Whitbread PLC Employee Reviews

Found 241 reviews matching the search See all 244 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Whitbread – Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Leeds15 January 2019
Great to work with and a fun atmosphere. Would be interested in returning in the future.
They helped broaden my view and learn new skills in the role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely team to work with
Houskeeper (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford City Centre, Essex15 January 2019
I work in Chelmsford city as a housekeeper.. when I first started I fort I couldn’t do it then to reassured by the head housekeeper u can do it just gave me confidence 2month later I’m still there loving my job enjoying the the team only down full I would say is the pay should be a bit better us housekeepers work hard for min wage
Pros
Good team enough hours
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management, lazy and overbearing
Breakfast waitress (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire7 January 2019
Terrible I was subjected to an horrific time while working for Beefeater. Middle management u-co-operative and demanding. Bullying and sarcastic remarks. Management should be trained on how to deal with disabled staff. No team work lack of staff. Management stood about talking while one waitress does all the work.
Pros
Good tips, friendly customers
Cons
No breaks, no support, management lazy and operate bulling tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Grill Chef (Current Employee) –  Scunthorpe30 December 2018
While it could be hectic at times, the people and the management made the Beefeater I worked in a lot of fun. I have made some great friends and had some fun times. My KM was the best also good to have a joke with and help you with anything you needed. I wasn't all sunshine and lollipops, there were awful shifts where you were busy from start to finish but at the end of the day, we got through it together.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall is a very enjoyable place to work as long as you are meeting company standards
Chef (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire20 December 2018
A typical day working in the kitchen of a Whitbread PLC restaurant involves cleaning and maintaining this cleanliness throughout your time there as you need to meet standards to avoid being marked down on hygiene ratings, being a restaurant you must reach a five star hygiene rating. You will also be expected to keep up with food orders that are coming through and keeping the standard of this food to a high.
Pros
Enkoyable working environment
Cons
Can become incredibly stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can have a laugh at work
grill chef (Former Employee) –  Uttoxeter, Staffordshire14 December 2018
managenment and certain staff too friendly and certain staff have more respect than others.no team morale and hard to get breaks. lot of staff dont have product knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company does not value its employees at all!
Reception / Maintenance Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cirencester, UK6 December 2018
There is a complete disconnect between senior management and what is actually happening on the front line and if the share holders had any idea how the company is actually being run they would all run for the hills! the company has a cost saving culture and lower level management bonuses are dulled out based on on this! so in there hotels they would prefer to put off 10 rooms so they can not be sold and lose a potential off £1000 per night in order to save £40 on a housekeepers wages for cleaning the rooms and a tiny bit of linen cost , there really is no possibility for advancement withing the company and the most enjoyable part of the day is when you get to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Store Manager - Whitbread Plc - Costa Coffee (Former Employee) –  Woodford Green, Greater London5 December 2018
Lots of benefits, but you don't get informed of everything you could receive discounts on. Great place to work if you enjoy interacting with people from all over
Pros
discounts on food whilst working
Cons
shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  South West3 December 2018
Horrendous, I did not know that such awful management existed. I’m not sure there is even one honest person within the management team. I work/ed across many different sites and each was the same unpleasant, backstabbing culture. A very demoralising company to work for ☹️
Pros
Decent salary contribution, discount card
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experince
Assistant Manager Costa Coffee (Current Employee) –  Greater London27 November 2018
Every day is different and the people from your team can make your job easier or harder.
We need more support from the Head Office and understanding that we work really hard and we deserve more.
Pros
More money
Cons
to mutch pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your job is at risk , sharks are taking the show
Ops Manager (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire24 November 2018
Since 2006 whitbread didnt stop making people redundant,labour costs is taking over the show one team member on each shift that's the model hours given for 150 bedrooms hotel , doesn't matter how long or how hard you ve worked you re just a number and you can wake up any day and be told you might lose your job , I would simply describe as modern slavery
Pros
25% food discount and 50% when on shift, up to 50% room discount
Cons
Minimum wage, long hours, very high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time to change
Duty Manager/Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Woking22 November 2018
I don't like the direction the mis going in. I decided to leave and look for better opportunities.
You often have to cover sicknesses. Pay is low. No set hours.
Short staffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well treated
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Dunstable16 November 2018
Good company to work for.
I have working for this company since 2014,good company with a lot of opportunities.
Learned a lot ,progressed to PIKM group 3.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Costa Coffee Barista (Former Employee) –  Bromley2 November 2018
Costa due to its popularity is constantly busy, which means you do not have a moments rest in a whole 8 hour shift. Sometimes due to the great influx of customers you are required to work long hours without any break.
Pros
You build a costa family with your coworkers
Cons
Not treated with the correct respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat out but fun
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  South East1 November 2018
I worked 12 years in a variety of roles including store manager and assistant manager. Used to be an amazing job but in the past few years the expectation for complete flexibility has rather restricted the type of person who can work there to basically single people with no lives or children who can work at the drop of a hat. Not for me anymore i'm afraid.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
horrendous hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In 2013 premier top notch...2018 cost cutting area manager and scrooge loke behaviour overall...how times change
Chef (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire25 October 2018
Loved the company when I first started and recognised like other decent employees...but now decent managers get snapped up by other hotel chains...now the company will only pay only the bear minimum to a manager with no experience and barely holding onto their job...head office spare a thought for the employees that have seen every manger come and go and listen to their advice or whole premier inn chain will be sold off like Costa coffee to coke cola...total laughing stock now
Pros
Long term security bcos nonone will fire you
Cons
Cons... you mean con artist....no leadership at all from top
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  england18 October 2018
truly awful hotel,

hotel managers expected to work 90 hour weeks, don't get paid for it and then turn up the following week in good health. get told wealth or health when you've just been taken away in an ambulance

won't pay for new beds when they are broken the whole business is flawed all they want is labour labour labour savings. taken money off the poor housekeeping girls, shaving minutes hear and there. its a bloody dire business
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some times under staffed,uncertainty about hours week to week,issues with service.
Waiter/Barman (Current Employee) –  Liskeard, Cornwall17 October 2018
I enjoy working for whitbread,there is a good comeraderie between the staff.however there are always issues with staffing and cover for absences and uncertainty about the hours available..there is also problems with q
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Manager (Current Employee) –  Southend, Essex16 October 2018
Job involves many customer interactions. Shift work, often lone working.
Customer facing service role full of highs and lows. Varied from day to day
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applicant for Guest Relations Advisor
Guest relations advisor (Former Employee) –  Whitbread ,Luton15 October 2018
Don't apply ,u won't get the job,they will give it only to their already known preferences, assesment day it's a joke. U just waste your time for nothing.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whitbread PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 244 reviews
568
474
357
222
123

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture