Yates Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 148 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
bar staff (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham14 August 2018
Wouldn't recommend
horrible place, dont get paid for the hours you do and are expected to work every weekend and get £15 a night to work from 11pm till 4 am
Pros
leaving
Cons
barred after leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Hastings5 August 2018
Zero support, this is a company that allows it's staff and managers to bully people out of their job. All this was well documented and taken to the highest level where it was not only not investigated but I was 'advised' to resign. Disgusting company avoid at all costs!
Pros
Decent salary for managers
Cons
On call 24/7, no support, bullying allowed, 4 managers in 4 months!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
bar staff (Former Employee) –  stonegate, UK11 June 2018
Fun place to work,great vibes. Fun learning and making cocktails. Fun team members.
Love the customers.
The only thing I would change is finishing up at 5am!
Pros
party vibes
Cons
5am finishing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity in the workplace
Bartender (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire27 April 2018
I have learnt a lot of skills from Yates, The staff are welcoming, and are very helpful, Usual day working would be going both between the bar, also collecting glasses, The enjoyable part of the job would be meeting new people and getting along with everybody.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of yates bar leicester square
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Leicester Square, Greater London7 February 2018
This bar was very good to work in it was a shame that it was shut down as it was the ideal place to develop my bartending career. I hope to find a work place like this again soon,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reminiscent of excrement
Barmaid (Former Employee) –  Park Street29 November 2017
Working for Yates was horrible as I will list:
working 9pm-4am but not getting paid for an hour as they clock you out
no social life due to the hours you work every weekend
always tired
bully staff
give you shifts on how much they like you
Pros
none - just run for the hills :)
Cons
Low pay, zero hour contract, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Kitchen Team Leader/Head Chef (Current Employee) –  Stafford17 November 2017
Could be better. Management are not the best they could be. Very unprofessional. No job security. Low pay. No recognition for a job well done. Basically a joke.
Cons
Long hours. No recognition for job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for younger age
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Tamworth14 August 2017
This job was good and gave me lots of confidence due to working with customers on a daily basis. The staff and customers were all friendly and it was a very demanding role.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Manchester Piccadilly27 July 2017
Usual night started work at 6, wouldn't finish until 5am and only got a 20 minute break. Always felt under staffed. There was a lot of pressure being behind the bar when understaffed. Wages are poor and very long unsociable hours.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Long hours, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unenjoyable
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire10 July 2017
Not a good place to work. On multiple occasions myself and sometimes only one or two other members of staff were available to serve and deal with over a hundred customers on busy nights whilst management chatted. A lot of customer complaints went ignored. In one incident a member of staff and customers were sexually harassed and when reported to management they did not act upon it and allowed the customer to stay in the premises to continue his behaviour.
Cons
Incompetent management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy work place
Glass Collector (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire26 June 2017
I worked as a glass collector in Yates and it was a funny and happy place to work. The team I used to work with was like my second family. It was a busy yet fun place to work.
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work at the time
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire19 June 2017
Start of well for couple of years, meau was good until they start competing with different companies and then standered went down. Was a good team of staff but to many bosses and to many changes.
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
Food change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work for the year.
Part-time Bartender (Former Employee) –  Leeds17 June 2017
The management could have initially been friendlier, though they were replaced with nicer individuals who made significant effort to ensure a happy working environment.
Pros
Holiday Pay
Cons
Balancing Uni work and Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Watford12 April 2017
I enjoyed socialising with the customers and other staff members, however it is not the area I wish to pursue, although it did allow me to have some money to myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Bedfordshire22 February 2017
Have learned a lot, possibility to grow.
Management is really good - helpful.
Great night-time and weekday venue which always creates a great atmosphere. You’ll find every Yates serving fantastic food and drink, in a buzzy and exciting environment, throughout the week, all day long!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyab;e
General Manager (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire15 February 2017
I enjoyed my time as a General Manager and was in charge of a major refurbishment and brand change during my employment. I enjoyed working and training team members and watched them exceed all expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun first job
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow9 February 2017
it was a good place to work, i learned a lot from serving, table serving, bio-hazard cleaning and till work.
i enjoyed serving drinks at the bar.
Pros
place has changed ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant, vibrant work place
Deputy manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton, UK6 February 2017
A typical day included opening or closing learning how to run the various departments. The management team were good and easy to work with and taught me well. The hardest part of the job was the late hours the most enjoyable part was getting to know people.
Pros
Discount food
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely horrible
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 February 2017
Really really unfair shift patterns and no life outside of work, i didn't have time to eat or sleep, on multiple occasions did double shifts on 3 hours sleep and no food....all this for minimum wage
Pros
Supportive colleagues
Cons
Long hours and unfair shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Bar/Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Skegness17 November 2016
A great place to work. i learned a great deal of knowledge. made to feel very comfortable an taught me my kitchen qualification.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 148 reviews
548
438
340
210
112

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture