University of Oxford Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment, low salary, little progression
Postdoctoral Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Nuffield, Oxfordshire7 February 2018
For a postdoctoral researcher in the sciences there is no better place to be to (i) meet high profile academics at the top of their fields (both the staff and the visiting colloquium speakers & collaborators), and (ii) access the equipment/data you need to do your best research. But the wages are terrible (low even by UK standards; if you see a job ad with a range you will be getting for sure the lowest tier in that range) and there is very little chance of progression within the university (if they need someone at a higher grade they'll hire someone else rather than allowing an internal re-grading). You will also need to have your own credit card to pay for all your work-related travel and expenses up front (e.g. flights to the US for a conference) then wait months for a reimbursement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Self-driven
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Oxford28 January 2018
The job was well oriented in the begining but you have to have a great sense of what to do next and initiative, you don't get much help for what to do next in research.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good workplace
NDPH - Clinical Trials Administrator (Current Employee) –  Oxford18 January 2018
Really enjoy working here. Lovely colleagues to work with. Its a good environment to work in.
I have had a good learning experience over the last few years from start to close out of a Phase III clinical trial. There have been initial struggles with setting up the sites but then its been a huge learning curve as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Finance Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire15 January 2018
The people there were extremely friendly. As I had just finished University i was looking for a temporary job just to keep me going until i moved to London to start my career. The manager was very appreciative of this and allowed me multiple days off at such short notice to attend interviews.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire26 October 2017
organised but I was not able to socialise and network. i gained new skills but i did not feel welcomed. supervisor did not spend enough time to explain some things
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and engaging
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire5 October 2017
Everyone here was lovely. Very peaceful workplace.
Typically work 9-5, very flexible hours, thanks to a wonderful boss.
The most enjoyable part was the atmosphere, a joy to come in everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Employers
AutoCAD/BIM Technician (Current Employee) –  University of Oxford19 September 2017
When working for the university you will be presented with plenty of opportunities and benefits including a competitive salary.

First of all you could be permitted access to visit many of the university's high profile and restricted access buildings, giving you the chance to see behind the curtain of Oxford as well as some of the amazing architecture and history of the city.

As employers the university are very flexible, understanding and keen to support growth and learning. Once a month we here within the estates services team will sit down with our superiors once a month to discuss our personal/working lives and offer any praise, advice or criticisms we have have in order to create a more transparent, understanding and productive working environment.

Though parking is scarce, they do their best to support their employees with transport schemes to help reduce travelling costs. When I am required to travel on site, they provide a broad selection of pool bikes and can even offer a shuttle service to the more distant locations, of which are all free to university employees.
Pros
Flexible working hours, competitive salary, friendly environment, opportunities to grow and learn
Cons
Limited parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire8 September 2017
The business was research into childhood cancers, so could be emotive at times but still a rewarding job to do. Would have liked to have stayed on but the travelling times at each end of the day became difficult as a close family member was terminally ill at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Catering Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford14 August 2017
overall, very enjoyable experience. I worked here for 3 years, only problems I found was personal problems between staff making it's way into the working environment.
At the beginning favouritism was an issue, but that got resolved after a year or so and the roots started becoming fairer.
Since its had a change of hand higher up though, I believe it to be run differently to when i was there.
Pros
Free meals on duty, friendly staff
Cons
irregular shifts/hours, sometimes 40+, sometimes barely 10+ a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and prestigious workplace
Non Stipendiary Lecturer in Engineering (Former Employee) –  Oxford25 July 2017
A great work environment in terms of teaching and research. As a student, tutor or researcher working at University of Oxford can be tough but also extremely rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was significantly different to the job advertised
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Oxford10 July 2017
There were significant differences between the role advertised and the role day to day so check this as best you can at interview stage.

Staff management styles do vary widely between departments at Oxford, as does the work place culture. Some departments are very bureaucratic/stuffy.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Lack of parking/transport options
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
HR & Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxford, UK20 June 2017
I work compressed hours to encompass childcare commitments which I have found to be very good and am looking for the same or part time. Very flexible approach.
Pros
Commuting
Cons
Compressed hours to suit commitments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and professional environment
Senior Research Assistant in Organic Chemistry (Current Employee) –  Oxford22 April 2017
An amazing place where to perform scientific research, in terms of people and infrastructures and also a nice place for living. Good balance between professional and personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good.
Exam Script Checker (Former Employee) –  Oxford9 April 2017
A wide ranging organisation, the University of Oxford offer very much to the student who can afford to study there. In the wider sense, were it not for the University one might wander whether Oxford's tourist industry would be quite so strong.
Pros
Beauty
Cons
Stuck in the past
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford28 March 2017
Good, large company. Nicely staffed, good amenities, a very good culture, staff well looked after, good benefits, good holidays. Options for work progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and environment
IT and AV assistant (Former Employee) –  Christ Church25 March 2017
Independent and laid back approach to tech support. Priority was getting letting the problems get solved, and not interfering at all.

My manager was wonderful and the IT department was very kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focused and talented workplace
clinical research fellow (Former Employee) –  nuffield dept of o\7g, horton maternity hospital21 January 2017
very busy, but many opportunities for personal and professional growth

academic lifestyle is different than clinical one, they help you to balance both worlds and give you lots of guidance.

clinical job in john radcliffe, busy. horton hospital ahs since closed its maternity unit and centralised care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good & bad
Postdoctoral PET Physicist (Current Employee) –  Oxford21 January 2017
It depends on what do you value most. It can be a complex place to be in. I can probably write a book on it. Talk to me in person if you wanna know more :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and welcoming
Communications and Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford20 September 2016
An amazing company where everybody is excepted as long as you are willing to work hard.

Everyone is friendly, the pay is great and is such an iconic organisation to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  London17 August 2016
making sure Laboratories were cleaned all worktops- floors- ledges cleaning of stairs and bathrooms.
sweeping loading dock and cleaning of offices
the importance of safe working practice in laboratories
Management were very helpful
co-workers were fun

getting to know all the people
Pros
great friendly working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Oxford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 44 reviews
527
412
35
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

University of Oxford Reviews by Location