Warburtons Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search See all 170 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor distribution of labour
Hgv sales driver (Former Employee) –  Newburn15 November 2019
Firstly the salary is ok but you work for it , what sickens you is some people do far less work, driving and deliveries for the same money. Every other day there are new directives for drivers .... you must zip your hi vis up, you must record on the non legal requirement tachometer envelope your hours despite being on a Digi card, you must check all deliveries before leaving the factory .... on and on it goes. They expect far to much of work from you on some routes compared to others this is where the poor distribution of labour comes in. Middle managers only care about kpis they don’t care if you are doing 10 hours more than others for the same pay. Also if you worked to rule you would never get done but if something goes wrong and you haven’t done something exactly correct they whinge like babies , oh and they’ll check the cameras to make sure you are. This place is only for people who’ve been there ages or new drivers who know no different. It’s a petty, look after yourself, blast your guts out place for ok pay but that is the minimum I would work for considering the hours and workload. Also the company always complain they are skint shut down factories, increase workloads, haggle over payrises etc but pay £5 mill plus for de Niro. Not for me but some (those who know no difference or will do anything for money) I suppose it may do. They’re understaffed aswell and mither you constantly for overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
bakery operative (Former Employee) –  Manchester15 November 2019
excellent place to work had amzing time such a good company to work for learn a he'll of a lot not a bad word to say about Warburtons a brilliant family business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management ,worn out machinery .
Bakery Operative (Former Employee) –  Normanton12 November 2019
shift change over , if you are lucky you may follow a good team, mostly you don't and some teams get away with with murder.Weak managers resort to pressuring tactics to try and catch up.Time is elastic and production targets are unrealistic and cause more issues than you can be solved.If you can book your holidays then all well and good,too many holidays and not enough people to cover the holidays.Shameful company , avoid at all costs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work there
Driver delivery (Former Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands12 November 2019
worked there for 2 years wasted 2 years of my life there all they care about is getting the bread out thats it, first mistake u make they cant wait to stick the boot in if your ill u may as well leave they claim to support u but in reality they dont give a care dont work there everyone i spoke to wants to leave noones happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Bristol11 November 2019
People work hard here, it's fast paced and keeps you on your toes, the day flies by.

I've met some great people here, it's very values led.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, we're all really proud of the brand and what we do.
Pros
Discounted bread, great benefits and salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place to Work
Production Operative (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol5 November 2019
Warburtons in the last few years has gone down rapidly, understaffed and overworked, management either haven't got a clue or just don't care .
Using flex hours now to take money off workers so haven't had a pay rise in real terms for years .
Bullying culture in Bristol from management is terrible. I've worked for Warburtons for years and I've never seen the morale so Los
Think again before applying here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Morning Goods Bakery Team Leader Managed (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire24 October 2019
excellent place to work .
development within chances
hard work but get back what you put in .
work life balance in place with shift pattern
would return there is job role came free
Pros
shifts
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job they advertise. Stay clear
Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Newburn23 October 2019
Promised all the support at interview stage then expected to learn 9 different routes, all with a minimum of 30 drops within 10 weeks. Sent out blind, with a pre-historic faulty sat nav on my 3rd day.
If ur face fits you will get the easier runs, all the poor runs go to the new starters. Staff turnover is massive at the minute. Meant to be a family business but managent look after themselves only. Long heavy hard days for whag works out as little over mimimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and practices
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth26 September 2019
Worked there for a long time gone to the dogs !!!!! Too easy to put drivers under investigation and disciplinary . Would not recommend unless you like working for snakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Thetford, Norfolk22 September 2019
Are you a class 2 driver on top of your game? Then look elsewhere. However, do you like to be worked like a ragged dog? Welcome.

Working alongside the incompetent distribution teams you'll drive in one of the most professionally unreliable fleets in the country. Our awful vehicles do not have state of the art telematics, sat nav and tracking systems. In fact we say this just to hook people in. Our mentally and physically broken teams are dedicated to delivering in full and on time in a relentless, back breaking, sweat inducing, stressful, thankless multi drop role. And when we say multi drop we mean multiple multiples multi drop.

