Waitrose Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive workplace, enjoyed working for the Partnership
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bracknell, Berkshire18 January 2018
Excellent employer with lots of career opportunities.

Very supportive employer e.g. work life balance

Always worked in a supportive team with supportive direct manager
Pros
Felt supported during employment
Cons
Senior management appeared remote
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying management
Supermarket Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire17 January 2018
Had a really awful time at waitrose, several years ago now. Management were vile. Hopefully it's improved since then, but I would never work for a supermarket ever again.
Pros
Flexible shifts
Cons
Stress, lack of training, poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire16 January 2018
Loved working at Waitrose all management and team members were friendly and helpful. always got credit for good work and looked after by management would work for Waitrose again if I had the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedford15 January 2018
Good team working skills gained
The ability to complete paperwork and count stock
Excellent communication and interpersonal skills
Ability to work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brent Cross Station, Greater London15 January 2018
Its really fun to work here because the people who work there is really friendly . And if you're not sure on what you are doung they are hapoy to help you .
Pros
Free lunch, free breakfast
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ringwood14 January 2018
I am responsible for managing my own shifts in addition to working with other colleagues. My main duties including: caring for all customers, shelf stacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitrose
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frimley14 January 2018
The customers were snobby and just awful people, thinking my selves as superior, my team were although good some of them were just a drag to work with.
Pros
None
Cons
Stupid uniform, customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent service
Role - Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newton Mearns12 January 2018
the job at waitrose was fun and I gained a lot of experience working in the cafe to meet new staff which introduced me how to do different things in the workplace environment.
Pros
good staff team members
Cons
lacking of staff not turning up on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A brilliant place to work overall
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torquay, Devon12 January 2018
It was ok. I can't really think of 150 characters worth of stuff to say. In and out of work benefits and shop floor colleagues were good, wage was slightly above minimum. Management was patchy at best and had become particularly shabby near the end of my employment resulting in poor attitudes and lack of motivation from partners. Sadly very much an 'us vs. them' culture. From what I've gathered from visiting and speaking to partners working in different stores this seems like an isolated case, most other Waitrose stores are far better managed and happier places to work.
Pros
Myriad of discounts and benefits outside and inside of work, flexibility with hours, discounted cooked meals at break times.
Cons
Poor management, consistently over staffed at quiet times and under staffed at busy times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work,
Print Room Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bracknell, Berkshire11 January 2018
Taking customer orders (Waitrose stores) over the phone and fax's
picking / packing and despatching signage to stores.
Guillotine work on the in house Waitrose magazine, Dark room work pasting up photographs for Magazine.
Reprographics on daily bulletin and despatching.
Pros
Yearly Bonus
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend!
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stroud, Gloucestershire11 January 2018
Enjoyed my 3 years working with the partnership, lots of opportunities to further your training to different areas of the store and always overtime available!
Pros
Hours, pay, opportunities to further training
Cons
Management seemed a bit messy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torquay10 January 2018
Worked at waitrose for 11 years was a fun company to work for had great partners at the time whilst working there very friendly, good benefits within The company
Pros
Good breakfast
Cons
Management attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, especially part time
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Epsom9 January 2018
Worked here part time during school. Exactly what you need for a part time job, especially the training courses that they give you as a member of staff.
Pros
Great staff training
Cons
Lack of responsibility given to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxing workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire9 January 2018
I enjoy my work in Watrose. I like interactions with the customers, conversations with them, and to be able to hear their opinions about everything. Also like the diversity of doing different tasks everythime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee) –  Chorley8 January 2018
Very organised and clean place, cold aswell, good communication between the workers, good food, the only problem is, they need to provide more equipment for the workers
Pros
Clean place
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London7 January 2018
Encouraged me to develop on my social skills within a work environment, focusing majorly on the importance of team work and character building.
Professional and useful work experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, varied role
Assistant (till trained) (Former Employee) –  Petersfield, Hampshire7 January 2018
Dealing with customers from all walks of life and assisting them with their needs.
Replenishing stock, doing stock take and organising stock in the warehouse.
Friendly colleagues and very approachable management.
Pros
free lunches and great benefits
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Fruit and Vegetable / Wine Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New Malden, Greater London7 January 2018
A very good organisation to work for. Every march you get a share of the customer profits which is called the bonus scheme. I really enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan2 January 2018
friendly staff, good pay and benefits. Good work hours due to store opening times. Uniform is provided but strict in regards to make up and hair in work
Cons
No parking provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and sociable workplace
Supermarket Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelsea2 January 2018
worked here from the age of 16 and was looked after from all the older staff. It felt like one big family. Everyone got on and was very sociable. Management looked after everyone.
Pros
fun workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,263 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8