Vertu Motors plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woefully poor upper management structure
Parts supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ford Kings Norton23 September 2018
Total lack of appreciation towards staff. Car sales orientated, aftersales is held in very low regard.

Staff relations are a joke. Management will try and force staff into specific agreements, while own hr will disagree.

Bonus is non existent for service advisors and the majority of technicians on many sites.

If you decide to work there, take the experience and move on to a more professional group.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused Business
Business & Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Worcestershire - Gloucestershire13 June 2018
Account management, prospecting for new incremental and conquest business. Reason for returning failed to materialise as the company did not proceed with a planned acquisition which directly affected my career path. Hardest part of the job was the inconsistencies with management and colleagues abilities and reliability. Most enjoyable was concluding the deal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire8 March 2018
Results orientated good rewards for high achievers and must have a can do attitude

KPI Management a must to succeed

Excellent Training and Development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Gloucester16 February 2018
Have worked for Vertu for a number of years now and the daily workload has increased however so has the stress levels but sadly the salary is shrinking.
Vertu has big ambitions but sadly does not have the infrastructure to fulfill these currently.
Staff are constantly micromanaged and too many people get paid to do a sub standard job in my opinion making everything harder work than it should be.
Pros
Very unlikely to lose your position
Cons
Have to tolerate too many inconsistencies
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good worklife balance
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands9 February 2018
Good company to work for with added benefits
Good team and management in place.
Good training put in place
Very helpful staff and always happy to help
With any enquires
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Bromwich Ford
Aftersales Manager (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands9 February 2018
This is a brilliant company to work for, there is plenty of opportunities to progress within the company to management level with their excellent in house training program.
I would recommend anyone I know to work for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
sales executive (Current Employee) –  newcastle vauxhall5 November 2017
long hours but good people to work with, far to much prospecting in this place of work. always on your back and so quick to put you down, but as quick to praise anything good.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un proffession and racist
Service (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex22 September 2017
Poor management. Rude and totally un professional staff. Mood swings from management, job descriptions not what you actually do. Bitchyness behaviour and back stabbing. Racist comments from staff. No team work and no support from senior staff
Pros
Cheap cars
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best in the motor trade
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire28 August 2017
It's a very good company to work, flexible and provides a high level of training for newcomers.

Potential to progress in management is there as well.
Pros
Good training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous Place
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  JLR Leeds7 May 2017
Made to work well past closing time, horrific management style, use a stick... no carrotts. Treat you like idiots..... Enforced to hand over defective cars below manufacturer standards. Please don't even consider working here.
Pros
None.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, lots of work
Service Adviser (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire29 April 2017
Vertu is a good company to work for, with good management & organisation - however be prepared to do a normal days work plus more. You will always be expected to do over and above
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
IT Helpdesk apprentice (Former Employee) –  Birmingham26 April 2017
I worked in the IT helpdesk, there's far too many things to list but a typical day would be dealing with tickets and troubleshooting issues, I learned a huge amount while I worked there to do with computer systems and problem solving while being supported by great managers and a friendly team, the workplace culture was great, it was relaxed enough to not stress you out but not so much that you're inclined to idle, the hardest part was figuring out how to use new systems and the most enjoyable part was how much I learned while I was there.
Pros
Friendly co-workers, variety of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked, micro chipped zombies
Service Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Northwest23 March 2017
The workplace is cosmetically a nice environment with decen t facilities, however the workload due to understaffing and the extreme expectations for employees to take up the slack of the lack of staff, means very long working hours. No time to take holidays, resulting in you loosing them at the end of the year.
You are required to do everything perfectly, no exceptions even though you are doing 2 or 3 roles. No praise, just criticism.
No career progression for women, 99% of management are men
Who make impractical decisions without thinking them through, then when they don't work out the staff are left to unravel the mess.
Basically it is a plc who are only interested increasing profit year on year, whilst reducing costs, at the expense of the employees.
Shareholders are the only thought in their heads.
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Very long hours, no recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear20 March 2017
Friendly place to work, busy at times but all people pull together to help.lots of company benefits.A great company to develop your skills and gain support for this.
Pros
Canteen
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked for a long time
Other Experience (Current Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear9 March 2017
I've only been here a few months but thoroughly enjoy working for Vertu Motors Plc. Having worked in different environments over recent years, this is definitely the best.

The management team are friendly and approachable (as they should be).

The team I work with are really friendly yet professional and provide support and guidance where needed. The hours can be long but the days go quickly as you are always busy.

Staff are encouraged to develop and progress within the business and this is also noted even at CEO level.The company recognise and reward staff for going the extra mile and for living the company values on a regular basis.

Communication is really good but sometimes it can be over-bearing and you're given too much information which doesn't relate to your department.
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
Uniform when not customer facing & salary/benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran well
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire7 March 2017
Really enjoyed my time at vertu motors, was worked hard but that's how I like my working day to go. Pay really well, good work life balance. Also good progression in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for Development
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Head Office7 March 2017
The company believes in training and development. If you want a career and not just a job - this is the perfect company.

Head Office is a great environment - with dress down days on fridays and frequent activites for charities etc. You do get asked to work hard but why wouldn't you.
Pros
Progression
Cons
Uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked!!!
Assistant Accountant (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex11 January 2017
Worked for Vertu for 5 years, worst 5 years of my working life!!! Awful management, unsupportive bosses and nasty and b!*<%y working environment. I had a boss with a vile temper and acted totally unprofessionally!!! If you think it's just odd sites which are poorly managed it's not. I've worked for 3 all awful and the same dreadful attitude from managers. Salesman are no where to be seen and are constantly on their mobiles!!! Wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy!!! Didn't make any attempt to keep me when I left. Rubbish payers no such thing as a pay rise despite massive profits and no real incentives either!!
Pros
Some nice staff who they have totally abused for years
Cons
Far too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Sales Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mansfield, Nottinghamshire4 January 2017
Vertu is a great company to work for, the people are great and the opportunities you get are really good as well. there is plenty of help and support available within group and different sites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous place to work
Admin (Former Employee) –  Scotland20 December 2016
I worked in an admin role here for under a year and it was the worst time of my life!
Huge work loads and not enough staff! I was bullied by management and made to feel incompetent. The manager I had had little to no understanding of family life outside work and would remind you that work was more important (after being told not to talk about family at work)management had unrealistic expectations of what was physically possible for one person to do and called me a liar on more than one occasion. I was constantly denied holidays and was eventually told when was suitable for me to take holidays.

If you sign a contract to work for vertu motors you are practically signing your life away!! You will be over worked and underpaid.
Pros
None
Cons
Not allowed to talk, negative managers, constant procedural changes, every department for themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vertu Motors plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 41 reviews
514
44
37
22
114

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture