Wickes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kent16 January 2018
A wonderful place to work, full of professional team spiri.
I enjoyed working for Wikes and had lots of opportunities to better my knowledge and skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Bathroom Fitter (Current Employee) –  Cambridge bedford northampton15 January 2018
All good till parts are out of stock .management doesn't help.customers are generally ok but upset with customer service and a breakdown of communication
Pros
Good money
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wickes
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hanworth5 January 2018
The customers were very friendly, the managers were always willing to allow me try new things to gain expeirence in other areas other than my job title.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brierley Hill, West Midlands3 January 2018
Good group of friendly people always happy to help there just isn’t enough hours to give all workers the contracted shifts they want. Managers are fair
Pros
Paid holidays
Cons
Short shifts mid day, minimum wage for big work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Millenium Court, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke2 January 2018
Very busy shop to work in,
I learn't a lot abut D.I.Y and building supplies
The most enjoyable part of my job was the customers
Wickes is a Building Supplier and although its not just for trade it is for the customers to walk in off the street and very customer focused.
Pros
very friendly
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly enjoyable to work there :)
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire28 December 2017
Nice place to work to be honest and you have a laugh with the staff and managers alike. Getting things done are obviously a priority but at least you're given a hand by the other staff not like in most places now. The managers are understanding about personal things like being late because of traffic or doctors appointments and it's a nice change of pace. The work in general is manageable with the odd nasty customer but it's made better by decent customers that are grateful for the help you provide so stress only comes into play if you've got 60+ people asking you to show them where things are all at once. Would recommend working at wickes but only if you've got an open mind with not advancing quite as quickly as you'd like but the opportunities do come you're way now and again.
Pros
Friendly, helpful staff
Cons
Not many hours 23+
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex11 December 2017
I was a driver(7.5t)lorry, or was drivers mate on a (18t) lorry, delived to customers houses, make sure we had a clear passageway so we do not damage any think
Pros
out on the road are own boss
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managment
Takenforgranted (Former Employee) –  Bury, Greater Manchester10 December 2017
Wickes don't invest anytime in their staff unless you're a relative , or a snitch

If someone you know dies expect to miss their funeral if it's on a day your working because unless your management your told you can't have the time off

if your trying to earn a decent wage to provide for your family on minimum wage They will say even though we are a multi million pound company and can afford to advertise on tv, radio an football grounds we can't afford to give out any more hours. But if the top dog is paying a visit they want all hands on deck facing up and cleaning to make it look like a well run store.your expected to work every bank holiday Xmas an new year.
Manager's earn their title through the length of time they have worked there.There is no management course for them to learn how to talk an treat their staff respectfully , so talking to staff like something off the bottom of their shoe is acceptable. Managment also think its acceptable to tell their staff off an be-little infront of customers
Those that put the extra mile in like manning the tills, paperwork, answering the phone, dealing with click & collect by themselves won't get any thanks appreciation or recognition or win a free tablet unless they are well an truely up management backsides ( to earn that role you have to be a snitch and two faced).
Good Managment were moved on. Poor Managment brought in. One member if staff per shift expected to man the desk an tills on their own on late shifts with No security on the doors for the amount of thefts going on. Half hour break your entire shift but management
  more... seen stood outside whenever they like having a smoke break and powwow coffee breaks an laughter coming from k&b department  less
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trust me
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Bulwell, Nottinghamshire8 December 2017
Where do I start? Honestly where to start. Wickes don't invest anytime in their people. You can express an interest in a certain endeavour and you'll never get it unless you're a relative or very close friend with management. This is what makes it an uphill
battle.
I'm writing this review extremely quickly because Wickes isn't even worth wasting my breath or time on. However trying to let people know not to work there is worth it as I wouldn't wish working there on my worst enemy.
I honestly could write a book on my experiences. LITERALY write a actual book. It's that much of a joke.
If someone dies you are only allowed a maximum of 1day off due to them "needing you". But if somebody stands up for themselves they'll find a way to fire them. So much for "needing" staff.
Which brings me to point 1- job work/life balance. If they need you for overtime and you don't fit the time in to do it that's it you're public enemy number 1. Your average shift will be either 6:30-4 or 11-8.
Point 2- salary/benefits all Wickes provide you with is a payday on the 15th of every month and that it all. During the winter months you will go back down to your contracted hours. They will say "sorry even though we are a multi million pound company we can't afford to give out any more hours"...until one of the big wigs high up announces a visit then they ask everybody to come in and those who don't are public enemy number 1.