Join us and be proud to give your soul, in some direction to the clueless, suit wearing, desk framing higher ups. #clueless

Warburtons. A family company. But you’re like the second cousin, on your aunts side, twice removed, distant relative, forgotten one, who now has developed a limp and the first signs of a hump after the heavy, long days, back busting workload.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor middle management
HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  Bicester, Oxfordshire22 September 2019
Senior managers are either weak or ignore complaints. Higher management is spot on and will listen. In my opinion middle mangers are always trying to get a foot on the next step at the drivers expense.

I worked at the Bicester depot and saw many drivers come and go through being pushed to the limit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job.not any more .to much work not enough money.poor management
Sales driver (Former Employee) –  Enfield9 September 2019
Steer clear.they can't get drivers it's that bad.to much work not enough money.expected to pick deliveries and deliver it multiple products and up to 40 deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night work
Dispatch Operative (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire3 September 2019
long nights - hard work dispatching and checking dozens of lines of bread products - quite old fashioned unionised way of working-strong union backing
Pros
days off
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Groundhog day getting worse
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Bolton21 July 2019
Working 12 hour shifts in a hot sweaty environment.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership, good team ethic and teamworking.
HSE Manager (Projects) (Former Employee) –  Severn Beach11 July 2019
I can only comment on the period I worked on a fixed-term contract at Warburtons Bristol but this was an experience I will remember as positive and productive.
Pros
Staff shop for discounted Warburtons products, discounts with other national companies, charity link to CRUK, cycle to work scheme, holiday purchase scheme, pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as expected
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands5 July 2019
I was excited about joining Warburtons but how wrong was I? It's shocking for new drivers, sent on routes you don't know with broken sat navs. 5 days on 12 hr shifts that's why the money is good cos you have to put the time in. All new drivers will say the same. If the face fits management are all over you giving you all the easy runs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad company just run by idiots that call themselves managers
Driver (Former Employee) –  Eastwood, Nottinghamshire29 June 2019
Overall the company is good . Shame they have idiots that are so call management. Especially at there Eastwood Bakery in the sales department. They have supervisors that think they are something that there not all they are is glorified drivers . that look down and talk down to staff what they need is a bit of hard work. All I can say is if the warburton family had any sense and loyalty to there staff they would send someone in to look at how it is run . Maybe take hint from the tv show undercover boss and. Then they maybe would get a reality check.
Pros
Wages & staff shop & bonus yearly.
Cons
Useless and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company .Not now
Multiskilled Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burnley29 June 2019
Worked at Warburtons for 14 years . First 5/6 years were great , used to look forward to going . Then as the proper bakers started to retire , then entered the clueless idiots , who basically killed the firm stone dead . Do gooders they call them ! All they were interested in was protecting their own jobs and introducing unnecessary rules and regs .WHAT A CRYING SHAME !
Pros
Good work mates
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible planning
Class 2 driver sales (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire17 June 2019
Management are a joke put you on routes that you dont know and say you got a sat nav yes they get you lost got to make most of your orders up before you leave the depo if a shop has 200 items or less you have to make them up your self the drivers that have been there for years with their own run are ok you get 1 weekend off every 7 management are bullies set me up to fail when i argued back i got sacked avoid dont let the wage tempt you
Pros
Wage
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C2 Driver Wednesbury
C2 HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands15 June 2019
Warburtons... Baked by robots (machinery), packaged by robots (machinery) and delivered by robots (human) led by a robotic pseudo-intellectual culture of Junior Management following what they consider is a 'Team led management strategy for the future'. In reality, it's an off the peg business model purchased from Poundland.

Wake up, there are better jobs out there don't be a 'useful idiot' for the Warburtons'...
Pros
Telling the Senior TM that he could stick his 'Rules' where The Sun don't shine :)
Cons
Ever applying for the job...
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Warburtons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 170 reviews
548
440
331
219
132

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture