UNIVERSITY OF SURREY Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
STUDENT AMBASSADOR (Former Employee) –  Guildford15 May 2018
Good communication with managers, great environment. The tasks were straightforward and the management was very helpful. Worked with my fellow students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions
Admissions and Recruitment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Surrey7 May 2018
Great company to work for. Work life balance are respected and even encouraged. Salary and benefits are fair. Jobs seem secure. Challenges regarding advancement. Managment are kind and understanding but also push you to do your best
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely team
Administrator Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Surrey5 February 2018
I enjoyed working at the University of Surrey. Nice team
The learning environment encouraged me to enrol on a Open University course which I enjoyed very much
Cons
the job was made reduntant
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Language assistant and translator
Language assiastant (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey2 November 2017
When I was working there I used to translate English texts to Spanish and from Spanish to English too, I also proofread Spanish and Catalan texts. In this case texts were generally specialized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey21 September 2017
Easy work as it's in my daily environment, therefore i know all the staff and the my co-workers. The hours are flexible and i am called in whenever i am needed, therefore i am normally able to make all sessions.
Pros
familiar environment, good pay, friendly co workers
Cons
unprofessional supervison at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun and the senior are helpful
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Surrey27 August 2017
It was nice and I really enjoy it.
The seniors are kind and helpful, especially when it comes to something that I never done before.
I previously do not have any work experience, so with their help... I studied a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience at this University
Student (Former Employee) –  Surrey31 July 2017
University of Surrey has given me the required skills to go forward in life and achieve the ambitious targets I have set for myself. In addition I have formed life long relationships here and can not speak highly enough of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely working in environment with great benefits
Housing Advice Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey25 July 2017
The university offers a diverse environment with great training and holiday benefits.

Working with various departments throughout the university there is opportunity for movement throughout different faculties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and challenging workplace
Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (Current Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey28 June 2017
challenging, vibrant, inclusive supportive workplace culture
great at developing people. The hardest part of my job is that it is 24/7 and not much funding.
the most enjoyable is that it is international
Pros
flexible working, great annual leave
Cons
too slow to change the cuture when change is needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
IT Procurement and Admin. Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey9 May 2017
Very good place to work. Good work/life balance. Healthy environment. My apologies, I don't enjoy writing reviews, especially when I must. However, it is worth saying that it is a very good workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed it
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Surrey24 April 2017
Loved working the open days. It gets me pumped about my course, reminds me why I love it and I get to meet new people. Hopefully I can work more before I leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced work environment
UK/EU Student Recruitment Officer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, UK20 April 2017
Surrey is a brilliant University and is doing very well in the league tables; this makes for a fast paced working environment. Expectations are high and I believe you are valued as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Flexible
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey6 March 2017
Working as an ambassador at the uni is flexible and helps build character through communication and teamwork. It is also a great way to learn customer service and give back to the uni.
Pros
great pay
Cons
shifts are not frequent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stdent nurse
Full time student nurse (Former Employee) –  Guildford15 December 2016
Learnt a lot at this university but the job itself was not for me but would make a brilliant career for others, university was supportive
Pros
structered
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guildford6 November 2016
A problem shared is a problem halved. Talk to us about what triggers stress in your workplace. Let us help you love your Monday mornings.Attracts down to earth and friendly people to work with but it isn't always for everybody. Great teamwork culture, and also looks after valuable staff well.
Pros
safe environment
Cons
long walk from station
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middleing University
Lecturer / Principle Investigator (Former Employee) –  Guildford25 August 2016
low pay, poor culture, overly administered and chaotic executive decisions. Large turnaround on admin staff, brain drain in academic staff in 2015. Student body ever expanding while quality slips in all other areas.

Avoid.
Pros
None
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment and interesting and varied work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Surrey12 June 2016
I worked a few times in a temporary capacity and found the work fulfilling and interesting, enabling me to use my vast administrative skills to the full.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Work was temporary only
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work during studies. Very friendly and understanding poeple.
Student Support (Current Employee) –  Guildford26 May 2016
Best place to work.
Cooperative people.
Relaxed environment.
Good salary.
Holiday pay is a plus.
Work and Personal Life balance is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and Interesting Environment
Research Technician (Materials Laboratory) (Current Employee) –  Guildford4 May 2016
Manage the Materials and Chemical Laboratories in the Advanced Technology Institute at the University of Surrey. Job role is wide ranging but centres around assisting PhD students and research associates carry out their work. This includes providing training and advice on equipment, ensuring health and safety standards are met in the laboratory, and working in a small technical team to aid in the running of other laboratories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
MatLab Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey22 March 2016
I had the opportunity to work along side my dissertation supervisor which was a lot of fun. The work was fun and the pay was not bad either.
Pros
Laid back workplace
Cons
odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UNIVERSITY OF SURREY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 51 reviews
522
417
39
22
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

UNIVERSITY OF SURREY Reviews by Location