Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 553 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, poor organisation
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh19 August 2018
Good overall benefits, but near impossible to reach standards.
Long hours for minimal pay. Hotel is great to work for but when it comes to the 2 restaurants I would stay away. Management in under a lot of pressure and that reflects on the working experience tremendously
Pros
Lovely sorroundings
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh3 March 2018
This property is perfect if you are a robot. It is a hostile working environment and includes dealing with mentally handicapped snobs. You may get free champagne once in a while, which could be a selling point for some people, however, if you have any moral standards, and for your own mental sanity, do not apply here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive excellent workplace
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Waverley Station, City of Edinburgh10 January 2018
I've learned so many things.I would never have gone far away from this hotel unless my husband.He wanted to move on Glasgow.Excellent management,perfect teamwork,happy faces everywhere!
Pros
free rates
Cons
freezing changing rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace
Breakfast Waiter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh2 January 2018
I have worked for the company as a breakfast waiter. My direct manager was a professional and engaging person who always supported the team. However, the rest of the management members who I had contact with made you feel that you feel that you are less valuable at the firm.
Cons
Poor salary to the amount of job you are required to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh16 September 2017
good place to work in terms of patience with staff and as an orall team everyone is friends. issues with staff turnover and poor training at times. hours too long and breaks too short or non existent.
Pros
benefits for staff eg discoujnts and cheap rooms
Cons
management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Kitchen Steward (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh City, City of Edinburgh15 September 2017
where some staff are great to get on with but others are just horrible to work with and management don't care if you have a complaint about someone you work with you are basically told they are like that deal with it.
Pros
free lunches if you have the time to go for lunch
Cons
being left to do things alone on a extremely busy day, also expected to finish everything and as i said management dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Chef (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh5 August 2017
Not enough staff
Managers are completely unorganised so you will work not paid extra hours
Not a 5 stars hotel for quality
Posh people working there and look at you as you are less then them.
Very bad working ambient
Pros
Changing room
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place
Food And Beverage Associate (Section Head) (Former Employee) –  UK31 May 2017
Hilton is a place where i found job Satisfaction and i have learned a lot about F&B . They made me as professional from a new joiner in a short time span.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst hotel I've worked for
Food and Beverage (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh8 May 2017
Horrible experience. For someone who loves hospitality this is the worst place to work. Customers are left on the side and the priority is to save money at all times. Horrible culture within the hotel staff. You do not want to sit at the staff canteen and speak with the rest of the staff. Depressing!
Pros
Fantastic building
Cons
Horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh7 May 2017
where some of the staff are ok there are others there that arrogant and ignorant and the management are useless and do nothing to any complaints you have.

so I wouldn't recommend working there.
Pros
free food if you can get it cause you are far to busy alone to do way too mych for one person
Cons
some staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh7 March 2017
To be my first work in UK, it was a very good experience, they helping me with my english and support me to do my english classes.
The work is hard and sometime people don't appreciate much my effort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely co-workers, unorganised management
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh27 August 2016
My day would usually start at about 10am and if lucky around 8pm, although this barely ever happened as I was nearly every time asked to stay much later (sometimes until 4am!!!)
Management were awful, I would often get my roster for the week the night before that said week was to start.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard culture
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh7 July 2016
Fast paced, ever changing environment. No chance of getting bored.
Great team camaraderie
Learned a lot, built long and lasting relationships
Just out grew the role so now looking for next challenge.
Pros
Free meals and great benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gavlin Brasserie
Restaurant Manager (Brasserie and Pompadour) (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh4 May 2016
Great place to work, very hard and challenging workplace. Great culture to work in. Hardest part of the job is the hours and turnaround of staff.
Pros
Good team culture
Cons
Hours and high turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel the work is not challenging enough.
General up-keeping (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh10 April 2016
Job entails a lot of individual hard work. Not enough team work or opportunity to improve my English. Working in a 5 star hotel which is positive and enjoyable.
Pros
Physical work
Cons
Work and life balance not suitable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Breakfast Chef (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT10 December 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them. There was a lot of variety in what I did each day, ranging from the monotonous tasks to new projects that were challenging and exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
F&B Assitant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT23 July 2015
Really enjoyed my experience there, gained some useful skills and confidence.
It offers additional courses and trainings, which is essential for those with lmited or no experience in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sous Chef-pastry (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT8 June 2015
free lunches,free uniforms,excellent benefits,fun place to work,good experience,good colegues to work with,hardest part of the job is long hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT16 February 2015
went to help the banqueting operation, in charge of ordering, production and organization. good experience in a beautiful locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial
Conference & Banqueting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, SCT20 October 2014
• Supervise team members
• Coordinate with event organizers
• Task delegation
• Coaching new and current members of staff
• Assisting F&B management with achieving financial targets
• Responsible for the effective operation of the banqueting bar
• Meeting room setups
• Collaborate with other departments
• Ensure quality of service
Pros
Training and Development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 553 reviews
5278
4160
364
223
128

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts Reviews by Location