Waitrose Employee Reviews for Shop Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inclusive workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleet3 July 2018
Staff members are highly valued which is very motivating for staff. Very enjoyable work that feels rewarding in a number of ways not only salary wise. Hours are great. I have no negative experiences from working with Waitrose. Would love to go back
Pros
Great benefits and discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, gained lots of different skills.
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Locks Heath, Hampshire18 May 2018
i start work at 5am so i am use to early starts,i have learnt how to do others sections such as tills, delivery and operations, each day i learn more.
Pros
Great team of people
Cons
Time to get jobs done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Lymington14 May 2018
Terrible place to work, not enough people to get the job done. managers expect more and more out of you each day. No one has accountability for doing a bad job. On the plus side most the people working there are nice.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Leek19 April 2018
I really enjoyed working at Waitrose, interacting with a variety of people and expanding my skill set. In my role i looked after stock taking, over looked the warehouse and was in charge of many displays such as floristry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hailsham10 April 2018
Productive days where you never find yourself not busy. Management were always great with helping with training and providing new tasks as well as assisting with tasks that may have been difficult for one person. Fun group of people to work with despite remaining professional for the customers.
Pros
Very good starting salary, chilled out vibes and friendly environment.
Cons
Small-team based, repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Thatcham, Berkshire26 March 2018
i worked evening replenishing stock. this involved stock rotation and checking dates. The management were helpful. There was some lifting but full training was given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun place to work
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire25 March 2018
Work at 20.30 finish at 7 in the morning
Work cages on shop floor fresh ,frozen & ambient
Very demanding and very busy store
Using the bailer setting up and resetting
Pros
Cheaper dinners and food shop
Cons
Long hours and nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly workplace
Shop assistant and cashier (Former Employee) –  Dorset17 February 2018
Really enjoyed working as everybody was nice and friendly which made it a nice atmosphere to work in and always had work to do so i always knew what i was doing.
Pros
Salary
Cons
far to commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company to work for.
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City12 February 2018
Kept me happy and fully trained for my duration of the time spent working for their business. Also had a lot benefits that their staff could benefit from.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire24 January 2018
Theft high amongst staff and management are awful. Place is dirty and the shelf's never get stacked right. Health and safety risks with staff on nights high on drugs
Pros
None
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organised
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Okehampton, Devon23 January 2018
Lovely company to work for members of staff very reliable very friendly keen to train you up always avenues to go down with learning managers are very organised
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay and reliable
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds20 January 2018
Was a really good job, steady and consistent. Could easily pick up extra hours if you needed more money and also, it was relevantly easy to get someone to cover your shift
Pros
partner in the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire18 September 2017
Very nice colleagues and good management. Hard work and sometimes long hours. Sometimes get rude customers but not the companies fault, just the way it is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good atmosphere
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Havant, Hampshire10 September 2017
Waitrose is a good place to work, although for me it's time for a change as I have been there since I was 17 and now I am looking for a better job to accommodate my masters degree
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Banstead, Surrey23 August 2017
Fun place to work with a lot of friendly staff and customers. As well as brilliant benefits such as discounts at John Lewis and Waitrose and the bonuses. It's good to be considered a partner not just an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bedfordshire23 August 2017
Very good company to work for, from the staff, perks, and customers who you interact with. Always trained to a very high standard, and helps you become very confident speaking to customers and dealing with complaints or queries in a professional manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good place for part time work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey7 August 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my colleagues. There was a very friendly environment and everyone made you feel welcome. I was able to improve my social skills as well as learning how to give good customer service.
The only down side to the job is that hours aren't very flexible and getting time off can be difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Operations Shopfloor assistant (Current Employee) –  Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire5 August 2017
Daily variety with a high speed tempo. Partners are friendly and sociable and the supplementary benefits can be of a great use for a variety of activities/interests
Pros
discounted Partner dining room, Discount after 3 months, Holiday pay supplement
Cons
very busy and somewhat chaotic at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Okay
Retail and Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chichester1 August 2017
• Developed communication skills with people of all ages, customers and colleagues
• Worked in small teams within a large team
• Developed time management and organisational skills
• Accepted and continuously sought increasing levels of responsibility for my work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here temporarily
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln17 July 2017
Worked here temporarily. Whilst an upmarket store, some staff were very friendly, others were not. Was put in for shifts I did not accept. Very unorganised.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Unorganised management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,429 reviews
5543
4509
3257
257
163

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture