Waitrose Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Malden20 July 2018
Waitrose is a very organised, enjoyable company to work for. I was able to develop my skills there, with the help of the company and staff. Happy environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northampton20 July 2018
The role was to provide top quality service to customers and the hardest part of the job was when the shop was quiet and the most enjoyable part was when it was a busy day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but productive
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Suffolk20 July 2018
Days are very monotemous doing the same thing for all of your shift. Management are helpful and understanding to a point but seem to be reluctant to give more contracted hours to part time staff instead they simply pressure you to do overtime.
Pros
Cheaper staff lunches
Cons
Monotomous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard place to work
Shop assistant and cashier (Former Employee) –  Salisbury18 July 2018
the benefits and the pay was good but i gradually began to enjoy my job there less and less. It was good for a first job but i would not like to have worked there long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wacky warehouse full of degenerates and monkeys for managers
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Leyland17 July 2018
Some of the people are alright, I mean a minuet few. Rest are a bunch of degenerates who want to climb up that ladder, be stuck in there bubble and be miserable
Pros
brownies were good
Cons
unsociable hours, managers do nothing, but pick each others bums, panic when they realise they have messed up, then pin the blame on someone else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i worked
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  london16 July 2018
leaving two previous employers in the customer relations sector waitrose provided the best of both jobs good customer service with positive colleagues with many many benefits.
Pros
JLP benefits
Cons
miscommunication between managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of partners, poor management
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wellington, Somerset14 July 2018
The partnership is a good solid safe place to work with good benafits and high levels of staff welfare.
Waitrose have a good route for progression if you’re looking for a career in retail, however Wellington is a poor store for development and you’d be better off elsewhere.
The team at Wellington are very hard working with lots of support from co-workers but it is extremely pressurised due to very low levels of staff.
The senior management are poor and reactive rather than proactive, can’t see how under pressure the staff are on the floor and frankly don’t care as long as the sales keep coming. The manager is blinkered, doesn’t want to know about problems, doesn’t engage with staff, the deputy flaps, panics, micro manages everyone and is rude to the point of bullying.
It’s such a busy shop that there is no time for proper training so staff are fraught and put in the position of not being confident at what they are doing.
Pros
Good benafits, secure job
Cons
High pressure, low pay, poor training/progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and welcoming place to work.
Picker and Packer (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny, Blaenau Gwent12 July 2018
Although targets had to be met and partners were keen to get work completed in an efficient way, the general atmosphere within the branch was relaxed and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company best avoided to work for
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dorking10 July 2018
Not the best place to work as you cannot progress on your chosen career path.
management sack people just for being themselves.
a typical day at work was constant pressure put on you by the management to gain extra money from the customer without the quality of service to them.
I learnt nothing new from working with Waitrose.
the culture in the Dorking branch was constant money grabbing from the customer.
The job was a retail job, so there was nothing hard about it except the chance to progress
the most enjoyable was serving the customers whilst working with the fish and coming up with new ideas for the dishes they were doing at home
Pros
None
Cons
Bad Management in charge of the branch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most recent job
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sevenoaks10 July 2018
Awful management, I tried to book 1 or 2 days of holiday off in six months of working there and had both requests rejected, therefore I got not holiday for six months, I was also sick three times due to a condition I have and working on food service we are not supposed to work for 48hours after vomiting. On all three of these occasions i was asked to come into work and work the food service counter, this is a breach of my rights. i was forced to argue with the management that i couldn't attend work due to my being ill.
Pros
benefits, co-workers
Cons
management, sick leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company who really care
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Various9 July 2018
I loved my time at Waitrose. It was hard work, challenging and required resilience but the rewards were great. Working as a team for a company who care about the people who work there. Opportunities to develop yourself, support during difficult times and lots of fantastic benefits.

The hardest part of the job in recent years has been due to a lack of trained staff - high levels of turnover and hard to fill vacancies made day to day life harder than it should have been. But the team spirit and determination of those working there shone through.

The hours could be called unsociable with early starts, late finishes and weekend working but these shifts can work well - around family or personal commitments. Days off in the week are great for appointments!

The best part of this job was the people who worked there - in every branch I worked at there were fantastic partners!
Pros
Good pay rates, great benefits, amazing leisure retreats, good career development opportunities
Cons
Hard work at a fast pace with sometimes impatient and angry customers to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London6 July 2018
This experience taught me patience as well as excellent and effective communication skills. It overall was a great and enjoyable experience which I am grateful to of had.
Pros
hours
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Meanwood6 July 2018
enjoyed working for this company. fun environment, pleasant colleagues and friendly managers. flexible hours with the option for overtime made it an enjoyable work environment.
Pros
good discounts
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Partner (Former Employee) –  Barnet, Greater London6 July 2018
My typical day consisted of stacking shelves and rotation of dates in order to ensure there are no out of date items on the shelves that could be sold. Also the disposing of out of date stock and then recording that on the computers ensuring all the numbers on the stock count add up correctly.

I learned a lot about how to deal with customers and handle all sorts of situations.

Management are very good you can come to them with absolutely any questions or concerns you may have and they will be more than happy to help you out.
Pros
Good discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Holsworthy, Devon5 July 2018
Bullying managers, holidays refused. Best day was the last !!
Just a number.
I would not recommend Waitrose Holsworthy to anyone.
The management are a disgrace.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Supermarket assistant (Former Employee) –  London5 July 2018
Worked for Waitrose long time wasn't that great managers aren't great and don't support you and some not all partners very clicky. I'd never work in another supermarket again
Pros
Bonus discount card
Cons
Not gd management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inclusive workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleet3 July 2018
Staff members are highly valued which is very motivating for staff. Very enjoyable work that feels rewarding in a number of ways not only salary wise. Hours are great. I have no negative experiences from working with Waitrose. Would love to go back
Pros
Great benefits and discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Stimulating work environment
partner (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire3 July 2018
For a first job, partner at Waitrose was the ideal position, friendly staff and a busy work environment there was always something stimulating to do. Having a customer facing role is also a great way to improve confidence
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Section Manager (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny3 July 2018
Good place to work. Sometimes long hours. Colleagues are wonderful. Year end bonus is great. Offers some career progression. Overall good place to work.
Pros
does not feel like employee more like partners of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Supermarket Assistant (Former Employee) –  Twickenham, Greater London2 July 2018
Typical customers who come to the store treat staff with respect. You learn great skills with the company and management staff are more than willing to help you advance in your career within the company. Hardest part of the job is probably balancing your time management with tasks but due to the "partnership" of the company, everyone tries to work together as much as possible to get tasks done.
Pros
Staff benefits and discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,431 reviews
5543
4511
3257
257
163

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture