WEST YORKSHIRE POLICE Employee Reviews

Showing all 89 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressured and demanding
Crime Manager/allocator Bradford Division (Former Employee) –  Keighley, West Yorkshire8 November 2018
Police work is extremely varied and each day can be very different. The role is very demanding and can impact at short notice on your home/family life.
Pros
bond with colleagues
Cons
long hours, cancelled leave or rest days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues but terribly run
Crime Investigator (Current Employee) –  Bradford24 October 2018
Management ask for your opinions and then fail to implement them. This leads to job losses and financial difficulty when they run a unit into the ground.
Pros
Unions to back you up, decent pension contributions
Cons
Very little advancement opportunities salary wise, especially as a civilian; very underfunded, you're lucky if you get a good line manager, very little support if you have an invisible disability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Duties Planner (Current Employee) –  Leeds21 September 2018
God job and work life balance. Too far to commute each day as takes an hour from my house. Repetative but can be interesting at times. Nice people in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employers
Crime Recording Agent (Former Employee) –  Wakefield26 July 2018
Varied and interesting job role, great employer, good benefits and fair remuneration for that time, supportive management, long shifts and night shifts.
Pros
Great employer, good benefits
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and educational
PCSO (Former Employee) –  Leeds10 July 2018
the job offered me chances to widen my knowledge on how the police force work and their commitments to the society. it was an amazing opportunity to be educated about a job that was a great passion of mine and the week surrounded once in a life time memories and i will never forget it.
Pros
enjoyable
Cons
dont have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
Police constable response (Former Employee) –  Calderdale10 July 2018
I joined WYP as a front line police officer and served 25+ years.
A typical day would be turning up for your shift wondering how many would be in work, having a brief and then hitting the floor running until the end, if you are fortunate you will get an uninterrupted meal break and you will finish on time, this however, is not the norm with front line police work and you can go for days without either.

Do not mistake being a police constable with any other job, you do not have the same employment rights as any other sector and limited recourse should disputes arise.

Also bear in mind that all civilian and some police roles within the organisation, including Special constable/ PCSO/ Departmental work do not fully reflect the reality of day to day front line police work, the front line officer attends everything, often alone, in the first instance, the rest come along afterwards once everything is under control.

The pay has been slashed and the working life, for what is an extremely traumatic job on occasion, has been extended.

Nepotism is rife, bullying common and management poor, management support is usually extremely poor when it concerns officer welfare, the primary concerns appear financially and figures driven.

There is generally very little consideration given towards the police constable from most quarters including within the organisation.

Restrictions are imposed on your private life, this would be reasonable if the pay reflected it, it doesn't however.

Movement through the ranks and between departments is sometimes done on ability however frequently
  more... this plays little or no part in the process, a consequence of this is that it can be difficult to move if your face doesn't fit.

There is inequity when it comes to pay, someone of the same rank in an office will be paid the same as someone working shifts front line.

You should be extremely thick skinned and be prepared for criticism from the media, public, departmental colleagues and the government.

Resources are scarce due to cuts and you will be sent to violent incidents alone on occasion, regularly from my experience, it can on occasion, be touch and go even for experienced officers.

It is very likely you will be assaulted and verbally abused whilst at work.

The job is fast paced and can be exciting for a while, the odd incident where you really do make a bit of a difference is what gets most through what is otherwise a relentless and thankless job.
  less
Pros
Fast paced, can be exciting
Cons
Few rights, Long hours, Short staffed, Poor pay, Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concise Insight
Data and Performance Researcher (Current Employee) –  Normanton28 June 2018
The most rewarding part of working for the police service is the fact that your efforts go towards safeguarding the general public which is very fulfilling.

From an experienced Support Staff member, in terms of work life balance the police service is extremely fulfilling, this is due to the flexible working hours policy. In short, most staff can accrue up to 3 days extra leave by working extra hours. Providing staff work their minimum quoted hours they can start and finish work at their discretion.

Due to the well publicised global economic crash in 2008/09 over the last several years public sectors have been forced to make annual savings this in turn has resulted in pay freezes and a significant lack of opportunity. The police organisation epitomises this trend.
Cons
Police Service is in a state of austerity therefore development and opportunities are very limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling
Detective Sergeant (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire27 June 2018
The police is going through a difficult process and is struggling to meet the demands placed on it. First line manangment are young and under skilled and lead to a lack of confidence
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Workloads and lack of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policing
Detective Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire4 June 2018
The review and implementation of key and critical training programmes for new and existing staff with limited resources and staff.
Hardest part of the role is getting senior level management to appreciate the significance and importance of training.
Most enjoyable part, making a difference.
Pros
Making a real difference
Cons
Lack of resources and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful and full on position
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Wakefield28 May 2018
I was answering the phone constantly and not a lot of time to do much else.

