wagamama
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

wagamama Employee Reviews

Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom299 reviews
Found 299 reviews matching the search
See all 379 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience
In a Wagamama restaurant you will never get bored, both if you get into as a customer or as a worker. Even though I must say it's much better just taste the food over here, because, for me, it's very good tasteful and enjoyable. As a cook, on the other side, if you are lucky, you can work with a good head chef able to teach you in an enjoyable way too.
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mistake
Very,very poor management, working like a horse, tips charing and most of the tips managers taking 😒 I would never,ever recomend my friends work in Wagamama.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Very good environment to work, friendly place,very good customer service,high level of hygiene,very good attention of the details,good company..good management
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reliable strong company to work for
very strong company, reliable and expanding every day.
if you work well wagamama is looking after their staff and always is happy to help and support their employees
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Great work place.You develop further but is a very fast environment where you have to multitask all the time and where you have to keep up with the demands.
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management - discriminatory company-
Racist company. senior managers will never listen to you. no balance between work and life. you required to work as slave . they are discriminatory. i will not recommend it as you work in the kitchen as slave. if you complain from senior manager you will expect vindictive treatment.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good place to to work in wagamama
Working us a kitchen assistant in wagamama restaurant was amazing, because the staff and all managers were friendly and helpful people and there were benefit share as well.
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun to work in
very nice to work in. busy and sometime stressful like any other job could be but nice and supportive people behind plus a good pay. i reccomend it for people with no exp
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
20 March 2020
hey!

thank you for leaving us this fantastic review - we're happy to hear that you're having a great experience working with us + we hope you continue to enjoy being a part of the family!


wagamama recruitment team :)
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly demanding but a rewarding company to work for.
During my time at Wagamama, I was pushed to be the best front of house waiter/bartender I could be. Unlike any other restaurant I've worked for, Wagamama have the highest standards in terms of their customer service through all of the homework you are required to do outside the restaurant, such as learning the number system of their menu and their online university course. Being part of a team that values excellence is a very rewarding experience as it pushes you to develop your skills.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
18 March 2020
hi there!

thank you for taking the time to leave us this brilliant review - we're so glad to hear that you had a great experience working with us and we really appreciate your kind comments


we wish you all the best with your future progression


wagamama recruitment team :)
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job for me
Been at Wagamama for 6 years and have no intention of leaving Any time soon. Everyone is like a family and I love it. My boss helps with my Rota to work round my children which is the best thing for me.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
16 March 2020
hey there,

thank you for leaving us a review, we're over the moon to hear that you feel like part of the family and are able to have a fantastic work/life balance. we hope you continue to love working with us for years to come


many thanks,

wagamama recruitment team
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and grow
having worked at wagamama for 5 years i was given amply opportunities to grow and develop.

challenging work environment when senior managers pick there favourites for advancement.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
12 March 2020
hi there,

thank you for leaving us this review, we're glad to hear that you were given some great development opportunities during your time working with us. we're sorry to hear that your experience with the management wasn't perfect. if you'd like to share some more information, please feel free to email hrqueries@wagamama.com about this so we can learn + improve


many thanks


wagamama recruitment team
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far too stressful
Overworked underpaid and undervalued

This isn’t a restaurant but a canteen where paying guests are rushed in and out in no time at all


Never enough staff on and those that are seem to care very little
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
13 March 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to leave this review. we're sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been perfect - however it’s important to us that we gather this information so we can find ways to learn + improve


please can you take a moment to send some further details to hrqueries@wagamama.com?


thanks again


wagamama recruitment team
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Teamwork
Working for Wagamama is excellent. They really take care of their employees and it is always fun. However, it is really fast-paced and sometimes it feels like the day never ends because the turn-over rate is so fast. Teamwork is essential and there are so many things to do all day long. The salary is minimal and f the tips were not included, no one would work there, as it is really physical and stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
12 March 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. we're happy to hear that your experience working with us has been great so far! if you'd like to provide some further details about the parts you're unhappy with, please feel free to email them over to hrqueries@wagamama.com so our team can find ways to improve + adapt


thanks again :)


wagamama recruitment team
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with plenty of opportunity for growth
Wagamama offers a range of opportunities for growth and development making it an exciting place to work. It is fast paced and the expectations are high so you need to ensure that you are ready to work hard but for people that are up for a challenge it is a very rewarding environment.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
4 March 2020
hey!

thank you for taking the time to leave this great 5 star review - we're really happy to hear that you've had a fantastic experience working with us + we wish you all the best with your future progression!


wagamama recruitment team :)
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
I've been treated really nasty from the GM since day 1 after all my hard work in the past year , build a team from scratch(I was lacking of managers and line chefs) they lied about me , for one simple mistake they made me pay (the gm was looking for that) , by the way if the hr department working like the investigation that do in Scotland guys don't bother let them know because they won't do nothing about it.
3 line chefs complaint about a chef manager shouting a them put them night shift and straight morning the day after (which it's illegal) the area manager said to one of this line chef that the manager was stress so he was allowed you to scream at you etc there is more and more
Pros
good food on break
Cons
they forget all the money you made them with your sacrifices(without get pay overtime)
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
3 March 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to leave us a review + for sharing this feedback with us. we're really sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience working with us


please can you send some further details over to hrqueries@wagamama.com so that we can look into this for you + find ways to improve?


thanks again


wagamama recruitment team
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away for your own sake
I spend a lot of time as wagamama employee, it almost feel like ages. Only because my collagues were so supportive and hard working.
The tips and salary is ok as well buuuut...

here comes the management team. My boss was harassing me, treating like a the worst, all my co-workers saw me crying several times. He pushed me so hard that I fall into depress. Now Im scared of pepole with a huge mental demage. The place is busy - i get it. But we were never treated like a human beings. More like a robots.

About hours....u think you will get a 35-40 hours per week as a full time? Thats a lie - your boss gonna cut your hours as much as he can ,cause he gonna get a bonus for that. Even if your contract say e.g 36 hours pw - you gonna get 25 and u should be greatfull cause "you didn't deserve for more"

Well....everything depends if general maneger likes you. If not - you are screwed cause A) u not gonna get a proper amont of hours B) your holidays and days off always gonna be declined and finally C) he gonna push u so hard that u gonna leave this place ASAP feeling like trash and crying like a baby. I saw so many time when people were almost FORCED to quit the job.....so well if u care about your self-esteem and mental healt stay away from this place. The money are not worth it, there is 351834 better places with friendly environment, where your employer gonna treat you with respect. Defianetly wagamama IS NOT ONE OF THEM!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
26 February 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. we're very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with the management team + that your time working with us wasn't enjoyable


please could you take a moment to send some further details over to hrqueries@wagamama.com, so we can look into this + find ways to improve?


we hope to hear from you soon


wagamama recruitment team
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work but Fun
Wagamama is a very well structured company that can open up opportunities. Their training system is second to none in the industry. However if you want to progress then you will be required to put quite a lot of your own time into the training.
Pros
Security and good training
Cons
Split Shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
25 February 2020
hey!

thanks for taking the time to leave this great review - we're so pleased to hear that you have been enjoying your experience! we wish you all the best with your future progression


wagamama recruitment team :)
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking useless management
Well despite being partnered with Mind the mental health charity, there’s no concept of understanding mental health issues in the work place. Management aren’t supportive well one in particular will just lose it
Pros
Excellent foh team members
Cons
Bad management, lack of understanding by management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
25 February 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. we're really sorry to hear that you haven't had a brilliant experience working with us - but we're grateful that you've provided this information so we can learn + improve


please can you take a moment to send some further details to hrqueries@wagamama.com?


hope to hear from you soon


wagamama recruitment team
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend if you have mental health problems
Very hard to shine and standout, considerable objective pressure all of the time, even if you are working the best you can. Very late nights sometimes and that’s because of apathetic work colleagues dithering about. The GM went crazy and kicked a box and got in my face swearing at me because I wouldn’t work 9 days in a row over Christmas and then gave me a disciplinary because I stood my ground I could legit go on forever about the amount of stuff they did to me but I’ve tried to let it go lol.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
24 February 2020
hi there,
thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. while we never like to hear that you have had a negative experience whilst working in one of our restaurants, it’s really important to us that we gather this information so we can do everything we can to learn + improve

please could you take a moment to send some further information to hrqueries@wagamama.com?


hope to hear from you soon


wagamama recruitment team
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many bad people and some of the managers were horrible
0 Empathy,if you want to earn money but you don’t care about anything else,working like a donkey till late hours and sweating for every single penny you earn ;this is your place
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
20 February 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. we're very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience


we would like to gather some further information in order to improve so could you please take a moment to send some more details to hrqueries@wagamama.com?


many thanks


wagamama recruitment team
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work role
The brand as a whole is an excellent, reputable brand that I was initially so excited to work for.

The company presents its self as a modern, forward thinking one that strives for better representation of mental health and well-being within the workplace.


However I soon realised that the team was managed by a toxic, cliquey group of FOH managers and ‘black belts’ that nearly all happened to have gained their professional status by already being friends outside of work.



As an outsider, joining the new team I was kept at arms length by management and was given the most basic of training; expected to perform like a well experienced team member with minimum guidance and consideration. was kept at arms length by management and was not encouraged to discuss my training and development in a healthy way.


Considering the company allegedly prides its self on mental health representation, I would suggest that as a FOH employee, mine was utterly discredited. Monitoring and feedback comments about my work performance were logged on the Wagamama internal HR system; most of which were personal opinions of inexperienced managers and lacked any sort of professional and guided feedback alluding to my performance.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from wagamama
20 February 2020
hi there,

thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. we're very sorry to hear that your experience with the management team wasn't enjoyable


we're always looking for ways to improve + adapt so if you could please send some more details to hrqueries@wagamama.com, our team will look into this further


many thanks


wagamama recruitment team