time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Events and Administration Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London5 February 2018
Being a Hear for Youth listener
Help run Basketball sessions and tournaments
Organising activity launches for a building opening and here for your helpline service
Getting Training to be on the helpline service of Hear4Youth
Pros
Gym membership card
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sports Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands4 February 2018
At YMCA it was the best time of my life. Within a week I experienced; office work, active work, fundraising coaching etc... I recommend it to everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sports in commuinity
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Nottingham3 February 2018
great place to work I would take as I only spent a week their on work experience but really enjoyed the week I was there as I love all sports so was the perfect job role for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 20,725 reviews
59.2K
46.5K
33.5K
2972
1580

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture