University of Oxford Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get a degree
DPhil candidate (Current Employee) –  Oxford10 July 2018
All of the professors and supervisors I have met are brilliant scientists and genuinely a pleasure to work with. There is a good balance of guidance and independence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career prospects and interesting research
Nuclear Physics Research Internship (Former Employee) –  Oxford1 July 2018
Excellent staff and plenty of support from staff for furthering and bettering research practices.
Great prospects and networking opportunities despite such a short time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Oxford17 April 2018
Great opportunities to progress if initiative is taken. Found myself in situations that gave me chances to grow personally and find a career path. Communication levels are good, making a team member feeling comfortable and able to convey any worries or ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Oxford13 March 2018
lack of leadership, hard to move upwards and improve through the ranks
good mixed species unit, change to day to day species.
monotonous work week in week out.
Pros
Pension scheme
Cons
long hours, minimal pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best University
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Oxfordshire26 February 2018
Oxford is one of the very best universities in the world, It is full of incredible people, it is a beautiful city and a great place to live and study.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Senior Officer (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire24 February 2018
This is a great employer. All staff get access to unparalleled library resources. The University is also internationally respected. Work expectations can be quite high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place , little money
Electromechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Oxford14 February 2018
Fabulous place to work, but not much room for advancement and when you get to the top of your grade, that's it.But well looked after, great pension and holidays.
Pros
benefits
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment, low salary, little progression
Postdoctoral Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Nuffield, Oxfordshire7 February 2018
For a postdoctoral researcher in the sciences there is no better place to be to (i) meet high profile academics at the top of their fields (both the staff and the visiting colloquium speakers & collaborators), and (ii) access the equipment/data you need to do your best research. But the wages are terrible (low even by UK standards; if you see a job ad with a range you will be getting for sure the lowest tier in that range) and there is very little chance of progression within the university (if they need someone at a higher grade they'll hire someone else rather than allowing an internal re-grading). You will also need to have your own credit card to pay for all your work-related travel and expenses up front (e.g. flights to the US for a conference) then wait months for a reimbursement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Self-driven
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Oxford28 January 2018
The job was well oriented in the begining but you have to have a great sense of what to do next and initiative, you don't get much help for what to do next in research.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good workplace
NDPH - Clinical Trials Administrator (Current Employee) –  Oxford18 January 2018
Really enjoy working here. Lovely colleagues to work with. Its a good environment to work in.
I have had a good learning experience over the last few years from start to close out of a Phase III clinical trial. There have been initial struggles with setting up the sites but then its been a huge learning curve as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Finance Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire15 January 2018
The people there were extremely friendly. As I had just finished University i was looking for a temporary job just to keep me going until i moved to London to start my career. The manager was very appreciative of this and allowed me multiple days off at such short notice to attend interviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire26 October 2017
organised but I was not able to socialise and network. i gained new skills but i did not feel welcomed. supervisor did not spend enough time to explain some things
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and engaging
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire5 October 2017
Everyone here was lovely. Very peaceful workplace.
Typically work 9-5, very flexible hours, thanks to a wonderful boss.
The most enjoyable part was the atmosphere, a joy to come in everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Employers
AutoCAD/BIM Technician (Current Employee) –  University of Oxford19 September 2017
When working for the university you will be presented with plenty of opportunities and benefits including a competitive salary.

First of all you could be permitted access to visit many of the university's high profile and restricted access buildings, giving you the chance to see behind the curtain of Oxford as well as some of the amazing architecture and history of the city.

As employers the university are very flexible, understanding and keen to support growth and learning. Once a month we here within the estates services team will sit down with our superiors once a month to discuss our personal/working lives and offer any praise, advice or criticisms we have have in order to create a more transparent, understanding and productive working environment.

Though parking is scarce, they do their best to support their employees with transport schemes to help reduce travelling costs. When I am required to travel on site, they provide a broad selection of pool bikes and can even offer a shuttle service to the more distant locations, of which are all free to university employees.
Pros
Flexible working hours, competitive salary, friendly environment, opportunities to grow and learn
Cons
Limited parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire8 September 2017
The business was research into childhood cancers, so could be emotive at times but still a rewarding job to do. Would have liked to have stayed on but the travelling times at each end of the day became difficult as a close family member was terminally ill at the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Catering Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford14 August 2017
overall, very enjoyable experience. I worked here for 3 years, only problems I found was personal problems between staff making it's way into the working environment.
At the beginning favouritism was an issue, but that got resolved after a year or so and the roots started becoming fairer.
Since its had a change of hand higher up though, I believe it to be run differently to when i was there.
Pros
Free meals on duty, friendly staff
Cons
irregular shifts/hours, sometimes 40+, sometimes barely 10+ a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and prestigious workplace
Non Stipendiary Lecturer in Engineering (Former Employee) –  Oxford25 July 2017
A great work environment in terms of teaching and research. As a student, tutor or researcher working at University of Oxford can be tough but also extremely rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was significantly different to the job advertised
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Oxford10 July 2017
There were significant differences between the role advertised and the role day to day so check this as best you can at interview stage.

Staff management styles do vary widely between departments at Oxford, as does the work place culture. Some departments are very bureaucratic/stuffy.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Lack of parking/transport options
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
HR & Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxford, UK20 June 2017
I work compressed hours to encompass childcare commitments which I have found to be very good and am looking for the same or part time. Very flexible approach.
Pros
Commuting
Cons
Compressed hours to suit commitments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and professional environment
Senior Research Assistant in Organic Chemistry (Current Employee) –  Oxford22 April 2017
An amazing place where to perform scientific research, in terms of people and infrastructures and also a nice place for living. Good balance between professional and personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Oxford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 56 reviews
533
416
37
20
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture

University of Oxford Reviews by Location