Vets Now Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here so much!
Clinic Administrator (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes1 March 2018
a wonderful company to work for with strong community and wonderful staff. it is out of hours so weekends and nights required but always busy and always enjoyable.
i learned many things working here and progressed well over 18 months. if not for childcare arrangements i would have stayed on for longer!
managers are lovely, wages are reasonable but lots of responsibility for the animals in our care. highly recommend to any animal lovers or night owls looking for an interesting experience.
Pros
lovely people, shift work, good job satisfaction.
Cons
night work, can be upsetting when animals are hurt or pass away
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
RVN (Current Employee) –  Caterham, Surrey30 April 2017
lovely employers if you dont mind working long hours. management are very supportive and willing to help. great experience would recommend for any newly qualified nurses who want to increase their experience.
Pros
lots of cpd both online and in house training
Cons
long hours sole charge can be very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has changed over the years
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire17 April 2017
Company was good to work for at the beginning. Over time the company has lost that and has become more and more corporate caring more for the money they make then the service they give.
Staff are paid low wages but locums comes in on 6x the hourly rate to fill a shift last minute. Staff are actually leaving in order to become locums so they can earn more money!
Management varies clinic by clinic with some who are really supportive and others who do not have a clue.
At Southampton clinic the senior staff can be bullying especially to non clinical members of staff. They load more and more of their duties on to receptionists which should actually be done by the vets and nurses and then complain when day to day reception duties are not carried out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here.
Call Handler (Former Employee) –  Dunfermline10 August 2016
Good complany to work for, flexable and casual. I would definately recommend this company to others. Staff are lovely and helpful. Would go back if hours suited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Clinic
Vet (Former Employee) –  Southampton24 April 2016
Some clinics are nice with friendly staff. Others not so much with a lot of bullying.
Head Office are not aware of half the problems within the clinics. Senior staff are promoted with no experience of handle to manage teams.
Company relies on a lot of a locums and looks to just fill gaps rather than find people actually suitable for the job which means the care given is not always great as the locums do not have any firm of induction.
The receptionists get dumped on a lot and are treated poorly.

It's not all bad, if you have a decent team, good work can be achieved.
Pros
With the right team good work is done
Cons
Long hours, bullying colleagues, Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente
DISTRICT CLINICAL LEAD & SENIOR VETERINARY SURGEON (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, GB20 August 2015
Ha sido una experiencia excelente para mi el haber trabajado para esta empresa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 41Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good job gets me money that i need
cleaner (Current Employee) –  swindon10 February 2014
i would start by hoovering floors and when i have done all that i would mop them all and refill tissue soap and toilet roll then i would bleach the toilet change bins then leave go home i have learned how to keep a work place clean to a high standard there is always managements around if i need to ask for equipment and they keep a eye on me to make sure i do my job right my co workers are helpful and kind the most enjoyable part is that i am mostly independent and go at my speed
Pros
free drink and food
Cons
not long enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 39Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sincerely caring, rewarding whilst still being enjoyable.
Receptionist / Nurse (Former Employee) –  Medway22 November 2012
This was an emergency vets so shifts are OOHs weekends and bank holidays.

Take on clients from many other vets in the area that are in need veterinary assistance after their own practices are closed.
This is one of the hardest parts of the job as it can become extremely busy with the practice covering such a large area so ability to prioritise cases and clients is essential.

The most enjoyable part of this job is providing a sympathetic, caring and friendly service whilst still being reassuringly knowledgeable so the client is confident their pets will get 100% of care despite not having any previous relationships as they would have with their local Vets.

Staff and all associates of this employment were fully supportive towards every member of the team. They are also highly skilled and knowledgeable whilst being caring and sincere.
Pros
insightful and inspiring staff
Cons
emergency vets so nights and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 112No 21Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vets Now. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
56
41
30
22
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.6Culture