Varied enquiries to do with the bereaved so was a sad job at times but work colleagues really supportive.
Pros
Supportive colleagues
Cons
Not enough staff to stop colleagues becoming stressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting role
Civilian Staff (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire28 April 2018
no day was the same but very hard working and mentally stimulating working for the police was very intense but rewarding. It was very challenging and rewarding at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional
West Yorkshire Police Explorer (Former Employee) –  Leeds17 April 2018
Great diverse network of people.
Everyone knows the importance of the job.
Each role in the police force requires different skills.
The dangers of the job can effect private life.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
24hr Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse place to work
Custody Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire6 April 2018
There are countless roles within the police that can be achieved. They offer degrees and direct entry. They are a very professional body and look after their staff. A sound employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning new skills
Special Police Officer (Former Employee) –  west yorkshire20 March 2018
Been a Special police officer opened my eyes to the world. I was only 19 at the time and I was going to join full time so been a special gave me a insight to the job.

The job was amazing, i enjoyed it and really wanted to join up full time but then a had a big surprise after been told i would never have children i got pregnant so this change my life completely.

My time in the police was scary at times but the thrill of arresting criminals made the job worth while. the worst thing about the job was attending someone that died or have to Tel a family member their love one was dead.

in 2000 just before i bought the cafe i applied to join the force full time and i passed everything and was about to go training for 12 weeks in Wakefield then the offer of the cafe came up and i had to make a choice and i decided to take the cafe on.
Pros
thrill
Cons
death
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, limited ability to question the superiors
Special Constable (Former Employee) –  Bradford17 March 2018
Exciting place to work, worked frequently past the hours expected. Interacting with the public and no two days the same. Working as part of the team very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues, varied working day
Detective Constable (Current Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire28 February 2018
Good employer, interesting, different challenge everday. Plenty of different jobs to do and you can change direction when you want to do something different.
Good work life balance.
Pros
Interesting
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding career for those willing to work hard and adapt
Operations Imaging Unit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire28 February 2018
A diverse and interesting career. Present organisational change due to budget cuts has left a workforce that feel let down and frustrated. I believe this is coming to an end and a stronger organisation will emerge. Senior Police management do tend to move around and feel a need to impress for their own career advancement. This can lead to change for change sake and senior officers rarely stay around long enough to experience the associated problems or benefits of their initiatives. Replacement senior Officers typically reverse previous changes. This becomes cyclic.
Training for support staff could be better, particularly in technical areas, although management and leadership training was always encouraged. Motivated and driven individuals will advance though. Recruitment and selection is organised, professional and fair.
I worked in Imaging Unit and this was by far the best such unit in the UK. It was an example to the rest of the country. Unfortunately budget cuts meant that skilled individuals who wanted to continue to take the department forward were lost and there was a move to only provide the necessary service with no funding for development. It is 4 years though since I left and I hope recovery is happening particularly in terms of CCTV which always had a demand that was growing beyond the ability to supply.
Pros
Reasonably secure now, good career structure with opportunites to progress, Interesting and rewarding, reasonable pension
Cons
Shifts don't suit everybody, Salary is below industry standard, but progression is easier than in the private sector, few if any additional benefits that might be expected in the private sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you might expect
Civilian (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire1 January 2018
The buildings (unless new) tend to be neglected, and the only employee canteen/restaurant is at the Training Centre in Wakefield. Otherwise you get a basic kitchen.
Pay for civilians is low sector, and the pension is no longer the old "gold plated" one.
The only good thing was the flexibility on hours.
Pros
Working time flexibility- not available to everyone though
Cons
Low pay, poor working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Communications Officer (Current Employee) –  West Yorkshire30 December 2017
West Yorkshire Police is a good place to work with teams of people dedicated to supporting their local communities through the various work streams associated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Contact Agent (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire29 December 2017
I worked in the contact centre in Wakefield. Excellent place to work in. The reason i left is because i failed an exam
due to this i was given an option
Pros
All contact centre agents are good friends
Cons
Certain Manager and Supervisor Not good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WEST YORKSHIRE POLICE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 89 reviews
530
430
314
29
16

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture