Waitrose Employee Reviews in London

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Fresh Food Assistant (Former Employee) –  London13 December 2017
I worked a night shift so my contact with the day-to-day working culture was limited. I was worked pretty hard but this was normal; bosses were pleasant and fair.
Pros
Good bosses
Cons
No free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London10 December 2017
This work experience allowed me over to period of a week to try different roles throughout the store. The roles included ambiance, stock management, and customer service.
Pros
Discounted lunches
Cons
Short break times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Supervisor - Part Time (Former Employee) –  London16 November 2017
Amazing place to wotk while in education as they are very flexible and push you for your studies aswel. The managment really take care of you and working conditions are first class.
Pros
Amazing Lunches
Cons
Can get really busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established supermarket
Part time Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 November 2017
Waitrose was a quality place to work for where you can gain a lot of experiences and progress onto managements schemes if you want t make a career of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London1 November 2017
You'll end up doing routine job every day, year after year. No promotions, despite all promises. Management isn't helpful, not saying about being professional.
Pros
Partner discount card
Cons
No promotions, hard to book holidays, no planning/strategy, arrogant management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London18 October 2017
waitrose treats their staff excellently and everybody communicates well with each other.
They are great with the food for staff. good pay and customers don't tend to be so bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  London13 October 2017
You will learn a lot about processes and systems involved and get a real insight knowledge on how a supermarket is run. Everyone is friendly to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Assistant
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London12 October 2017
stock replenishment
liaising with customers
Creating visual merchandise
Reducing and disposing of products using handheld device and printer
admin related tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Friendly Staff, Understanding Managers
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 September 2017
Ar my time with Waitrose I felt noticed, as it is a large company and employs a huge number of staff I was surprised all the managers knew all staff on a name basis. Their bonus scheme is superb and the night shift hours I was allocated fit my personal life perfectly.
Pros
Partnership System
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with advancement options
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London14 September 2017
Its a good place to work with a helpful and supportive environment. A typical day is very fulfilling as you get to help people all day long, which feels rewarding.
Pros
discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Branch Partner (Current Employee) –  London17 August 2017
Flexible job, excellent to work. I have been in the company for 8 years and have enjoyed my time and worked hard. met a lot of great people and excelled in costumer service through my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Section manager (Former Employee) –  Queensway, London13 August 2017
I worked in the partnership for over four years and in that time progressed to a management position.
Working in store is a physically demanding job.
Management set branch culture and are all required to help tidy the shop floor throughout the day. It was satisfying to finish a late shift with colleagues having achieved a good result or completing a delivery.
I would happily work in Waitrose again.
Pros
Progression opportunities available, no need to take work home
Cons
often work needed at the weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London3 August 2017
Not applicable as it was only work experience but overall it was a good experience. Manager was good and I learnt a lot over the few weeks I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London26 July 2017
Whilst working at Waitrose I was a respected and dependable team leader that was trusted to deliver exceptional customer service, train new employees and lead my section in the absence of line managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London7 July 2017
I was only working part-time whilst still at school. The workplace was very friendly and they were very welcoming. The management were always in control and knew exactly what to do.
Pros
Many breaks
Cons
Dealing with difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant
Warehousing Assistant (Former Employee) –  London22 June 2017
unfortunately I was only living in London for a few months and there was problems with my bank account at the time or I would have continued working with the partnership the pay was good the work was manageable and the company is excellent they done the best they could to ensure I was paid through a banking error great place to work they take good care of you
Pros
good bonus system, good staff benefits, discounts. ect
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Food Counters Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bayswater, London, UK21 June 2017
Waitrose was by far the best place to work, especially as a student. The wages, management and staff benefits were amazing, and my colleagues made me feel like I wasn't at work.
Pros
Staff benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Customer Assistant on checkouts (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 June 2017
Overall it was nice place to work, however sometimes they can overwork you depending on how busy it is like sending you late to your breaks etc. The hardest part is the customers of course and the easiest part was getting on with the job.
Pros
Good pay, good training
Cons
Long hours, no free lunches even though its a grocery store
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant first job
Food Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London9 June 2017
It is an amazing eye opener into the job world, giving a verity of different opportunities, offering new skills and the ability to work anywhere in branch regardless of background. The staff are willing to teach and also learn new skills and knowledge..
Pros
Great staff and working environment.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great job however progression is minimal dependant on branch
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London3 June 2017
great people, lovely brand, it has a great environment to work within, they offer various perks and benefits that come in handy however if your are looking for a steady progressive job they cant offer this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,257 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8