William Hill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgrace.
Customer Experience Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scotland14 October 2018
I worked here for 18 months and have never felt as terrible in my life than from working here, terrible management the place is a complete disgrace. In MY shop we never got weekends off while the evil manager would get all them off. Spent nights and weekends in that place constantly and was stupid enough to do everything asked of me and more, worst job I’ve ever had. You never get rewarded for anything and no one will ever cover you or swap shifts when you need it. Only beneficial thing about this job is the fact that you’ll meet new people other than that it’s a dying industry that’s trying to close all its shops anyway and have everything online. Would never recommend anyone to work in this industry as it’s completely soul destroying and you work every single day of the year. I ended up with depression and wanted to kill myself because I missed so many important things in my personal life because of that place and had many stresses at home because of it. Disgrace of a workplace filled with old people and old ways. Not a job for anyone young, with a family or someone who enjoys their free time. Also I hated the place that much I didn’t work my notice after complaining about management 3 different times and nothing being done and received nothing but abuse on my last shift.
Pros
Customers, pay
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive Changes Required
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow11 October 2018
Was once a great place to work now with restructuring in the company the role has become unpleasant. Delivering customer service is still at forefront but micromanagement from above has been a terrible move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic when I started, today it is terrible
Manager (Former Employee) –  Essex10 October 2018
If you have no family, no friends, no social life, enjoy working alone, dealing with drunk, drugged, agressive and chip-on-the-shoulders customers, then a William Hill retail career is for you.

Hills seem to pride themselves on being rated in the top 10 of worst employers, having poor levels of staff recruitment and retention so you will quickly find yourself in a shop management position. Expect to work regular 13-hour shifts, ignoring the working-time directive, and most bank holidays. The only day they can't trade is on Christmas Day, but I'm sure they are trying to change that!

On the plus side, management rarely dare show their face, so you are almost your own boss, pay is not bad, and benefits include sharesave, cycle to work scheme, and a pension
Pros
OK pay, long periods of nothing to do, various benefits
Cons
All work/no life, can be the worst of customers, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Role
Customer Experience Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow8 October 2018
Flexible work hours, customer focused position, room to progress quickly. From my experience difficult to maintain work life balance, but a lot of employees enjoy the flexible working patterns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t go there!
CEA (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire14 September 2018
I worked there after being asked to go back. The BPM’s are power crazed tyrants who threaten with dismissal or disciplinary action. Serious lack of management structure from them up to the top.
Pros
Good team and customers
Cons
Bad pay, bad BPMs, unsociable hours, single manning, ruled by fear, unapproachable area managers and directors, total dysfunctional company that cares about profit and nothing about employees or customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  North Shields, Tyne and Wear13 September 2018
Late Nights. Early mornings and working alone some shifts if there was no cover if people were calling in sick. there was a lot of staff leaving at one point when the company was making lots of changes.
Pros
watch football and all sport
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be great not so much now
Customer Experience Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London12 September 2018
its great for young people to get a start but for more mature people not so much, very much a one size fits all approach to managing and developing people.
Pros
great team
Cons
long hours unsociable hours and dealing with the worst of a customers nature all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pfft
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Castleford, West Yorkshire9 September 2018
Dont even go there, treat staff like rubbish. They dont care and staff health or mental health. Understaffed, get put in for double your hours without being ask. Dont pay you want you work, then when challenged they make any excuse. Pay you it the month after where your taxed more
Pros
None
Cons
They dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bolton30 August 2018
good flexible place to work, fair on hours around people who have children, full and part time hours available, good staff to work with and good atmosphere
Pros
flexible
Cons
unsure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great progression opportunities
CEM (Current Employee) –  North Tyneside, Tyne and Wear20 August 2018
Have met some great people and always been treated fairly by management. Given opportunities to progress into managerial role and do my own rotas in shop
Pros
Benefits package, work-life balance
Cons
Evening working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior HR Business Partner
Executive (Current Employee) –  Gibraltar19 August 2018
I have worked as European HR Business Partner for over 5 years and I feel that I am now ready to move up to a HR Director level. I am fully proficient at managing large international budgets, various EU employee legislation, delivering large HR campaigns, engaging and managing HR teams in different continents and at all levels, KPI’s, developing both strategic and operational initiatives plus I have the ability to translate business needs into commercial HR solutions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire17 August 2018
Lovely work place when you're in a shop where management is ran correctly. You can come across lovely customers and staff. The down fall is the rubbish wage for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid there is better and safer jobs
Data entry, cash handling and promotions (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire15 August 2018
Min wage, bonuses are only paid 50% of the time (always).
No structure.
No care.
Paid wrong all the time.
Not safe
No trust.
No breaks.
No paid overtime.
Loan working all day every day.

Nothing good about working there. NOTHING.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything, Honestly Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire15 August 2018
Very interesting place if you like sport. Typical days can be long and management expect results at all cost.

Culture is one of fear to failure leading to be let go.

Interesting projects but high pressure and poor work life balance
Pros
benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London14 August 2018
easily one of the worst jobs ever, hours are a joke, workload is a joke, pay is a joke, wouldn't recommend to anyone, will drive you on a one way trip to depression
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, Basic Pay & Abuse
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 August 2018
This job is hit and miss. I worked my way up to branch Manager really quick due to everyone leaving the job.
The management support structure is AWFUL. You hardly ever see you cluster manager and when you do its to dump promotions or problems on to you.
Mistake are greeted with blame and warning for new starters.
People often get moved shops to accommodate others and are expected to move regardless of the convenience (or lack of it) .
Overtime hours are split.
Pros
Unique experience, Sports & Betting knowledge
Cons
Long Hours, Lack Of Support, Pay doesn't match workload, Hostile situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop manger
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham10 August 2018
Not a good place to work , poor and bad at everything , unders staffed I worked in Darlington as a shop manger and it was awfull . No understanding of customers, promised 1 thing then told another. Just isn’t a good place to work would not recommend to anyone. Long 12 hot shifts .
Bad mangerment from your boss , literally would avoid at all costs , more hassle than it’s worth
Pros
Good Banta with customer
Cons
No Break long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Penkridge8 August 2018
Not a very good place to work staff not looked after what’s so ever security is rubbish you have to manage shops on your own at night you get pushed around shops too
Pros
You get paid
Cons
The company’s
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst 8 years of my life
customer service assistant level 2+ (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 August 2018
I worked here for just under 8 years. I have been threatened, robbed, made to work in shops that i couldn't travel to even though I wasn't employed as relief staff, ordered to clean up human excrement left in toilet cubicles and had to deal with all manner of problems that would make people throw up. All of this for minimum wage. The working days have no fixed structure and you're told when and where you have to work. Depending on which betting office you are stationed at depends on how well you are treated. the majority of betting offices now single man past half 6 until their respective closing times. Leaving individual employees open to theft, assault and abuse, to make matters worse William hill are now training all staff to open and close shops and there are no shop managers anymore. as for promotion the only management jobs available are cluster manager jobs. this is hardly worth doing as the salary is pitiful at best. there are a few perks to the job like gratuities but yet again this all boils down to whichever office you are stationed at and the punters themselves. holidays are awarded on a first come first serve basis and only 1 member of staff per office is entitled to the Christmas week.
Pros
money tips from punters
Cons
long hours, single manning, minimum wage, lots of travel if employed as relief. etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Slippery Slope
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury6 August 2018
When I began my career at William Hill the attitude was very loose and laid back and higher management were caring and listened to employees. Gradually as the time has gone on, benefits have been cut such as a regular Christmas bonus, more work has been created that could be perceived as sales work and counselling, without the wage increase that would necessitate being able to do those things correctly. In addition to this, hours have become inflexible and workers work after 5pm alone. However, I have worked with some fantastic colleagues and am complimentary of management at a local level, some very fine people. I have also met some very nice customers who are often very caring about my own progression which I very much appreciate.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Not an enjoyable place to work before 1 and after 5
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at William Hill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 659 reviews
591
4154
3187
2102
1125

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture