Wigan Council Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working as a lunchtime assistant
Lunchtime assistant (Former Employee) –  St james orrell wigan25 September 2019
I'm really hoping another vacancy,for another opportunity to work as a school lunchtime assistant closer to my home in kitgreen,I actually loved working at school,and miss my wages of course
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front line staff undervalued
Waste Collector (Former Employee) –  Maker field way ince12 July 2019
Was with council for 10 years mostly unoticed and under appreciated, higher management are way over payed and look down on the hard working front line staff who are the ones working hands on and actually care about the service they provide, they get over worked under paid and get all the blame when it goes wrong .
Pros
Good work teams
Cons
Over paid bad managers, too many chiefs not enough Indians
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Organisation to work for
Freelance Assessor/Tutor/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Wigan Central16 June 2019
Wigan Council is an innovative organisation always willing to try new ways of working to create the best community. The attention to detail in relation to quality has encouraged me to develop and improve my practice as an assessor/tutor.
Pros
work flexibility
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Role
Student Planner (Former Employee) –  Wigan19 April 2019
This job was voluntary. So I had a mixture of different things to do. However, it provided me with good experience within the planning sector, and I would encourage people to work there.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Double edged sword.
Useful idiot (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester15 April 2019
This review does not reflect Wigan council directly, it's a company which is a part of the council and runs cleaning, dining and caretaking of schools. Dubious management who 'fabricate' a disciplinary of their own making due to whoever pays the money. No interest in the 'duty of care', whoever ever pays is telling the truth and this company magnetises to this fact regardless of truth. I wouldn't bother personally as the management are as useful as politicians and follow the money regardless of your input. Watch your back.
Pros
Good until you meet liars.
Cons
Liars
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsettling but good work/life balance
Tenancy Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester30 January 2019
Constant re-structures, too many managers, no accountability.
However work-life balance is good, opportunity to work from alternative bases and from home. Good salary and annual leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Administrative Support (Voluntary Position) (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester7 November 2018
Unfortunately, I only had a voluntary contract whilst working at Wigan Council, therefore I will not be able to answer questions with great knowledge, however, I can say that I really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going downhill FAST
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wigan6 November 2018
Using job restructure to get rid of good staff and replacing them with yes men. Need to have Wigan Council running through your veins otherwise you're out. Very much a dictatorship. Can't be seen to be negative about anything. Poor pay and too much work due to redundancies and job evaluation, which is going to happen over and over. No job security. Managers haven't a clue what they're doing and Team Leaders even less knowledge. Lots of cliques within teams. If you like being run ragged for little pay with no job security this is your place. No job satisfaction any more
Pros
Flexi and home working
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly worried about job
Pest Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Borough Station26 October 2018
Shocking management use "interview process" to get rid of people who dont agree with council policy.
It's now a dictatorship
Anyone who can put up with the constant round of interview process because they have bills to pay good luck with it
Pros
Good job good workmates
Cons
Bad management surrounded by yes people, criticize at your own risk!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Project Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Wigan Central3 October 2018
Fantastic place to work, would highly recommend the apprenticeship scheme at Wigan Council. Progression is great and CEO is very supportive of flexible working scheme
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mobile Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Wigan, England, UK18 August 2018
Enjoyed working for Wigan Council. Great support and opportunities. Very rewarding role as a mobile support worker. Left due to change in personal circumstances.
Pros
Great training and opportunities for learning, ongoing
Cons
Cannot think of anything of consequence, all good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
former employee seasonal gardener (Former Employee) –  Wigan29 July 2018
Terrible place to work back stabbing bulling culture, no chance of full time employment dangling a carrot in front of you every year saying they are taking on full time NOT but carating jobs for New Managers and Supervisors full of old timers who are working past there retirement age and WONT retire no wonder Wigan is in a State Keep Well Away from these CLOWNS
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester13 June 2018
wages are poor, but your given lots of support and the correct tools and materials to do the job.
difficult to progress in to middle management as the job is already been promised to someones relative/friend
Pros
plenty of job support
Cons
wages are low
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place
Packer (Former Employee) –  Bolton14 May 2018
I would like to find a job any with packing,cleaning,warehouse and more . It has to be 10 miles away from my house. I am friendly and can speak 3 languages.
Pros
Free luches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family supportive organisation
Direct Payments advisor (Current Employee) –  Wigan4 May 2018
I have a good line manager that provides me with the necessary support to fulfil my job role effectively.
I work part time and this work's well for my work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Assistant
General Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wigan26 March 2018
Good holidays. Dont know what else to say about the place.

Lots of cost cutting going on as with all other local authorities.

Will not get any better
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the children
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leigh, Lancashire17 March 2018
The job is very rewarding,watching as the children grow and develop is job satisfaction. Unfortunately due to staffing restructuring my job of nearly 11 years is under review. The cuts being made to schools is putting pressure on head teachers to re think about how they can save money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester17 February 2018
A typical day at work would be followed by a rota which includes registering invoices, dealing with telephone calls & emails etc. I learned a lot while I was in this role.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Welfare Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wigan5 January 2018
Loved every minute working on school so enjoyed it only finished due to ill health in pregnancy would love go back but hours not long enough made some very good friends while working therr
Pros
Staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring and adaptable
Senior Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Wigan Central12 November 2017
Up to date in all mandatory training around adult health and social care
Experience is leading a team and running a busy day centre
Working knowledge for conditions including mental health, learning difficulties, dementia, autism and complex care.
My time with wigan council has taught me how to work towards a set of principles that is person centred and respects key values including dignity and independence whilst empowering and inspiring my staff team
I am a very passionate, reliable, and positive individual who lives to work under pressure and multi task.
Pros
I am courageous and like to work towards goals
Cons
A quiet non challenging working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wigan Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 82 reviews
533
421
314
24
110

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Wigan Council Reviews by Location