University of Wolverhampton Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 88 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
CRM DAta and Information Administrator (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands25 February 2019
Gained valuable experience within Business Development and
Partnerships using Goldmine CRM systems.

Working with

Loan funding and grant funding Streams. Workshops and expos.
Pros
Free Car Park
Cons
Ftc
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Lecurer
Course leader & Manager of Partnerships (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton4 February 2019
Very poor management and lack of progression. Senior management do not listen to employees. Most enjoyable part is working with students. Hardest part i all the extra tasks with no training e.g. marketing and sales
Pros
working on own initiative
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton10 January 2019
working as a student ambassador has change so many things for me, it has given me the ability to get over my fear of public speaking, every event is different and you get to meet different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive diversity culture
IT Innovation Consultant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton8 January 2019
range of employee benefits, flexible working opportunities, range of personal development and training opportunities available, positive diversity culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Open day helper (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton20 December 2018
Key responsibilities:
• Achieved four out of five revenue targets, equating to over 150% against overall targets set during entire period of employment.
• Personally billed over £25,000 since starting position.
• Demonstrated resilience and ability to upsell products, consistently meeting KPIs set for adding more value to sales.
• Significantly improved negotiation skills, regularly converting customers from point of enquiry to sale, something which earned me Sales Assistant of the period during the month of June.
Pros
flexible in working times, days and holidays
Cons
difficult to progress
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Student Mentor (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, UK18 December 2018
Working as a mentor for students and external children. Taught me communication skills. I dealt with issues that I would solve and take to meetings. The management where supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
caretaker (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands1 December 2018
Don't touch this place with a barge pole culture of workplace bullying and corruption you report problems and things are covered up. You are watching your back all the time promotion only given to people who creep around the manager interviews rigged the outcome is a foregone conclusion high levels of work place stress and sickness this place has the kiss of death on it all the decent people have been driven out by bullying managers .The best outcome for this place is that it goes bankrupt too many high paid managers who are incompetent and run the place in to the ground staff morale at a rock bottom low.
Pros
none
Cons
stress, bullying, corruption, horrible work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture
Workshop Assistant/Examination Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton1 October 2018
GOOD PLACE TO WORK AND AN INCLUSIVE CULTURE, ENCOURAGING FLEXIBILITY, Shows a sincere interest in employees and the solutions to their problems, Lends support and guidance to employees, Uses sound coaching techniques to solve disciplinary problems and Provides continuous coaching
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was university
Student (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands23 September 2018
i was a student at the university studying business management. amazing learning experience and friendly staff. Also building were easy to find,such as room numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here avoid at all costs
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton11 September 2018
Used to be a good job pay decent for what you do tried in the past to progess but got denied time and again as campus ops manager played favourites with his mates didn't matter they were rubbish at the job he protected them and they protected him and the workers got dumped on. Heard its only got worse . Avoid this place at all costs glad to be retired and out of it
Pros
Annual leave and sickness pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great role
Head (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands27 August 2018
The role was challenging. Workplace culture not that great.
Colleagues not very professional. Too much focus on events. Not very strategic in terms of approach to events.
Less interest given to inviting key people that could be influential to organisation.
Pros
Visionary Vice Chancellor
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Counselling Services Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton17 July 2018
good place to work, flexible working, great location right in city centre, great staff members, east to commute to, east to get along with most of the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
but good
Care Assistant (work experience) (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton16 April 2018
Love the management to this program. they were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. the cool kids program was vert challenging but very rewarding to help wit.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands14 January 2018
there is no same working day as every day brings something different and i learnt many transferrable skills. a fast- paced, fun, productive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Disability Adviser (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton1 November 2017
I have learnt so much. The work is very challenging but rewarding and varied. Staff are friendly and helpful. There's always lots of interesting things happening on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job but institutional problems
Part time peer support assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton23 October 2017
Looking after students is a great job, whatever role or capacity it is in, however a great deal of frustration on my part as the institutional failings made the job much harder than it should have been. I needed a regular room or space to see students but this proved almost impossible, therefore I always worried that students would not be able to locate me - I felt that it was an underrated and underdeveloped role. In terms of management, the first contact management was excellent, caring about the role and those undertaking it but it was not consistent higher up the food chain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well devised courses for overseas students
Head of Admissions (Former Employee) –  London11 September 2017
Birmingham college offers several diploma and post graduate diploma in Management and IT areas.

The college is a part of University of Wolverhampton.

The management and team were hard working and used to work as a well oiled unit.

The offered tremendous support for the marketing and promotional activities in India, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Bangladesh.
Pros
Professionals
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Opportunities
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands16 August 2017
A good employer, salaries are often not as high as those in a commercial environment. Opportunities and security is good. Some roles offer flexi time.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
working with academics
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning environment
Student Nurse (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton7 August 2017
equipped me with theoretical skills that I needed as a student nurse in order to work within the nursing guidelines provided by the Nursing and Midwifery Council 2015.
Pros
good theory lessons
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student - so not much to write
Student (Current Employee) –  Walsall4 August 2017
Currently a student at the institution so i cannot write much in terms of employment but I have had many wonderful and enriching opportunities with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Wolverhampton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 88 reviews
543
428
312
22
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

University of Wolverhampton Reviews by Location