VSG Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your just a number
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Great Yarmouth, Norfolk9 July 2018
Having worked for these clowns for 2 months it was time to move on
No communication at all by any management whatsoever to see how things are and how you are getting on in the job
They only ring you went they want something
Avoid at all costs
Pros
Left alone
Cons
No communication from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disgrace
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 June 2018
poorest of the poor.Dont get in with this company.No respect of any of their staff as long as they get their money they dont care.It dont even matter how long you have been with them,you are treated like nobody and they can get rid of you at any time
Pros
where cant even find any
Cons
cant even count
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Harrogate25 May 2018
i was cleaning a shopping center , which included keeping the malls clean and tidy and cleaning the public toilets.I learnt how to use a compactor for the rubbish and a cardboard baler ,The hardest part of the job was the long hours that we sometimes had to work.
Pros
the job was close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing workload. Job security.
Screening Officer (Former Employee) –  Northamptonshire23 May 2018
Repetitive caseload and daily tasks. Individual team members managing their own roles supervised by a team leader. Daily KPI's and compliance to be strictly adhered too due to the nature of the contract and customers involved.
Pros
Managed your own caseload.
Cons
Strict compliance KPI's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Gateshead15 May 2018
Long hours experienced when working in the security environment. the culture amongst colleagues was second to none and everyone was willing to help one another. Different challenges were always an issue when dealing with such a high profile location and security items.
Different ways of getting around security always being thought of and invented posed a day to day challenge and risk to your workload.
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Unsteady shifts (vary from week to week at short notice)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for them
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire12 May 2018
If you want to wake up every morning before you go to work hating you're job then apply. Honestly hated every day so boring and full of BS pay was okay nothing special tho.
Pros
Okay pay
Cons
Constant BS
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I’ve ever worked for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth11 March 2018
The company is a disgrace. The pay was okay and they paid on time, management don’t care about the staff. If they want you to do overtime they will harass you twice a day every day until they get a response. They don’t listen to staff. Absolutely shocking company. I highly advise anyone seeking employment to avoid this company.
Pros
Decent pay and discount scheme
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many hours
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes5 March 2018
good place to work and colleagues were awesome but towards the end I was doing almost 3oo hrs a month cos there weren't enough people to cover shifts.
Pros
people
Cons
hours and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Receptionist Controller (Current Employee) –  Warden13 February 2018
Authorise building security clearance and access control
Responsible for master keys and key register
Issuing of new employee passes

Offer a warm and genuine welcome to anyone visiting the office
Register guests in the diary
Contact hosts and ensure guests are collected in a timely manner
Work closely with the Executive Office
Maintain stationery stocks for the reception
Logging facilities requests through the relevant channel
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Bromley-by-Bow, Greater London11 February 2018
Nice place to work, lovely atmosphere, polite colleagues and management, mixed shifts 3 days 3 nights and 3 days off..every day new challenges with people on site
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear5 February 2018
Manager's are hopeless, staff in office are absolutely rude. Wages are very low, deductions for breaks even though you don't actually get a break. Steer well clear of this bunch of charlatans
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A small number in a big machine
Relief Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 February 2018
Worked for vsg as a cover guard for over 7years on multiple sites.
Pros:
Always work available if you're willing to travel,
Some sites close to home,
Double time on bank holidays,
Online portal,
Gain security experience in retail.

Cons:
Univiting and backstabbing core officers,
Hostile environment,
Pay sometimes missing,
Uniform takes too long to arrive...had to buy own,
Nightshifts paid at same rate as day,
Not respected or appreciated just a body on site to be used,
Maximum stress....will eventually make you stressed,paranoid, aggressive and even depressed,
Monitored and mocked on CCTV and behind your back by co-workers & management staff,
Disturbed by control on your rest day via phone.
Added duties to shift routine some wasn't part of security job description....like cleaning duties......


I'd only recommend working for this company if you can get a local site otherwise the bad outweighs the good in my opinion.

Avoid the heartache and hassle and keep job hunting,
I genuinely worked at about two sites that was bearable the other sites was aweful at best.... constantly walking on eggshells in a toxic workplace, co-workers was backbiting and team morale was low.
Pros
Leaving not to return
Cons
Joining and being exploited
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, easy to use systems, great training and development opportunities
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  North West12 January 2018
I've worked for several security companies in my years of security, and VSG are by far the best I have worked for so far. Never any issues with pay, I can use the portal to set my availability and request holidays, I can request training and create development plans. My managers are always open to lend an ear and always try to support as best they can. Some of the other officers can be hard to work with but it's the same anywhere. The company benefits is great, money off all sorts. I save hundreds off my family holiday last year!
Pros
Do what they can for their officers
Cons
Other officers can be hard work and stuck in their ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
CONTROLLER, (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead6 January 2018
Team play was key and very critical to our daily operations, as I relied on every member of the team I assign to a role to perform for our overall success. As each role or assignment complements the other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice friendly staff
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire2 January 2018
Working for VSG was very good staff are very nice sites you work at are very friendly sites have all you need in there very clean gate houses hours are long and some times you have to work Christmas day and new years day but there well paid days all in all good to work for
Pros
nice place to work frendly staff
Cons
long hours and working christmas day
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset6 December 2017
Awfull management are terrible sometimes pay is wrong took one month to correct no one to talk to about stock ect 90% of the time then pay was not right about 4 or 5 times just a terrible company to work for
Pros
None
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Northampton8 November 2017
Good Company to work for as I went back again after moving back to Milton Keynes.

You are well looked after, and teams were great to work with.

Worked all aspects of Security with the company
Pros
Can go far
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employer
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent30 October 2017
i have worked with this employer for over 5 years and have enjoyed the variety of work that they have given me, but would like to progress up the career ladder and this company have given me the opportunity to do so.
Pros
great employer
Cons
not enough work in Kent
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad...
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Scotland22 October 2017
Thay are taking over prestige contracts by offering the most competetive prices and eventually turning them into a complete mess. Old fashioned cowboys are managing the business in Scotland who has no clue about business and employment relations.
Pros
*NATIONAL LIVING WAGE (mostly minimum wage)
Cons
*POOR MANAGEMENT (ex army, cops, bouncers etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cctv operator (Current Employee) –  Glenrothes, Fife5 October 2017
Good company to work for management are very helpful to assist with any problems would recommend this company to anyone looking for a good job and pleasant team
Pros
Decent pay and hours
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 16Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VSG. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 130 reviews
530
425
320
210
145

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.7Culture