University of Leeds Work-Life Balance reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice environment to work in
Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire18 October 2017
I worked there for three month only for 4 hours a day with flexible hours which made it quite easy for me to balance between Studies and working and the payment was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Student (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 September 2017
Best University going. There is no better place in the UK in the last 5 years that can balance the quality of education with such a thriving hub of a city.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great location and on-campus facilities
Visiting Researcher (Former Employee) –  Leeds31 July 2017
I spend a short time at the University of Leeds as a visiting researcher. The staff was very professional and provided necessary administrative support to make my working life comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire21 June 2017
The pay and work ethicais always of a high appropriate standard, both students and staff are excellent co-workers and there are always plenty of opportunities for shifts
Pros
working with many familiar and new faces
Cons
not always garunteed a shift because of the volume of ambassadors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Leeds15 June 2017
Friendly staff, supportive environment and ability to develop skills and great workplace culture. Typical day at work involved proofreading and copywriting.
Pros
great
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire15 June 2017
Great place to work, with friendly staff and opportunities to develop skills. Supported throughout and great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone who wanted to work there.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Edge - University of Leeds Leisure Centre
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Leeds10 May 2017
The Edge is a fantastic place to work. As being a Personal Trainer for over a year based at the Edge, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The overall atmosphere with staff/members is one of the best I have worked in. The capacity of members is huge, in which Personal Training couldn't be easier as many people are looking to improve their health.

Although progression is rather difficult at the University, especially in the Health & Fitness department, there are many other ways to continue your path to upgrade your skills. The hours you're given personally could be better, but in the leisure industry its all the same.

If you're looking for progression in the leisure Industry within a short period of time then maybe somewhere else could offer you this better. But... If you're looking to develop your skills, improve your Personal training career and have fun whilst working, I'd definitely give it a shot when opportunities arrive.
Pros
Atmosphere, pay.
Cons
Poor shift hours, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire20 April 2017
My time within the university as a research fellow was very rewarding. It has a family type atmosphere - where there would be no hesitation to offer help and guidance.
Pros
group family atmosphere
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds12 November 2016
Good benefits and job security. Lots of training courses.Good holidays. A company that looks after its employers. Some really nice people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching, administration, using VLE, creating modules of interest in theology
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Leeds, main campus4 November 2016
a great university to study or work in, enjoyed teaching at the Lifelong learning centre within the main campus of the University. It is great environment to work in.
Pros
work satisfaction.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about University of Leeds?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun workplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Leeds24 August 2016
Excellent place to work the staff and management are all great to work with.
During term times is a bit hectic but you get into your own routine & can work around the staff & students. All in all if your thinking of applying for a cleaning job with this company then DO IT!! The holiday entitlement is excellent don't think you could get better anywhere else.
Pros
Excellent pay & holiday entitlement
Cons
Understaffed at time which means covering more areas!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good atomosphere
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds8 August 2016
My typical day at the refectory university of Leeds was to provide excellent service to students, tutors and other customers. Some days I have to stay at the till and some days on the counters. I could operate most of the counters and tills per
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching
Part time online learning mentor (Current Employee) –  Leeds5 February 2016
I enjoy working for the University Of Leeds. it has enabled me to do what I enjoy the most and that is teaching.
Also, pay is god.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, hard work, good organisation
Lab intern (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENG19 July 2015
The co workers are all very dedicated, there is a friendly working atmosphere. The professors are constantly busy but always make time for any query's or problems you may have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Creative and Non repetitive.
Research Student Consultant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, ENG20 November 2014
Very good job. Learn a lot from different type of job. I also get help from colleague. Good for research.
Pros
Seminars and conference
Cons
Some long days and nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Leeds, ENG9 September 2014
typical day at work is 3hours in the morning
i work with one other collegue
i work very hard for the 3hours to make sure everything is done for that day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Happy place to work
CLEANER (Current Employee) –  Leeds, ENG2 July 2014
High paying salary. Good and happy workplace.
The manager and supervisor are good and friendly.
I meet and made friends, true friends. The hardest when we are very busy we have to work fast to finished the designated area . Happiest part was when we got almost perfect ratings. We shout for joy that at least our hard work got a good reward.
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Long hours but not all of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helth and teaching profession
Medical demonstrator (Current Employee) –  leeds10 December 2013
I m adoctor and always interested with working with people .
and tell them about science.
Pros
free lunch...free trip
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Catering Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leeds21 March 2013
Working in a busy place with students it has been an oportunity for me to learn more about me, to improve my skills and to become more responsable, creative, organized and flexible.
The hardest part of the job was working long hours but the most enjoyable part was free luches.
It has been a good experience and now I feel more confident in me.
Pros
free luches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning base
Communications Consultant Intercultural Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Leeds, UK18 March 2013
Culture bondings and professionalism booth hand in hand. Being an Intercultural ambassador is the best way to learn how to deal with people with varied backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Leeds. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 146 reviews
581
445
313
23
14

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

University of Leeds Reviews by Location