Vans Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 1,125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brand but limited progression and low salary
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham16 September 2018
A great place to work with a relaxed and fun atmosphere to the team. Management work well however not all aspects are clear regarding training and other procedures. Potential for covering other stores but limited progression at the company due to the tendency to employee external candidates for management roles. Low salary based on age not ability, however great personal discount to use in many brands owned by VF corporation. Good balance between working hours and social time which can be changed to suit your availability but operate on low hour contracts. Would recommend the brand to people looking for part time work or students in sales associate roles and management positions with competant knowledge of retail.
Pros
Great working atmosphere and staff discount
Cons
Poor progression opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  North West27 July 2018
great product information available to provide to customers
opportunity for career advancement and skill development
needs development on staff initiatives and incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 April 2018
During the first week, it was quite fun sometimes as everything seemed so new and 'fresh' but once the second week began, things became extremely repetitive and boring as i felt i had learned everything and was being made to do the same exact things everyday. Co-workers were friendly though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 February 2018
i actually really enjoyed working for Vans, i had a slight issue with a member of management at the time of my notice period but otherwise no issues with management.
Vans is a minimum wage retail company for sales assistants but the perks of the company are great, i would definitely recommend working for the company as a whole very friendly family orientated company.

I left due to having an opportunity to move up north with my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carnaby street25 January 2018
Best people to work with, just not paid enough to be working in central london where the cost to get there is ridiculous, I wish I lived closer and if so I would still work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Experienced Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Cardiff City3 January 2018
It’s a good place to work but the hours are long and you have to work a lot of overtime. It was hard for me because I lived around 15 miles away from home so travelling was a nightmare when they called me up last minute to cover a shift.
Pros
Good staff members
Cons
A lot of over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manager of the company, His a very good manager and helpfull
General Duties and Driver (Current Employee) –  Watford3 January 2018
Typical day at work we sales around about 85 vans a month so each day at work is busy day for the whole team and that's make the day enjoyable.
We learned a lot from each order because mechanical we have to fix any problems with the vans.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 November 2017
A fun retail workplace serving shoes to customers and getting large percentage of family and get to hear interesting storys day to day due to vans' interactive serving scheme.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Weekly shifts given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh2 November 2017
People are great to work with, management could be better as hours are meant to be flexible but sadly I didn't find it worked like that for me also kind of lets down what the brand is meant to be about (losing the roots of what made it "vans")
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Not flexible with hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect as job during Uni period, but not to seriously grow up.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Camden Town Station18 September 2017
Pay rate is the minimum, your efforts in store are not gonna be well rewarded. Specifically in my case, in which I have been managing the whole stockroom for month, with managing task in a 7,50£ per hour pay rate. Bank holidays? In Vans they doesn't exist.
Staff is obviously the best part of the job, people here are experts about what the sell and we all have true passion for Vans product.
Management offers flexible shifts, that's why it could be a perfect job while studying. Regarding the growth in the company: is difficult because the store is not that big and the manager's due is already settle in a way in which not lot of supervising stuff is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and chill environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camden Town, Greater London10 August 2017
Vans was a place of skaters to have a family and to connect to people . The job had amazing benefits including 50% off and the workers were nice and chill and made friends quickly. Good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and encouraging place to work
Product expert (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset31 July 2017
Although retail doesn't appeal to me for a career, this is a great part time job where I love my colleagues and the products I sell. Would recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
Great products
Cons
Retail environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Waitress - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent31 July 2017
this isn't a business anymore so there isn't any need for me to review it, so I don't really know what to put in this section but I cant seem to skio it,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo distendido
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London25 July 2017
Ambiente genial con los compañeros e incluso el trato con los clientes era mucho más relajado. Una vez más la pasión por la marca a la que representas juega un papel crucial.
Pros
Descuentos, ambiente
Cons
Ubicación de alguna de las tiendas a cubrir
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright job good vibe
sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camden, UK3 March 2017
it was alright. the vibe was nice instore. loads of tourists, okay pace of customers. overall an okay place to work
management was a little bit stereotypical
culture is skateboarders, and all sorts who want vans
best part is selling add ons
worst is closn up (have to mop and etc)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  melbourne13 January 2017
Fast paced footwear business, involved high energy and this translated into the team. Which made everyday a joy to come to work, anything negative was easily overridden by the fun team.
Pros
great team
Cons
inconsistent rostering
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  London26 August 2016
Most of the staff working there were unhappy. Over-worked and under paid. The pay was pretty low for working in Central London. The management were pretty rude and unhelpful.
Pros
Discount across multiple brands
Cons
Rude Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first time job.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swindon20 August 2016
I personally found my self not enjoying working for Vans as a company due to constant changes of management and targets.

I found the most enjoyable part of the job role was actually having a conversation to the customers and learning about what they require, even if we did not sell the particular products i could give them advice where to find it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The corporate side of the business is taking over!!! (Owned & controlled by VF)
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester13 June 2016
This used to be a cool place to work, but it's slowly going down hill!

VF the owners of VANS constantly breath down your neck!

Watch out for the HR team, they make the rules up as they go!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agreable
Conseiller de vente (Former Employee) –  London18 April 2016
Emploi a mi-temps .
Arrive au magasin vers 11h .
Rapide briefing avec le responsable magasin ou manager puis il m'attribue un poste pour 6h .
Pouvant etre la caisse ou lavant du magasin .
Pros
Reduction sur cetains produits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vans. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,125 reviews
5518
4348
3184
250
125

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.3Culture