Point 3- job security. Well they'll put you on a low hour contract so if anybody gets out of line they can drop your hours right down leaving you to beg for forgiveness.
  more... The management there must be really unhappy in life but I can understand that after all they do work for Wickes.
Point 4- management-almost everybody thinks with a political motive, i couldn't stand how everything was like treading on eggshells. Handshakes and smiles to the face then finding anyway possible to report something you didn't do properly by the book. It's was really pretty and looking back thinking about it you really couldn't trust nobody.
Point 5- Job Culture- well it is a monotonous routine everyday. Those that put the extra mile in won't get any appreciation, instead it will be just expected of them. Bottom line is you will never find a workplace ever in your life were you're so NOT appreciated.
  less
Pros
After working there for umpteen years you start getting some leeway
Cons
I have a never ending list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Customer Service Assistant & Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Charlton27 November 2017
Have to work in a cramped office.
Short breaks
Bad management
Long hours
Low wage
Disrespectful collegues
Travel to work not paid
Dress code
Not pushed to progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Twilight Manager (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear27 November 2017
Great staff, great manager and great customers, 20% staff discount which is great too, great at helping me work around my wife's job, holiday entitlement isn't too bad either, overall a good place to work.
Pros
Worked around wife's job
Cons
No pay for being a flt driver
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice, productive , happy enviroment to work in
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  High Wycombe21 November 2017
A typical day at work for me would consist me , serving customers, providing customer service and cashing up at the end of the day. From my job I have learnt many skills , for example my confidence has grown massively when interacting with customers , as well as this due to the fact I work in a DIY store I know basic information about the different types of sectors , such as , Timber, Building Materials, Plumbing and many more. Throughout my experience at working at Wickes, the hardest part of the job would be , cashing up at the end of the day , simply because it is an extremely important job that at times puts me under pressure. Lastly the most enjoyable part of my work , would be serving majority of the customers as I love interacting with my customers
Pros
amazing collegues to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused sales team
Project Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire20 November 2017
This was a good job, having complete ownership of sales and lead generation. Stores based but with home visits to consolidate sales. Commission made earning ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Erith, Greater London1 November 2017
They are a great company to work for, alot of good people work their, you can have a laugh with collegues, job is easy aswell, sometimes managers can be a problem by changing your shifts and not coming to you and talking to you about it first, shifts are ok at times, wickes is a great company at times
Pros
N/a
Cons
Hours are ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Easy ride
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire1 November 2017
ONly being a part time employee I believe I don't have a full work/life picture as I'm still at school. However after almost two years I believe that I can say Wickes provides enough work and a nice environment making the days go past quite fast. However, if the management are having a bad day then your day can be a lot worse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for serving costumers, handling cash, cashing up and refunds.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's and Hook Heath30 October 2017
Busy working environment, learning a variety of skill, The hardest part of the job was dealing with challenging customers and the most enjoyable part of the job was being kept busy
Pros
busy
Cons
difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Borehamwood23 October 2017
Productive and fun enjoy the people customers can be rude but you get used to it. Management can be shake at times but there is definitely good leadership from some
Pros
Productive and fun
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different challenge every day
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Hdc northampton12 October 2017
I start my day by looking at the delivery sheets and then organise what bays each route will go in by communicating with admin and releasing 4 routes at a time whilst these are being picked I make sure that picks that need replenishment are completed as we live load and have to make sure that they go out on time as we deliver to every corner of the UK when 1 route is complete I let admin know and release another into the correct bay. I also make sure that the correct route is checked first by communicating with the checkers and linewalkers. I also deal with the couriers making sure all orders are correct and loaded as promptly as possible. My job is good and as I have plenty to do it seems time flys. I get on well with my colleagues but I am going to move to Devon soon and need to get a new job. I have worked for wickes for 15 years and have always been very happy and I am very reliable and punctual
Pros
Half hour paid lunch
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
involed with customers alot which i enjoyed
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire9 October 2017
Working for wickes was an enjoyable job as i have a decent amount of knoledge with building and diy.the whole staff team was strong inside and ouside off work.we all had the same attitude towards work,we all worked well together.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
having to wear steel toecap boots
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work depending on the managers
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire5 October 2017
Was okay to work for, then the top dogs changed things about for a national store refurbishment project and it came back to bite them hard as it didn't work as well as planned, new managers are breaking contract laws and a bunch of things that I cannot stop them from doing as it isn't worth taking them to court and even if I wanted to, with what money would I do that? they've reduced my contract to a point where I have about ten pounds a week to live off by the end of the month going towards pay day.
Pros
Nothing realistically.
Cons
A lot of immoral and illegal practices is the tip of the iceberg
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wickes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 369 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4