West Berkshire Council Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical local authority
Principal Manager (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire19 November 2018
Managing staff engaged with family caseloads
Writing and auditing case reviews
Budget management
Risk assessments
Health and safety responsibilites
Pros
training and format of work
Cons
Constant servcie transitions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good environment
Business Support (Current Employee) –  West Berks10 October 2018
Fun place lots to do and lots to talks about predominantly female culture.
Very fast paced lots of administration, friendly pilot management.
Easy place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Berskhire council
social worker (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire2 June 2018
I enjoyed my experience there, I have learnt a lot from the organisation. I experienced support from the team and we helped each other during the OFSTED period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing atmosphere and wonderrful people
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire26 March 2018
the volunteer work I did at the edge was such an experience for me. I learnt so much more and my experience was made better by the wonderful staff members who made me feel so welcome. I connected with everyone well and it was easy to start conversation. I was given tasks that involved photocopying, faxing and laminating. I also helped put together a health resource
Pros
everyone made me laugh
Cons
the building was hot and stuffy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security and diverse opportunities
ICT PA, Admin & Postal Services Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Newbury26 February 2018
Working hours very flexible, difficult to invoke change but generally friendly atmosphere and training opportunities are good. General culture is a bit tired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Newbury8 December 2017
Job was inputting timesheets, overtime, SSP,SMP and expenses on to the payroll system. Running reports and checking results ready for final reporting and payslips.

Management was hands on and very supportive as were the other admin staff.

There was no hard part and it was enjoyable to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire22 February 2017
Workplace has a nice friendly atmosphere

Good overall work/life balance

Budget cuts mean lack of investment in staff and training

Overall work was enjoyable generally meaningful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright workplace
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire31 January 2017
good job with good pay.
How to use certain products to do with cleaning which will help me in the future. It was hard work to clean the school most days after having a full day at school already, however the group made it more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and balanced
IT Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newbury1 September 2016
Typical day would include providing IT Support to the team,managing the IT Logs,Problem Solving Hardware and Software incidents,Fixing and repairing IT Assets,User training,Documentation.

I have built in a lot of self confidence after joining as IT Support Assistant after my Maternity break,improved my problem solving skills,helped me to prioritise work and it has very supportive co workers.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Not Challenging Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and diverse place to work
Human Resources Manager - Training (Current Employee) –  Shaw House Newbury3 June 2016
Commissioning training for corporate services, managing a team of 9 trainers and administrators. Designing and delivering training. Budget management. Writing reports. Working with an experienced team.
Pros
Staff discounts in local amenities, flexible working
Cons
Strict progression criteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about West Berkshire Council?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public sector
Research & Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Newbury25 May 2016
The environment is that typical of a public sector with all the bureaucracy that goes with it and the management style attached.

The job can be either interesting and at times rewarding or downright boring and frustrating, depending on the department you interact with.

The organisation suffers from ongoing Government cuts on budget which affect continuity of plans and deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newbury13 January 2016
Providing face to face support and advice regarding Housing at West Berkshire. Processing housing applications, administrative duties i.e. manning the phones and dealing with emails.
Pros
A great position
Cons
Not enough hours in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hungerford, ENG27 December 2015
Good in house training. Good pension . you can join unison. all paid holidays including bank holidays . paid mileage allowance. grade scale of pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied
medical Secretary & personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury9 October 2015
Mental Health Community work which meant working with Psychiatrists,Psychologists,Social Workers, Occupational Health Therapists etc. and dealing with clients on a day to day basis.
HR duties for staff and minuting meetings,repots and reviews.

Lot of red tape and then changes to the structure of the Council and the NHS who worked jointly together and had to make drastic cuts in finances.

Led to redundancies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Accounts Receivable Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury10 April 2015
Many exposure throughout working there with many opportunities. I had worked in three different departments in the space of 8 months raising invoices, paying invoices, recovering invoices and taking payments. All staff are professional and promote equality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard working highly responsible employer
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Newbury, ENG24 September 2014
An interesting and stimulating job, working for an overworked and understaffed department. Each day was highly varied in its work and responsibilities. A great learning experience
Pros
Hard working talented co-workers and Managers.
Cons
An overworked understaffed and underfinanced department of West Berkshire Council
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Democratic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury21 August 2012
Overall a good place to work.

Democratic Services Assistant
Providing support to the Members’ Services Officer and acting as a point of contact for all Members in the Officer’s absence. Directing Members to appropriate Officers in order to resolve any queries.
My main duty is to provide administrative support to the Democratic Services Team.
-Creating agendas for meetings and filing paperwork
-Updating forward plan databases
-Arranging meetings onto booking the meeting rooms and refreshments
-Taking and noting the minutes of internal meetings
Pros
choose the hours you work each day
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report

See more West Berkshire Council reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Berkshire Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 19 reviews
56
46
37
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

West Berkshire Council Reviews by Location