Vue Cinemas Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes!
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plymouth25 March 2018
Good place to work for, kept me active so amazing for my diet hahahaha absolutely loved it here very nice colleagues and managers, and free films sho who can complain
Pros
free films
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant
CINEMA OPERATIVE (Former Employee) –  Redditch19 March 2018
long hours available , slave labor, bad pay and 4 hour contracts when you decide to leave and give them notice they put you down to minimal hours. management are a bunch of teens
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing and fun and super benefits
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham22 February 2018
Best company I've worked for.
Other than a slightly poor salary
Fun place
THE BENEFITS!!!
40% off all food and drink, all the time.
Free tickets unlimited for yourself.
up to 3 tickets for friends per week.
work around any life things you have.
Pros
The benefits of the job
Cons
slightly poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok. Standard cinema job
Projectionist (Former Employee) –  Leeds12 February 2018
Be prepared for long hours. Usually until 3am fri and sat with the occasional weds. Pretty basic role. Repetitive. Doesnt really push you intellectually.
Pros
Free films
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford26 January 2018
it great place to work. it leave you with great experience although the hours can be improved. overall i recommend you to go there as nice experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
CUSTOMER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh11 January 2018
Fun place to work with because of your collegues where you also get free tickets and discounted food but there is a lot of favouritism when promotions are offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok i guess
Concessions Assistant (Current Employee) –  London25 December 2017
for the work done it doesnt pay very well and they give shifts on average around 4 hours long. this makes working there a challenge as 1 hour of work is normally how much it costs me to get there and back
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work (Torbay)
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torbay10 December 2017
A typical day involves either cleaning and checking screens or serving customers on tills. It is a very easy and enjoyable job. Both the management and the team are really great. It makes working there fun and creates brilliant team work. The hardest part of the job is the sometimes rude customers but colleagues and management are always there to help and resolve the situation. The most enjoyable part is the people you work with so when it is busy and there are lots of people working there's a great atmosphere. It's the same with staff meetings, social events, christmas parties etc. There are also perks of having free tickets, early exclusive staff screens and discount on food and drinks. Brilliant place to work, the only reason most people leave is because it doesn't pay enough/there aren't enough hours.
Pros
Fun. Great Team. Free Tickets + Discount
Cons
Not Enough Hours/Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall tiring
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Purley Way, Greater London8 December 2017
working within the cinema management require you to be flexible ie being able to clean, being able to be on till and serve customers, checking and re stocking stock . During busy times and when they are short staffed the pressure can be very overwhelming
Pros
free screening for yourself and limited tickets for friends and family each week
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, Lancashire15 November 2017
If you want a healthy job/life balance this isn't the place
Management are terrible.
Really bad pay
Unsociable hours, can end up working until 3am
Christmas is a nightmare
Pros
n/a
Cons
unsociable hours bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VUE PICCADILLY - 2years serving employee
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London14 November 2017
typical day at work .... Boring mornings picks ups during 5pm onwards

what i learned ... Nothing i already knew

Management ... Dis-jointed,Unorganised,Unfriendly,Rude,forgetful

workplace culture ... calm vibe easy going people, always new people because a lot of staff come and go very quickly.

the hardest part of the job .. is to put up with the team-leaders and managers attitude and poor lack of common sense. That being said its not rocket science its a very easy job selling popcorn and tickets.

most enjoyable part of the job ... not much to enjoy unless you have a day off and watch a free movie ;)
Pros
Free tickets
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chiswick, Greater London10 November 2017
Sending out reports
Reviewing P&L for line items
I have learned to communicate better in a work environment
Work place culture is a team environment
Have social team building events and team lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benifits but everything else pretty much sucks
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, Lancashire22 October 2017
The free tickets and 40% discount was great. However management will take away the free tickets over the smallest mistake. Management are very unfair on staff. Issues such as bullying and favouritism is another big problem with management. The job it self isn't difficult however you are expected to do a lot for such little pay. Also if you are not liked by the management team they will literary find anything that give them grounds to fire you.

When my time there finished I tried leave on a good note and was very polite "thanks of letting me work here. It was good while it lasted." Just to find out the management still try blame me for external problem that happen to the cinema. I also don't feel like I get the same respect as other customers when I go to watch a movie. It's ridiculous.

So If you are going to work here. One piece of advice, DON'T. But if you do best of luck, really.

P.s. staff tend to be nice it is literally the management they are just the worst and because they've done it all before and got away with it there is nothing you can do.
Pros
Staff tickets and discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company, bad management.
Customer Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Farnborough8 October 2017
I was treated badly by my mangers and told i was on a 12 hour contract, however, this was reduced to 4 without my awareness. I did not enjoy my time here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
CA (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 October 2017
Management will not honour the availability that you give.

4 hour contract, will suit them to give you 4 hours or 50 when they please.

High turnover of staff.
Pros
Free films
Cons
Poor management, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Greater London21 September 2017
The place was good to work at, there is always some thing to do while you are there. There are a lot of benefits working there as well so it was always fun to work at vue.
Pros
free cinema tickets
Cons
managers abusing their power
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Customer assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield18 September 2017
The place has a friendly environment and some good pros (free movies and food & drinks discounts) but some very bad cons if your looking hours (very short hours). They try to employ as many people (young age if preferable)
They also always add new things for more jobs to do but never remove things to make it easier for other staff
Pros
free movies and food & drink discounts
Cons
very short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds And Bradford15 September 2017
I recently joined this place its a good place you can get to know everyone so quickly and efficiently which is like being in a family and everyone respects your personal opinion
Pros
free movies
Cons
nowt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine for a part time job
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen14 September 2017
good hours, easy work, generally cleaning and till-point sales, training was not thorough but was all on the job and asking questions was easy as you were rarely left alone, and were almost always with other people at your level
Pros
really good concessions discounts and free films
Cons
late closes, very variable with business/quietness
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh13 September 2017
Worked for about 5 weeks part time and was still trying to get the hang of everything when was told to come in and fired there and then.
No warning no chance to improve and didn't make any major mistakes.
I've heard they hire many people for few hours so they can get the most out of minimum wage and not have to give breaks.
Pros
Free cinema tickets
Cons
Wages, management, lack of communication, treatment of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vue Cinemas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 151 reviews
525
439
336
225
126

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture