Veolia Employee Reviews

Found 361 reviews matching the search See all 2,326 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  UK17 January 2019
Poor quality employer. Doesn't support employees or help them. Pays very low, and leaves staff on franchise site to be paid even worse. Drivers treated badly too.
Pros
free stuff
Cons
dreadful management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A business which doesn't understand engineering
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire15 January 2019
Management with no engineering background and no appreciation for the field of engineering in a chemical industry. Money driven and therefore short term vision and no long term outlook.

gained valuable experience, however, fighting against management that don't understand teamwork and often overlook the need for proper engineering.

hardest part of the job is not having support to carry out duties efficiently. (This is an understatement)

Culture is very archaic, there is no cross-departmental teamwork, very much work for themselves and not as a team. Management don't have clear direction for the actual process itself. A chemical plant that is being pushed to run as a mechanical site.
Pros
Experience gained was very good, but future is bleak for engineering
Cons
money driven and work is severely undervalued
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slavery/Harrassment
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Rainham, Greater London9 January 2019
You heard right & poor conditions. They let mentally challenged people work here with clear disabilities/mental problems. The managers harass you & lean against you when you pick rubbish up in the back rooms where no one can see..
Pros
NO pros.. Nothing good about this place unless your homeless and need work in a dirty environment.
Cons
Long hours. Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fleetwood depot needs new management
Loader (Former Employee) –  Fleetwood, Lancashire9 January 2019
Worked in fleetwood the bosses ain't up to much , the wagons are falling apart and you spend a lot of the time sorting the back end out , if u pick up an injury they'll get rid , if your mum dies they want a death certificate to prove that you ain't lying in fact the best part about it was the lads I was working with out on the road. Avoid at all costs untill someone comes and takes over themy bosses
Pros
Gd bunch of lads
Cons
Bad bosses, proving with death certificate and trucks are dieing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy atmosphere to worlwithin.
Workshop Technician (Current Employee) –  Near Cardiff7 January 2019
The type of work is varied, the management is professional, the team of engineers is very supportive and pleasant, the hardest part of the job is the unsociable hours and shift change over periods. Roy.
Pros
The company takes care of you.
Cons
Unsociable working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Street Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent3 January 2019
Treat you like dirt management is stupid not got a clue give you to much to do in a day then moan that it not good expect to to know where every bin is when thay don't tell you
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good company to work for
Chargehand/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bromley21 December 2018
the company is very good at ensuring health and safety is looked after. the work place has a family environment and the employees support each other. i have learned a lot about the waste industry. the hardest part of the job is having to tell workers they are no longer needed. the most enjoyable part of the job is when i see someone i have trained get their licence to drive the Plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable
Fleet Administrator (Current Employee) –  Totton22 November 2018
A good company to work for as a whole, lots of training available and support. Little opportunity to progress in my current role. Could improve on team building and showing value for staff.
Pros
Good hours, Training
Cons
Progression & staff value
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible bullying and unfriendly place
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 November 2018
-Rubbish progression, you have to work like an animal
- Some people get away working 8 hours
most people work 12 hours +
Don't work here if you need any training.

People are treated like cr*p especially in waste to energy business. They actually don't care, but pretend to care.
Pros
some co workers are nice
Cons
work was terrible, surrounded by incompetence
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
lorry driver class 2 (Former Employee) –  London1 November 2018
I worked with good people, the work was hard, but we finished early , freedom to take any vacation at any time,the trucks were fantastic, one that spoil from time to time
Pros
early finish
Cons
not good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very nice place to work
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Grangemouth28 October 2018
Working for veolia was horrible to be blunt. Long hours, poor facilities, inept management, low moral, no company benefits, sometimes a dangerous place to work i.e working with dangerous chemicals, biohazardous material with improper PPE.
Pros
Not minimum wage
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Health and Safety Assistant (Former Employee) –  London27 October 2018
They really push you to develop and train. It is a good company to work for although there was little scope for progression in my role. I learnt a lot, took on a lot of responsibility and developed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management need complete overhaul
driver/operator (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth, Bristol12 October 2018
The place is as sour as you can get.
Your so called workmates will stitch you up any chance they get, some are clearly favoured and never do extra work and get away with vehicle damages, speeding etc, management are appalling at their job and will suspend or sack for the smallest of things, not approachable, will blame you for their mistakes and make a point of it
No job satisfaction at all, the fleet is old and break down constantly, management have no idea how to do the job, 1 in particular is on a major power trip, routes are not thought out, they WILL NOT consult the drivers about anything, you can not approach them with any issues you may have, deliberately keep you in longer than needed.
They have on-board computers on trucks yet still give you the paperwork which is the same and must be completed, sent out blind on routes with bad instructions for locations, risk assessments are done by reps who clearly have no idea potentially putting drivers/operators at risk
The site is poor and have no regards for safety of your personal vehicles, nails are all over the road leading to the car park but you going on site is at your own risk
Pros
Pay
Cons
everything else, literally
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues, poor career progression
Assistant (Former Employee) –  London9 October 2018
Head Office Review

-Serious biased towards french colleagues for career progression

-Poor prospects if you are wanting to change your role to work in a different area

- Some corrupt practices with recruitment/ HR

-Excessive spending in management for non essentials, money that could be paid as bonuses or better salaries

-No bonus's available to many staff/ no goal or career progression planning

- I worked in 4 teams while i was with the company, one was extremely unpleasant environment with a lot of gossip, another however had a great team attitude and great training.

- lack of consistency and policy for different teams. I.e. one team would get a lot of team training whereas another wouldn't

- I wanted to move into a different department, there was a vacancy for a role on a much lower level and salary than mine but I wanted a career change. I was told by the manager recruiting 'you don't have the experience/' This put me off applying. Ironically I managed to get a similar but higher paid more senior job with another company and was later contacted by a recruiter trying to put me forward for an interview in that team in a more senior job! I said no thanks
Pros
Free lunches some nice colleagues
Cons
Overworked, long house, corruption, no bonus unless senior, bias towards management development
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks loyalty
Driver/Loader (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire8 October 2018
I worked for veolia Portsmouth for 29 years only to be sacked on ill health grounds I appealed only to be kept waiting for 6 months and be told the it stands I think this was a deliberate ploy by management so that it would be too late for me to go to an employment tribunal. Stay away from Portsmouth depot.
Pros
Work with some good guys
Cons
Bad management favouritism to certain drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  London6 October 2018
good place of work
friendly management
great work place culture
worst part is working in bad weather
best part is job and finish
i learned good team skills
Pros
job and finish competitive pay
Cons
working in bad weather conditions can lead to long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring job and bad management
Recycling Operative (Former Employee) –  Alton, Hampshire4 October 2018
you could be dieing and they would still expect you to come into work. There is a lack of care for workers health and safety and all the management care about is getting the work out not caring about the quality. The pay is poor and the workers are treated unfair. In the summer you are stood in a metal box without any water or air con. Somebody passed out because of the working conditions.
Pros
none
Cons
money, work, management, breaks, health risks
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor market place image - Poor culture and leadership.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom25 September 2018
Veolia Hull are a shell of the business they used to be and the cracks are spreading across what remains. Managers at the helm are simply not good enough.
If you have any morals and want to make a difference .... stay well away!
Pros
N/a
Cons
Long hours..no support..poor leadership.. poor safety practices..
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Site Electrical team Leader / Authorising Engineer (Former Employee) –  Macclesfield, Cheshire25 September 2018
Good company not bad money as they are contractors I worked at Macclesfield Astra Zeneca sites and enjoyed my time there
I found the management very good and reasonable had no issues with them it was more the travel time I could influence the company on High voltage safety
Pros
good level of service
Cons
no control over hours worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
People Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  UK18 September 2018
This company has developed me from the ground up in work experience as well as education.

I could not be more grateful to this company, they gave me the foundation to be able to gain more in my career.
Pros
Education
Cons
Progression
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Veolia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,329 reviews
5607
4801
3543
2209
1169

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture