Waitrose & Partners Employee Reviews in London

Found 170 reviews matching the search See all 1,501 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Branch Assistant (Current Employee) –  London5 September 2018
My first Job was at Waitrose and i think it was the perfect start. I'm looking to branch out and explore my career options with the skills and confidence I've developed while working for the partnership. I feel like there a fewer opportunities there to forward my career than there originally was when I joined the Partnership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 August 2018
I will not recommend this place to work.Nothing to learn as they already know what people they want to take to career.They advertising the jobs only for law wise. Management awful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but hard to progress
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London31 July 2018
I worked here through university. They hire a good mix of people at all ages, and you can train on every section. It is difficult to progress or get promoted though, and the Mill Hill branch often showed signs of favouritism for certain staff to move upwards or to get adequate levels of training. John Lewis Partnership is good with salaries and the employee benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to add
Supervisor Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London25 July 2018
Waitrose comes under John Lewis and I must say they really look after their staff. Benefits are good and they have many activities you can do via the work perk establishment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i worked
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  london16 July 2018
leaving two previous employers in the customer relations sector waitrose provided the best of both jobs good customer service with positive colleagues with many many benefits.
Pros
JLP benefits
Cons
miscommunication between managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London6 July 2018
This experience taught me patience as well as excellent and effective communication skills. It overall was a great and enjoyable experience which I am grateful to of had.
Pros
hours
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Supermarket assistant (Former Employee) –  London5 July 2018
Worked for Waitrose long time wasn't that great managers aren't great and don't support you and some not all partners very clicky. I'd never work in another supermarket again
Pros
Bonus discount card
Cons
Not gd management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not always worth the pay
Store Colleague (Former Employee) –  London18 June 2018
A typical day at work does not change, you are set on one thing and one thing only and trying to change position is hard, e.g. of you start on checkouts, you're staying on checkouts.

I have learned to bite my tongue and that sometimes people expect too much and there are simply some things you cannot do.

Managers are very biased, if they like you then they are more friendly and understanding and if they dislike you then they will not be understanding.

The culture is quite nice as you have a group of people who hate their job coming together.

Worst part is the customers who believe they are above everyone else. They have caused several mental breakdowns due to constant digs. You receive no support for things like this either and end up being told you were the problem.

Most enjoyable part is payday but it is not always worth it.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but it could be better
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London17 June 2018
The company is very good. They have a good culture and the management is always nice to you, in the sense that they alway greet you and ask questions about your family and so on. You don't have any pressure to do your job and they are not constantly looking at your every move.
They are very flexible, with the working hour so you can easily accommodate your time. It is wonderful if you are a student or have children.
One bad thing is that you hardly ever get any feedback about your work so you might think your are doing great but they may think differently. There is no way for you to know how is your performance. It is only when you have your yearly appraisal that they tell you staffs that you did not do and for that reason you won't be getting a pay raise this year.
It is very hard to climb up the leader if you happened to be a non white British person. They care too much about the way you look and the way you speak rather than your actual performance and your ability to do the job. It feels like you have to be punished for speaking with an accent or having brown skin colour.
Pros
Discounted food, great employee discounts. Yearly bonus
Cons
Hard to progress within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and Welcoming
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London8 June 2018
Waitrose as a company looks after its customers to a very high standard and the same can be said for its employees. Excellent staff benefits, a friendly working environment and job security.
Pros
Staff discount across multiple brands
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad good for a first job
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London22 May 2018
Worked at two loactions, first location was very good, really nice atmospehere and lots of variety. Moving to the second loaction, it is not at good, no work variety at all leading to long and boring shifts. Overall management is good as long as you are working hard.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
limited variety
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace. good benefits from company dividends
night stock replenishment (Former Employee) –  London21 May 2018
Nice team. Rather intense night shift. Could not adjust to the night shift. Asked to leave.

Good and polite introduction to the Waitrose branch.
Typical day at work would be stocking shelves and maintaining high standard.
The management were helpful in understanding the role.
The workplace culture was however not very approachable.

The hardest part of the job was working night shift and working intense shifts.

The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new skills and meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Night staff shelf packer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London11 May 2018
i worked night shifts here i also worked every weekend nights so i guess i left here to get a social life again. the nightshift pattern was not great for my body too
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult working environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London3 May 2018
The work is quite varied so you could be assisting customers, sell on the checkout, replenish shelves, check dates and discount, take deliveries. Each person will tend to fall into a pattern. However, since the recent changes, you are now expected to switch between any task you have been trained to do at any point in time during your shift. This can be very tiring.

Most Partners are friendly and go out of their way to help you, however you will find the odd one or two people that seem to give you a hard time for no reason. The Partnership does seem to care about your development and training is good overall, but management can have unreasonable expectations at times, expecting you to finish tasks when you are being spread too thinly. Some managers don't seem to know what the others are doing, as one can instruct you to do one task and a few minutes later another will question why you have been doing it.

Most of the customers are reasonably pleasant although some can be rude and not appreciate the nature of your working pattern and the fact that you cannot have the shelves fully stocked all of the time. You will hear some grumble about there 'not being anyone there to assist them'. Many of the issues can only be resolved by a policy change. You need to be able to take it in your stride and not let things you can't influence affect your ability to do the job.

Certain aspects of the job can be very physical and tiring. The work is often monotonous and repetitive.

You do get 15% off Waitrose purchases and generally 20% off John Lewis after working here for 3 months.
  more... There is also the bonus (which has been decreasing in recent times). A lot of food seems to get thrown away even though it is perfectly edible (veg for example doesn't become inedible the moment it passes the best before date). I understand that it gets sent for anareobic digestion to produce energy, but wouldn't it be better to sell it to Partners at discount?

I would say this is a good job for students or those without much experience of the work place. The bonus and discounts don't really make up for the low wage, although this can be increased very slightly based on performace.

Retail is a very competitive sector so to some extent the Partnership's hands are tied in how much they can afford to pay/working conditions. Having said that, if you want to work in food retail then you could do a lot worse than working for Waitrose.
  less
Pros
Bonus, discount card, friendly work colleagues
Cons
Low pay, changing work conditions (usually for the worse), unreasonable expectations, restrictive holiday policy, flexibility required but mostly one-way
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place at best
SUPERMARKET ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  victoria street, london24 April 2018
i worked in the victoria street waitrose and the the only good thing there was the money, benefits and the fellow staff. the managers there were cheeky and rude at times. i'll always be grateful for the opportunity but something needs to happen when it comes to the management there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London15 April 2018
Horrible environment to work in. Managers are awful most are untrained and got their position because of who they know rather than what they know. The do not care about personal problems that you may face and often lead you to be depressed and stressed.

Only way to progress in this company is to be white or to suck up to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Committed member (Former Employee) –  london25 March 2018
fun place to work part-time whilst at school and uni, friendly environment. Highly customer service based, sometimes physically challenging usually serving customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really nice work place
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  London6 March 2018
Good place to work at, friendly and multiculcural atmosphere. All kinds of age and engaged colleagues.
If you are an excellent team player looking for a fun place to work then look no further.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Replenishment Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 March 2018
Your experience working at Waitrose will mainly boil down to how competent and strict your manager is. I believe I mostly got lucky as I was able mostly at my own pace and could take my breaks when I wanted. This will likely not be the case for too many people.

The job itself is ok, although it's extremely easy to hit a wall for development after 6 months and advancement is on your own initiative. Running for things like forum rep and being a hardworker will put you in good stead, although I personally know employees who have worked for 5,10,15 years in the same position and haven't been allowed to advance.

Worst thing about the job are rude customers and the insanely monotonous work you do for 38 hours a week. "Facing-up" shelves for 7-14 hours a week, stacking shelves and occasionally being able to help out a customer.

Listening to music/radio/podcasts before the store opens was the only saving grace from the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London7 February 2018
Waitrose is a very productive and fun environment to work in. A place where the company looks after their employees and management actually care about you as an individual.

Great flexibility, great place to work while you are studying also, as the pay is good.
Pros
Discounted lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waitrose & Partners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,501 reviews
5566
4536
3266
263
170

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture