Walsingham Support Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its culture is sincere and trying to be the best with limited public funding
Head Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  London4 December 2018
It's a tough environment competing for very scarce resources. It's culture genuinely places priority on the people it supports. Sometimes head office is too bureaucratic in its policies and procedures but it's operating in a highly regulated environment and this is sometimes borne of necessity.
Pros
Good people trying to do their best, secure career advancement for persons who are good at what they do, excellent training possibilities
Cons
Salary and benefits will always be amongst the lowest in the private sector
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience in the Dartford service
Support Worker/Carer (Former Employee) –  South East London, Greater London28 November 2018
A great organisation gone to ruin because of unprofessional and deceitful deputy managers.
Lovely clients but lazy support workers mostly family and friends of the management who can get away with anything.
No one listens when you have a problem, medication mistakes brushed under the carpet putting residents at risk.
Low morale, good staff underappreciated.
Avoid this organisation do not recommend working for them.
Pros
Get to go out
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company unless your part of a clique
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea24 November 2018
Very poorly run company. I wouldn't even bother applying malicious bullying goes on all the time by management and staff. I was heavily pregnant twice whilst management and staff would cause me unnecessary stress . I complained before about a male member of staff being abusive towards a service user and the reply I had of management was that's just the way he is it was probably nothing . The management are awful and are slowly killing the service users as they think they know what's best for them when in reality they don't even know the service users as they just sit in an office all day barking commands whilst you spend all your time with service users and know what they need and want but that doesn't matter to management ,as decisions they made have had a massive impact of the service users health . I have had 2 good managers when I was with the company for over 5 years and I've had 6 managers in that time . Unless you are part of the clique at the top then don't even think you can progress in this company unless your willing to basically go against what is fair and what is right for the service users .stay away from this company ecspesially from Swansea you will regret it and it will completely drain you as a person .
Pros
Getting to spend time with service users
Cons
Everything else you could think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0 stars
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Cumbria13 November 2018
If there was a star for 0 that is what I'd have gave. AWFUL COMPANY DO NOT RECOMMEND. This company thrives on making staff poorly and does not offer any support to staff and do not put service users first. Do not work for this company!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything imaginable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague!
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Carlisle7 November 2018
Inept management who will happily pass the buck to save their own backs If you do your job well, then you're marked as a troublemaker. CQC should be doing spot checks as there are some questionable working methods. If your face fits however, you can get away with anything. The duplicitous staff in certain projects are dangerous and disappointing to witness. As for confidentiality and professionalism these are a joke which is a matter of concern.

Under appreciated and no respect given. Stupidly long hours to be worked and insufficient days off to recuperate. Zero work/life balance which leads to personal issues. When you bring this up management are not concerned or attempt to rectify the situation.

Everything reduced to saving money - people are simply reduced to a number to be processed.
Cons
Stupid long hours; no work/life balance; inept management; low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your okay if your face fits
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea25 September 2018
Loved job when started then it went down hill if you did your job properly it wasn't liked
Service users weren't the main focus.cleaning and playing on mobile devices were.
No recognition at all,no organisation at all
If you were friends with management you were ok the more hard work you put in the less you were thought of.
Always short staffed
Alot of bullying goes on and nobody to the to
Pros
None at all
Cons
No career prospects no home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work culture
DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES (Former Employee) –  London20 September 2018
Walsingham Support is an organisation that truly invests in people and their development. It is strategically focussed and engages with all stakeholders to ensure full buy in for organisational development. It recognised people are its greatest resource and ensures everyone can reach their full potential. A flexible and supportive organisation to work for with a great etho and workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  North West28 July 2018
The service users and some staff are the best part of the job. Management is poor and the company cares more about where and how they can save money rather than the needs of the service users. Often put on 2 different shifts a day which can last 16 hours in total. Awkward hours and not much time for a home/social life.
Pros
Service users
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible commpany!
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Anonymous25 June 2018
I echo the earlier reviews which cite terrible working conditions, bullying by management low morale and neglect of clients. Given that this company has a Christian ethos its a shame those values aren't disseminated into the workplace. Hang your heads in shame!
Pros
Quality staff who are forced to leave!
Cons
Everthing!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best company
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire22 May 2018
Not the best experience in the Luton services. management is utterly not competent, therefore the very high turnover of staff the never stay long in the job.
Pros
lots of shifts
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Learning and Development (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London30 November 2017
Great values and ethos behind the charity. Learnt a great deal, especially how to manage staff and the opportunities to learn new skills.
The most enjoyable part, are the people who work for the company. Great support network.
Pros
Plenty of opportunities to learn
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertfordshire area
LM (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire24 November 2017
Fantastic values based organisation.
Support given is always person centred and the staff are always ready to go the extra mile.
Staff support people on a variety of activities such as sailing, bowling, cinema, pubs/restaurants, shopping, West end shows, holidays (both uk and abroad) etc.
The training and induction process is thorough, all staff complete the care certificate and have the opportunity to move forward to do QCF qualifications in health and social care.
Pros
Great training, good induction, fantastic people, great staff benefits available, every shift is different, love the variety of activities people are supported to participate in, double pay on bank holidays, watching residents achieve their goals
Cons
It would be nice if the pay was a little higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking service users out in commuity
ex employee support worker (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea14 November 2017
well i heard gd things about company but very disappointed when i started working for them no proper in duction given wasnt showen things propably staff saying s things to other staff bullying going on not treating service users with respect staff not trained propaply management not very nice to staff and staff not pulling there weight.also staff doing there own thing on shift no communication.
Pros
looking after service users
Cons
hours, pay, lack of communication between staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely No Idea
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Swansea29 October 2017
Dreadful, truly dreadful. Management have no clue, more concerned with keeping the house clean than the tenants health and wellbeing. One support worker I had the misfortune of working with stole money from tenants and drank cans of lager during a night shift. He was very popular with the other staff(!) When I voiced my concerns regarding his behaviour to management, I was informed that it was a Christian based organisation that was built on trust. It would be laughable if there weren't vulnerable people's lives being affected. They need to be investigated thoroughly and shut down immediately. No doubt.
Pros
None whatsoever
Cons
Too many to list - incompetence and negligence the most concerning
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work When Comes To Caring For Residents But Bad Management And Always On Your Case!
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartford, Kent2 June 2017
Job was ok in respects you are there for the residents and they give you pleasure and fun.
It's good to care for them and give them an good lease of life as best you can.
Management wise well what can I say except badly run! Give excuses to the residents families for things not being done.
Say they got no money but able to fork out for decorating and new furniture yet residents don't attend activities as they should.
Only good part of the job is the residents.
Bad pay bad management and sometimes bad support workers as some just sit on their backsides and don't do any work.
Do not recommend working for them.
Pros
Get to go out to activities etc in the community.
Cons
Long hours. Bad management. Lazy support workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun place to work.
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire26 April 2017
I have worked for Walsingham for over three years and over all i have loved working here. The staff receive good support from management and there is always someone to listen and help you if you're struggling, whether at work or in your personal life.
Pros
Flexible shifts and support from management
Cons
Not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring workplace
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire12 March 2017
I really like working for walsinham they have a brilliant service and help when needed there training is great but i dont like the fact we have to refresh on our e learning once a year should be maybe once every two years
Pros
Great training
Cons
Not paid enough for the jobs we do
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea6 December 2016
Worked there for over four years, first three years I was a part of the best team I could ask for. I transferred due to personal reasons and needing more hours and it has been the worst decision. Ever since I have experienced the reality of this company, it is who you know not what you know. No one is happy, management are a joke and have clear favourites. The service users are not given the correct support and management could not care less. The staff turn over is ridiculously high and team work is non existent for majority of the staff members.
Pros
Supporting the services users
Cons
low pay, no support for staff, unprofessional management and staff, not the right amount of support for services users and unappreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Loughor, Swansea28 November 2016
I absolutely love my job at Walsingham, I have done loads of training and they also put me through college to gain level 3 in Health and social care.
Pros
Days out in the community
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good thing about job is the service users you support
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Carlisle17 August 2016
Management sit in office all day. Have to do sleeps and waking nights some shifts are split shifts don't get training that is needed and are expected to just get on with it. Only good thing is the service users lovely people to work with which makes the Job better. Low pay
Pros
Working with the service users
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walsingham Support. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 31 reviews
56
45
34
26
110

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.2Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.0Culture

Walsingham Support Reviews by Location