World Duty Free Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great team of people
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Gatwick Airport Station16 April 2018
a great fun and organised group of people who were very professional and gave excellent customer service to make the passengers an excellent before they re holidays
Pros
good time
Cons
no recomendations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Luton Airport11 April 2018
It's a very good job to meet new people, there's great benefits and I must say the hours are very good.
The hardest part of the job is being by yourself at the shop sometimes
Pros
long breaks
Cons
odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of this job, were my colleagues..They were all amazing and very special..
Customer Service Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport9 April 2018
The job was quite pleasant, but,at times, it could become very manic, with people that were stressed over delayed flights, etc.It just changed, hour by hour..
The management, were not always great, as some of the managers were difficult, but,if you had a good manager, which was not often, it was ok.
The excitement of working at the airports what makes enjoyable, depending on the kind person you are..
Pros
Great colleagues, and discounts on duty free makeup..
Cons
Management never very helpful..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glasgow bond agency staff member
Forklift Driver/Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Glasgow bond13 March 2018
Previous agency forklift driver management go into a strop if you cant work weekends and want you in on a sunday for same rate of pay

Management sticking the knife in each other
Talking about the staff behind their back then making out they are your best friend trying to turn you against other staff and managers so you will report back to them on the on going while they are off shift

Management out for themselve to see what they can get for them no interest in the good of the staff/company or other companies products

(Non management) Mostly a good bunch of guys some are a little lazy but if friends with the duty manager they get away with it daily management also try and divide and conquer by telling the staff that a person said something about their work rate but most of the time it is made up lies

Company strive on staff coming up with better work practices or company savings but are quickly shot down by management as they don't adapt to change easily

Wouldn't work here as a full time job
Pros
Start at 5am Finnish at 2.30 7 days a week 5 on 3 off rota.. staff discount on some products
Cons
Stroppy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crab
Sales and Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  heathrow terminal 47 March 2018
Wouldn't recommend working here
Managers are so disrespectful and rude
High turnover of staff
BIG CLICK in there if your face don't fit look out
watch your back
Load of backstage
Wouldn't recommend to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside22 February 2018
Wouldn't recommend working here
Managers are so disrespectful and rude
High turnover of staff
BIG CLICK in there if your face don't fit look out
watch your back
Load of backstage
Wouldn't recommend to anyone
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours mangers show you no respect and dam right rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds And Bradford10 January 2018
My experience within my working period with world duty free, was a different but enjoyable time. With friendly co workers, understanding management and happy passenger. The day there are actual really fun but also hard . You work quite long hours but your not stuck doing the same thing for all the hours, so you don't get bored. There is always something to do, so that your not stud around. The co workers are all a laugh and you will have fun working with them. This job gives you great experience in customer service and retail, which will help you in your future careers. If i ever got the chance i would go back working for them.
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
Far to travel to if you live a bit away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Heathrow Airport8 January 2018
Having worked for World Duty Free, I have enjoyed working there with the team. Staff are excellent and very helpful. The day to day job is also quite easy and relaxed that doesn't require much effort. However the Management is absolutely horrendous. They don't have a clue about anything but pretend, and would like to think they know everything. The way they speak to members of staff is a joke. very rude and abrupt. Dominating Management. Better training should be provided to Management to retain staff.
Pros
Great fun place to work, meet lots of people. Fast paced environment
Cons
Management is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Customer Environment
Customer service agent (Current Employee) –  London28 December 2017
Good mix of cultural diversities, get to work with various departments thus learn about different brands, work on rotating shift patterns which can also get hectic due to inadequate sleep imbalances.
Pros
Major Discount on brands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail assistant and replenishment
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester Airport, Greater Manchester28 December 2017
Everyday was different in the airport as the replenishment team we had to stock the shelves in the beauty area. Perfumes, aftershaves, make up and creams were all to be put in place and we had to make sure the shelves were clean. Once the last flight had departed i had to cash up all the tills including the duty free outlets. After cashing up i would offer my colleagues help in the luxury area. Once everything is clean and in place and shelves were stacked up neatly i had to welcome early passengers which would be around 4am. Greeting people from across the world was the best experience. Towards the end of the shift i had to monitor the alcohol and cigarettes section and explain to passengers about the policies of taking these items abroad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about World Duty Free Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  England26 December 2017
Wow......thats what makes someone coming back to the Word Duty Free. Its the customer services that we provide and always with a can do attitutes towards all customer whatever their background and culture.
Simply WOW...
Pros
Early start and up to date training
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
Replenishment assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh10 December 2017
Manager rude dictative swears.
Shouts at people on shop floor has tbem in tears.
Horrible culture ..people lie and try to get you in trouble for things you havnt done.
Very high turnover of staff due to poor management lazy csls
Backstabbing ..all the time
Unhelpful with holidays hrs etc
Takes 4 mths to approve holidays or reject
Overall morale low
Wouldnt recommend to worst enemy
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low morale backstabbing manager aweful
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars and backstabbing
Part Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Airport4 December 2017
I worked for this company for 12 weeks having given up another job. First 6 weeks not 1 problem then switched supervisors and got hauled in the office every shift for either talking to a colleague about a Work issue or not talking to colleagues and causing a atmosphere!!! She even got a pal of hers to report a blatant lie about me and got the ball rolling for me not to pass my review. Disputed it all the way but no management cared. Worked my backside off every night for nothing just so there pals could keep there jobs utter joke AVOID at all costs.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management and clique staff/liars
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic airport retail group
Operations and Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport13 November 2017
Highly dynamic airport customer service and retail group that is incredibly successful at maximising and utilising its assets at all locations that it functions in, very driven to provide for the customer experience and maximise its financial benefit impact.
Pros
Airport working
Cons
Senior business management ethos and conduct
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stansted, Essex4 November 2017
its very well organised workplace. i have enjoyed my work placement there. other team members and friendly and approachable. experiencing different culture and knowing different kind of race.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
standing for too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One extreme to the other
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham / Airport29 October 2017
Can be very boring when quiet a lot of down time but then when busy can become very hard and stressful management decide to go into hiding and sit around winding people up when already stressed as it is
Pros
Getting to finish early
Cons
Shift work working weekends way to much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managers Bully Boy Culture
Loader/Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham20 October 2017
Having worked for WDF The only thing that kept me there was the shift pattern, the Managers and Supervisors were lazy and tend to bully the staff, The Managers do not take any interest in the staff when sick or injured at work,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun environment
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  LGW17 October 2017
Working at Gatwick Airport is a busy and demanding job - there is a constant flow of customers, and customer service is paramount.
The organisation is good at delivering good customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Airport Concession company
SYSTEMS & CUSTOMER SERVICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Crawley, England9 October 2017
Many of these Managers were stuck up and self absorbed.

Insular and overly exclusive work environment with little chance for recognition or advancement on merit.

My dedication to contribute and my motivation for the job eventually gave way to a feeling of alienation and pessimism.
Pros
Staff discounts
Cons
where do i start??
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok in some areas but company needs improvement
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport, West Sussex30 September 2017
To start off with my job as a customer service assistant wasn't too bad but I very quickly realised this company has problems…

Management staff seemed more interested in gossiping than they did actually working!

Not surprised to read the company has a high staff turnover as staff have a low chance of progression and I got the impression that staff were overworked all the time.

The majority of the staff there were definitely older then I'd anticipated they would be. Company does always seem to be recruiting staff which is a rather worrying sign!

I was recruited as a Customer Service Assistant (CSA) but actually ended up being put on the night replenishment team!

Wouldn't recommend working for this company
Pros
Airport Environment
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Duty Free Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 331 reviews
569
496
372
243
151

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture