Waitrose Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Lymington14 May 2018
Terrible place to work, not enough people to get the job done. managers expect more and more out of you each day. No one has accountability for doing a bad job. On the plus side most the people working there are nice.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Night staff shelf packer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London11 May 2018
i worked night shifts here i also worked every weekend nights so i guess i left here to get a social life again. the nightshift pattern was not great for my body too
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great standard of training.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury10 May 2018
Great standard of customer service training. Great range of benefits too. However, the work is very monotonous and not particularly challenging and can be hard to balance a social life outside the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, Suffolk8 May 2018
Very pleasant place to work and would gladly return there in future. Would recommend this chain so anybody who wishes to pursue a job within retail. Treated with great respect.
Pros
Very friendly staff and great management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, Suffolk8 May 2018
The 2 week work experience period I spent working at Waitrose we’re thoroughly enjoyable. I was treated with great respect and had very fair working hours. I would gladly work there on a permanent basis.
Pros
Friendly staff, brilliant management
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low skilled job w/ good benefits
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol8 May 2018
Typical day involves, replenishing stock within various departments.
Till work and handling customer issues should they arise.
Good benefits involving discount, fun days out, ticket subsidy and more.
Hardest part about working there is the monotonous feeling about the job, every day is almost the same.
enjoyable part of the job is the co-workers(if you're lucky to have fun co-workers).
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff all very friendly, enjoyable workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Brackley6 May 2018
The staff were all very friendly and good to work with. However, sadly the management at my branch was poor, often expecting far too much of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult working environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London3 May 2018
The work is quite varied so you could be assisting customers, sell on the checkout, replenish shelves, check dates and discount, take deliveries. Each person will tend to fall into a pattern. However, since the recent changes, you are now expected to switch between any task you have been trained to do at any point in time during your shift. This can be very tiring.

Most Partners are friendly and go out of their way to help you, however you will find the odd one or two people that seem to give you a hard time for no reason. The Partnership does seem to care about your development and training is good overall, but management can have unreasonable expectations at times, expecting you to finish tasks when you are being spread too thinly. Some managers don't seem to know what the others are doing, as one can instruct you to do one task and a few minutes later another will question why you have been doing it.

Most of the customers are reasonably pleasant although some can be rude and not appreciate the nature of your working pattern and the fact that you cannot have the shelves fully stocked all of the time. You will hear some grumble about there 'not being anyone there to assist them'. Many of the issues can only be resolved by a policy change. You need to be able to take it in your stride and not let things you can't influence affect your ability to do the job.

Certain aspects of the job can be very physical and tiring. The work is often monotonous and repetitive.

You do get 15% off Waitrose purchases and generally 20% off John Lewis after working here for 3 months.
  more... There is also the bonus (which has been decreasing in recent times). A lot of food seems to get thrown away even though it is perfectly edible (veg for example doesn't become inedible the moment it passes the best before date). I understand that it gets sent for anareobic digestion to produce energy, but wouldn't it be better to sell it to Partners at discount?

I would say this is a good job for students or those without much experience of the work place. The bonus and discounts don't really make up for the low wage, although this can be increased very slightly based on performace.

Retail is a very competitive sector so to some extent the Partnership's hands are tied in how much they can afford to pay/working conditions. Having said that, if you want to work in food retail then you could do a lot worse than working for Waitrose.
  less
Pros
Bonus, discount card, friendly work colleagues
Cons
Low pay, changing work conditions (usually for the worse), unreasonable expectations, restrictive holiday policy, flexibility required but mostly one-way
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  South East1 May 2018
Awful terrible actually cannot describe how bad it is. Management don't care about you, no flexibility and horrible hours. Save yourself the pain seriously.
Pros
Pay-ish
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Winton28 April 2018
Worth it for the benefits. Like anywhere, Management can be hit & miss, but work had & its ok. Partner benefits decent... stay on Brownsea island for decent money,
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Enfield27 April 2018
The company was perfect to work for.

Duties

• Daily van checks
• Cleaning van in and out
• Maintaining a clean van at all times
• Being punctual to every delivery
• Communicating with colleges to ensure van is loaded correctly
• Attaining a high level of customer service at all times
• Regular temperature checks of fridge and freezer
• Ensuring the van always has diesel
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultured workplace
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  Solihull24 April 2018
The partner structure really makes work worthwhile, feeling part of the family/team is essential and working in a comfortable environment is always good. Waitrose has taught me a lot about the values of colleges and working together- extremely cultured and accommodates for everyone.
Pros
John Lewis Discount Card
Cons
Weekend Hours/Working Sociable Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place at best
SUPERMARKET ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  victoria street, london24 April 2018
i worked in the victoria street waitrose and the the only good thing there was the money, benefits and the fellow staff. the managers there were cheeky and rude at times. i'll always be grateful for the opportunity but something needs to happen when it comes to the management there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company for to work
Warehouse Operative/Picker (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire23 April 2018
Couple years ago I worked for agency witch us partner of waitrose , and the environment us very good and good benefits, just left that time because circumstance move different village .
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt spend long enough there
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire21 April 2018
Didn't spend long enough working there to make a solid opinion, had to leave due to medical issues so not sure how it would have been if I had stayed working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Supermarket Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brent Cross Station20 April 2018
typical day at work would require to be on time and ready to work your replenishment shift or whatever department you have been assigned to. learn how to deal with some difficult customers but most importantly to work more efficiently and productively. management was okay though some managers are not very nice to work and there is an element of sneakiness and hypocrisy among managers when dealing with fellow employees. hardest part of job is heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Leek19 April 2018
I really enjoyed working at Waitrose, interacting with a variety of people and expanding my skill set. In my role i looked after stock taking, over looked the warehouse and was in charge of many displays such as floristry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced friendly place to work.
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Horley, Surrey17 April 2018
fast paced and friendly place to work, all partners are friendly and welcoming, also supportive with learning and kind when things go wrong. close-knit community, almost like a family, but obviously professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever ever ever worked.
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Leyland RDC17 April 2018
Poor treatment. Bullying is rife. Management are inept. Poor pay. Shrinking bonus. Spoken to like dirt. No paths to progress. Demoralised me to the point of depression and thoughts of suicide. I'd rather die (LITERALLY DIE) than return.
Pros
None.
Cons
All.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a partnership, Waitrose has a lot to offer and there are many avenues for all. It is a very welcoming company in terms of inclusion and equality.
Wine Advisor (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear15 April 2018
Having worked for Waitrose for nearly 10 years, I have gained a high level of customer service and have developed many skills with sales. Most of all I have also gained a nationwide qualification in Wines and Spirits.
Pros
Opportunities within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,426 reviews
5542
4508
3256
257
163

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture