Wates Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 80 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great people
Learning and Development Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey2 October 2019
Wates really make you feel welcome right form the start. They are by no means perfect, but they are open about the areas they want to improve, and where possible include staff in developing the way forward.

The family owners are very engaging and accessible, as are the majority of senior leaders. This approach does need to be better driven down among middle management, but its not terrible.

The company is very vast and as such offers people good opportunities for development and progression, or even career changes. The advanced apprenticeship programs offer a a great option for more mature workers who wish to remain in the company but completely re-train.

I have really enjoyed working at Wates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work environment
Aministrator/Reception (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire25 September 2019
Great team to work with, always willing to assist with anything. Great learning opportunities and very relaxed and peaceful work environment. Wonderful management team at Leeds construction site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye opener.
Resident Liaison Officer (Former Employee) –  Enfield13 September 2019
Working for Wates was definitely an eye opener for me. A day at work would vary greatly from day to day and, as I moved around from site to site, the workplace culture also varied quite alot. There are alot worse construction companies to work for than Wates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
BA (Former Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey12 September 2019
Felt like a company stuck in the 1970s, toxic management culture run like a borstal!

Input and suggestions were not required, it was very much a "do it this way or else" approach with an archaic method of delivering business transformation. Agile was a bad word!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover of Staff
Office Role (Former Employee) –  UK5 September 2019
Staff member 9 in my role in two years. The staff health and well-being scheme is false, so many people unhappy there but unable to talk to anyone through fear of rejection or bullying. Demoralizing managers, bullying encouraged but covered up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear2 September 2019
Another work experience placement where I was fully supported and given training in various areas. They were very supportive and it was a fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Site Secretary (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear29 August 2019
I worked at Wates Construction temporarily for about 16 months. The management, staff and guys on site were all very helpful and great to work with. The site was located in the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne which was great.
Pros
The management always looked after you.
Cons
It was temporary, I just wish it was permanent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Programme Coordinator - Mosaic Finance Migration (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead10 July 2019
Productive and fun workplace. Great place to work. All Staff and Contractors are friendly and supportive of each other and it still has that family culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paper work heavy
M&E Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds25 June 2019
My Job role got very paper work heavy towards the end, hence why I left I found it difficult to manage the guys on site with the expectations of higher management in reporting. all in all a good company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was albe to gain my qaulifications and have a vrst experience, the benifets where good but the houes and locations with a family become to much
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London21 June 2019
Work life balance was not good, salary/benefits good.
Work started 7.30am in London on Site and leave at 5.30pm, home time typically 7.45pm.
I was put through a degree course from Wates.
Hardest part was the location and not having home time (work life balance)
Enjoyable part learning and site experience.
Pros
Package, Car allowance, travel, medical, pension
Cons
Lomg hours and location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Chadwell Heath6 June 2019
While i was at Wates i learnt about each profession in the industry which helped me to decide what career i wanted to pursue.I also gain many skills that would help me go into my career choice.
Pros
Large company
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Site Manager, UK (Former Employee) –  UK9 May 2019
Strong emphasis on Health and Safety.
Management culture of team was very good although sometimes spoilt by interference from Head Office.
Would definitely work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day
Regional Commercial Manager (Temp Role) (Former Employee) –  Greater London25 April 2019
Birmingham Council Housing Contract
Budget Responsibility, Commercial management and Client commercial liaison
Manage Team monthly applications / invoices process with Client(s) through to payment
Manage Team and oversee Commercial Managers /Quantity Surveyors in all line-manager duties
Manage Team Cost Value Reconciliation (CVR) process for contracts Manage and monitor Gross Margin levels (order and contract level)
Manage and lead commercially in the monthly Contract Review Meetings (CRMs) with Operations Director
Manage contracts in-line with business expectation
Subcontract Procurement - Commercial Management
Commercial Management sign off for tender adjudication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking treatment of employees
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff3 April 2019
Worked on cardiff council void contract and quite frankly the managment team are the worst i have worked under in my 35 years in the construction industry. They have no organisational skills , no people managment skills, etc to be brutaly honest they are out of their depth in a nutshell they couldnt run a bath. Shocking.
Pros
Zero
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Tenant Liaison Officer (Former Employee) –  Wrexham, Wrexham17 March 2019
Fully enjoyed working for Wates, great management, productive job and great salary.

Every day was varied and the management of each day was greatly organised and structured.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
PA to Chief Financial Officer (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey26 February 2019
Wates Group is a very friendly, highly productive place to be. It is family owned and has very high standards in terms of professionalism and growth.
Pros
Family owned, individual recognition
Cons
Work life balance - working from home is not as prevalent as with other organisations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old fashioned male dominated
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  London6 February 2019
The construction industry is not a diverse industry nor is there a fun culture. Wates do not look after employees despite what their awards may say.
Pros
Health care
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall poor
wates employee (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London etc15 January 2019
This is a toxic company promise the earth but deliver nothing.treat office and trade staff with no respect like working for a company stuck in the 19 60 s
Low wages for very poor social housing conditions working in, .ie mental health violence etc.The only advice I would give anyone would be to steer clear.
Pros
none
Cons
plenty
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Quantity Surveyor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London25 November 2018
It is a nice company to work for.
They project are with in London and they have sound workplace culture.
It allow you to expand you knowledge and learn more.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable working experience
Self employed (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire10 November 2018
working alongside Wates , as a self-employed joiner . I found them to be professional , hard working and enthusiastic construction workers . While making a few friends along the way .
Pros
plenty of work
Cons
use quality tradesmen and less semi-skilled
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 80 reviews
537
420
315
21
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture