University of Ulster Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace
Student (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 January 2019
Good reputable company. Good working hours. Need car due to location. Management good. Workers good to work with. Training available. Consistent work.
Pros
Consistent work
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student review
Engineering Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Jordanstown23 November 2018
-staff are typically fast at responding to problems
-general good systems set up
-3 hour lectures are too long to stay in focus
-water fondant near/in library needed
Pros
loads of study areas
Cons
library opens too late in mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace and friendly staff
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry24 October 2018
Friendly staff and very supportive when learning new tasks such as operating telephone helplines lines for A-level students and when assisting with events like graduation as they provide training days prior to commencing the events.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
There is no free parking for volunteers which can be pricey
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coleraine, county Derry4 July 2018
I worked as a part time job while studying, it was a great workforce and never had the feeling of dreading going to work!

When something came up last minute staff always tried to accommodate needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
Creative Designer (Former Employee) –  Jordanstown21 June 2018
Very friendly people, relax and productive environment. Every day was enjoyable and I learnt many new skills while working there. Everyone was clear on their roles and worked hard for each other.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uuj
Sous Chef (function chef) (Former Employee) –  Belfast19 June 2018
the university of ulster Jordanstown is a great institution with fantastic opportunitys and a great outlook on working life balance with a very professional outlook
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, friendly and encouraging staff and atmosphere
Postgraduate Demonstrator (Current Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry21 April 2018
As a postgraduate demonstrator I've thoroughly enjoyed the opportunities available to me. Staff are wonderfully supportive and encouraging, they have helped me to grow and develop in my career providing invaluable feedback throughout.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
MBA Student Representative (Former Employee) –  London22 February 2018
Lack of professionalism and tendency to take no measurements what so ever to improve the campus life, and most important students experience who are studying and would like to gain knowledge.
Pros
diverse background
Cons
small lunch area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Student Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Belfast5 February 2018
A typical day included meeting with student and helping them with their daily activities within a university setting. I learned a lot about about caring for people, patience and using my own initiative.
Pros
Rewarding, relaxed and good income
Cons
unreliable job, you only have work while student is in university
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
licensed operative (Former Employee) –  Newtownabbey1 January 2018
worked for sub contractor in the university. Working in the university gave me experience in other jobs that I didn't have enough experience to apply for previously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Estudios universitarios
Estudiante (Former Employee) –  County Londonderry12 December 2017
Estudios en filología hispánica, muy complementario con mi carrera profesional
Pros
Muy necesario
Cons
Lejanía
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
PhD student (Former Employee) –  Derry, County Londonderry27 November 2017
The environment at Ulster University was welcoming and productive, with a real team feel. I worked with colleagues who were supportive, and received top quality supervision from the management team there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great way to communicate with others
Intern for Fintan Mulholland the knitwear designer (Former Employee) –  Belfast27 November 2017
It was great to work at Knit departmebt as I was able to show my skills to teach others and show around the place to the new students. The challenge was to make sure everyone understood the techniques. Altought I have enjoyed helping others with learning new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge in materials engineering
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Jordanstown14 September 2017
Great university to work for, at the forefront of mechanical engineering disciplines; materials engineering, biomedical engineering and computing. Good work culture and environment.
Pros
Diverse workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for real life
Residential Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derry14 August 2017
I was able to gain skills as i worked and qualification. The job also allowed me to study and work at the same time and they appreciated that my studies came before my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful University
Ph.D. Student (Former Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry14 July 2017
I loved my course at Ulster University. The staff and lecturers and fellow graduate students are friendly and extremely helpful. My only critiques originate as a result of budget cuts that occurred the past couple years. A large number of staff and lectures had to be let go and it made things more difficult in terms of teaching hours, grant writing/collaboration/research funding, and time for mentoring from supervisors. I would still recommend this university but students would need to be self-motivated and independent.
Pros
Amazing staff, wonderful location
Cons
Funding cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Newtownabbey27 June 2017
the whole team is great and loved every minute of it. there management was brilliant and the training was brilliant couldn't pick one thing wrong with it
Pros
long lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employed for 25 years
Clerical (Current Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry29 March 2017
Training and progression ceased in current role. Varied role and busy office.

Staff morale has dipped and employees find it difficult to become motivated.
Pros
Good employer
Cons
Uncertain future within HE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good place but not equal opportunity given to those other people
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry12 February 2017
I only worked there temporarily for 6 months. My manager was nice but the other co workers they weren't nice to me. They were always making silly things and were lauphing creazily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Student (Former Employee) –  Derry5 September 2016
With many different courses to be taught at Ulster University, you have a wide range of choices. Each course teaches you great detail in whatever subject you choose.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Ulster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 47 reviews
525
414
36
21
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture