Wincanton Employee Reviews

Found 228 reviews matching the search See all 255 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
clean room operator (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset9 December 2018
i left a full time job to work in honeywell through meridian for wincanton yeovil,my role was a clean room operator which i have done and had experiance before,i was there 2 weeks !! was told i was doing a good job very happy with me doing the work and getting it done!,and was doing what was asked of me?,now bear in mind the wages are not that great in fact there awfull i was getting 9 pound a hour and thats including shift premium!!,reason i went there was nearer home and bit more money i must admit ,so was better of by a bout 60 quid ,the management was happy as they said i learned and did the work well on the friday they asked me to start at 7 am as the hours were changed i said ok no problem see you monday finished work went home,then late that friday night meridian rang me told me that they dont want me anymore !! ,now if that was the case why didnt they tell me that on friday!! now i have to contact someone to get my stuff and return it!!,poor management,no backbone,got agency to do there dirty work!!, which i might add is not there fault!,luckily i have a new job in january if i didnt it would be a very unhappy xmas and new year!! it seems they dont care about the people that work there or there employees!! so avoid at all costs if your thinking of going there!
Pros
the workforce are good nice people to work with
Cons
poor mangement, no honestydont care about the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely joke of a place
HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  Rochdale, Greater Manchester Asda.28 November 2018
The place is run by a poor management team not a clue what they are doing, don't care that you have a family at home. Have you sat there for 1 to 3 hours at a time then give you a 10 hour run. Can change your shifts from say you do mornings, and then put you on afternoons with 28 days notice and the union just let this happen and just sell you down the river. There a click with some drivers / union reps where they get looked after and get some cream jobs.
Pros
None
Cons
Management/ work life balance/planning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE the job. Shame about Managers
Class 1 Hiab Driver (Current Employee) –  Essex17 October 2018
The job itself is great! When it goers well, it goes well.........

However..........

We get a basic wage and to get a bonus you have to do 2 drops per day........working at this branch the turn around is average 4 hours.....yes thats FOUR hours. To do that Twice a day your looking at * hours just to get loaded which makes you doing 2 drops near enough impossible, so you then have to work past working hours (which you do no get paid overtime) and if you do work your balls off, you get a soppy £20 a week bonus which is a insult.

They have overcomes this by bringing in MORE managers, so now this place has three people trying to get work done and come up with a solution.

The job itself, I really do enjoy, its everything else which is difficult and people have left because of this.
Pros
Job itself is good, Other people on your level is good, money ok
Cons
Thick managers, Impossible turnaround times, pointless bonuses, LONG hours, waiting times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee, avoid this place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Larne, County Antrim12 October 2018
How to begin 8 yrs service finally left after just getting worse and worse, the job wasn't that bad the hours were not great but okay the people I worked with 90% were good the other 10% were lazy management suck ups.

Shocking state of equipment pallet trucks most couldn't lift the pallets you were picking though management constantly on your case to hit your rates, that's if you'd a truck sometimes you couldn't even get a truck.

Morale was constantly low most staff wearing their own cloths as uniforms apparently cost to much. So a high vis a bump cap and safety boots are all your gonna get.

As for wages if your after a 2.3 percent pay rise every 2 years then this is the place for you. As for the management smug bullys glad I left.
Pros
Not many
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff turnaround says it all !
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Administration22 September 2018
Worked at Wincanton for four months and I have never experienced anything like it, staff leave after a matter of weeks ! Awful working environment... three Operation Managers in four months, female workers subjected to ‘male power’ and sexist remarks that would have been outdated in the 1940’s. Avoid at all costs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local shift manager needs a lesson in people skills.
HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  Home Counties.15 September 2018
Hard work.
constant pressure.
Long hours.
Immediate managers look after themselves too much.
Liaison team distant and bark orders
...
Not a great experience.
2 years of my life wasted and never a thank you.
Pros
Pay.
Cons
Bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire17 August 2018
Don't ever think about going there. Bullying , Harassing is on the normal daily basic . Picking on ambient is the worst what you can do. To hit your rates (85%) you need to pick 200 cases /h minimum if not say bye bye to this place.If your shift start 10pm even when you wait for the brief , check LLOP they count you're rates from 10pm so from beginning you need to rush to chase up the rate. Some people working 12h shifts and if they are below 85% OPS. Manager and his puppies will fright you that they will took your overtime. Management expect you to pick full pallet of drinks in less than 15min what is not possible. One person was put on disciplinary for 12 months as he done pre-work check for two LLOP's 7 minutes and few days later force to go home by operation manager for not achieving performance (and that person was on permanent contract) so imagine how you will be treated as agency worker. Think about 100 times before you decide to work for this company specially in Northampton
Pros
Pay rate but not worth for this strees
Cons
Bullying, Harassing, Management, Performance, life balance and much more
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff good management very horrible
Mini load (Former Employee) –  Stafford13 August 2018
8 hour shift ,38 min break constantly working ,picking and decant they make you work for your money really hard management are all foreigners unless you’re European it’s no good
Pros
No pros
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont even go there!!!!
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Sherburn in Elmet, North Yorkshire29 July 2018
A disgusting place to work where managers feel as though it is acceptable to bully you!
Confidential matters are disgussed amongst the whole factory by TMs and shift managers dont confide any personal issues as they make other people aware of them.!
Health and safety is none existant and is a complete joke... any accident is your fault no matter what that is!!!
The job in question isnt bad and the pay is good but there is no chance of progressing... especially if your face doesnt fit!!
Worst place i have ever worked in my life!!
Avoid at all costs!!!
Pros
Good pay, some workers are great to work with
Cons
Very poor management!, no chance of progression, depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for the wages
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester28 July 2018
Found it to be a good place to work the hours are good very rare to go over 12 a night mostly 10 is the max good work colleagues but it can b repetitive delivering to the same place night after night
Pros
Money, hours
Cons
Can be repetitive, communication can be non-existent at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Werehouse operative (Current Employee) –  Northampton19 July 2018
Bullying!!!!! Good salary but cra p company. Two hours extended shift so very offen working ten hours shift. canteen open only 2 hours . no bonus or benefits. Hard to do achieve
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work
Picker (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire19 July 2018
Rates are unable to achieve so quickly you lend on performance stage. Bullying is on the normal daily basis. No support from other people and managers. Stay away from this place
Pros
Hourly rate
Cons
No bonuses, pick rates, bullying, and much more
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring dirty with lots of idiots
Operative worker (Current Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London18 July 2018
roof is leeking, ground have holes, the whole building wants to collapse (health & safety). Payrate is minimum, management is a bunch of idiots. No xmas bonus cause they "can't afford it". If you have brain pls don't work here.
Pros
some of the workers are friendly
Cons
above
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Driver ikea contract (Former Employee) –  Thurock, Essex ikea29 June 2018
At first all good but that only lasts a few days.
The only thing you will learn is not to trust them.
Management is a complete joke.
Best thing working here is the other drivers and porters you will meet well most of them, always one if you know what I mine.
Don't every have a accident ie fall from lorry trip over you know what I mean cause you won't get payed ( I was told I was sick ???) Cause they know best.

ANY DRIVERS LOOKING FOR WORK THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU.
Pros
None
Cons
Loads of cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need constant reminders
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol14 June 2018
There long winded on the management side of things and you got to be reminding them on occasions and keep track on what you have done and doing and making sure you keep up-to-date
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
H.G.V. Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Mossend13 June 2018
Contracts are poorly run. Some are run better than others but overall it's bad. Money is wasted left right and centre. Pressure put on drivers to drive efficiently but nothing seems to be done about management waste.
Pros
None
Cons
Unreliable equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire12 June 2018
Treat you like dog dirt, management are useless, like nothing but dissaplinarys. You get a job then they spend rest of time trying to find reasons to sack you.
You can’t talk to anyone, they just want you to work flat out as fast as humanly possible for your 8hour shift, depressing working here.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything they take anything of value away from you it’s a consentration camp
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute clown show
Former driver (Former Employee) –  Rochdale cdc31 May 2018
There’s more managers than drivers, seems anyone that has the ability to get their shoes on the right feet at first attempt is management material at wincanton.
Rochdale CDC is going downhill at a fast pace, they can’t get drivers, those that come don’t last, it really is a terrible place to work, management from top to bottom are clowns!!
Avoid at all costs!
Pros
None
Cons
It’s wincanton, say no more!
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job and company
IT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chippenham, Wiltshire17 April 2018
The title sums up my experience of Wincanton.

The company hires people who are unqualified as managers and seek to control the department. There is bullying which is rife within the company as a whole and I experienced it myself. Was glad to leave.

If you want a boring job, be constantly hen pecked by clueless management while they sit around and talk all the time or disappear to meetings like it's important then this is the place for you.

The benefits are poor and they don't care about you or the environment you're working in.
Pros
Not a thing
Cons
Management bullying, lack of benefits, no real environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down hill fast
Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire11 April 2018
When I first started was a good 'forever' job but with recent management change its gone down hill... On paper wage seems good but once you've been run over you're hours all week it works out low... New management haven't a clue and won't listen, early starts constantly doing 11-12-13 hours plus, later shift constantly sitting round waiting for keys/jobs to do etc poor management has ruined a once good job. Only one good thing is pay is always on time that's about it unfortunately. If none of this puts you off and still go for the job you will Def get it as a lot leaving at the moment.
Pros
Paid on time (only thing i could think of)
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wincanton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 255 reviews
535
473
353
227
167

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture