University of Exeter Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job with opportunities to learn
Study Abroad Assistant (Former Employee) –  Exeter15 June 2018
This job allowed me to manage my academic work as a student at the University as well as earn some extra money. It was a professional environment with an excellent boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useful and Interesting
Officer Cadet (Former Employee) –  Exeter28 May 2018
Undergo basic training for the role of an Officer in the British Army. Get an insight into what life would be like whilst serving in the Armed Forces.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions
Admissions (Current Employee) –  Exeter7 May 2018
Great job! Work life balance is respected and encouraged. Salary and benefits are fair. They have a great pension scheme. Jobs seem secure. Management are patient and understanding but also push you to do your best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Kitchen Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon28 April 2018
Loved working at the University Of Exeter .
The staff helped me out and helped build up my confidence. When working there I learnt a lot more than I did before and the staff were very kind and understanding towards me and others.
Pros
Free food at the end
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive
SSLC Subject Co-Chair (Current Employee) –  Penryn13 April 2018
The role was primarily a volunteering role, however, ample support was given to ensure the work did not affect studies and to ensure stress was minimal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative
Resident Life Mentor (Former Employee) –  Exeter8 April 2018
i was responsible for taking care of some of the students living in university accommodation and it was a very rewarding experience making sure everyone was ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment and benefits
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Exeter30 March 2018
Poor development opportunities in role only real training are short courses.
Very repetitive routine work.
Friendly colleagues and management.
Poor pay for qualifications and experience requested for job.
Good job for new science graduates especially those wanting to go into research or to get experience in laboratory support work.
Good work environment, holidays and flexi-time.
Unable to park on site unless you qualify for a permit.
Pros
work environment and benefits
Cons
Poor development opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly chaotic ,and lacking in strategic direction.
Communications and Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Exeter15 March 2018
Sadly this Russell group university did not have a happy atmosphere. Staff seemed fed up and "done to"

Chaotic management structure lacking in strategic direction.
Pros
Beautiful campus
Cons
Frustrating environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Exeter1 February 2018
Friendly and welcoming atmosphere which provides a high level of motivation to study and achieve your goals. Large campus and an extremely good quality of research are the main benefits for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Jame's Italian13 January 2018
I learned how to work in a team and how to respect my colleagues. It was an enjoyable job for me. I was working form 3:30 pm to 7:45 pm and it was productive work for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perpetual Transformation
Finance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Exeter11 December 2017
The University exploits its position as a preferred recruiter in a relatively uncompetitive job market to pay less than other Russell Group Universities in the South West. The HR department fails to comply with government guidance concerning the paying rolled up holiday pay.
There is a perpetual process of transformation that never ends leading to heightened and often unreasonable job insecurity and loss of institutional memory.
Despite the best efforts of HR, the University is a friendly and engaging place to work. There is flexibility in hours and reasonable pay - if you are not on the temporary staff bank and being exploited.
Pros
Good annual leave
Cons
Chronic job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  University of Exeter13 November 2017
I work in a pretty good environment, I usually work in the dining room, behind the servery or in the wash up area. My main role is working with students mantaining an high standard of service and hygiene,
Pros
good pay
Cons
casual job, hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prettige omgeving, mooie plaats en goede universiteit
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Exeter11 October 2017
De universiteit biedt veel vrijheid, in BioSciences zijn de collagas goed en erg sociaal. De werkdrug op mijn niveau is goed maar kan zwaar worden narmate je hogerop komt.
Pros
Vrijheid van dagindeling, Sociaal departement
Cons
Brexit
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment. Good benefits
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Penryn, Cornwall10 October 2017
A generally positive working environment. The Uni offers a good Pension scheme, cycle to work scheme. Good opportunities for in work training and personal development courses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive flexible and fun
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon22 September 2017
Highly supportive working environments. Flexible working hours. A fast-growing research institute in life science. The campus is not too far from city centre. However, the city is a bit too small and boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun eperience
Student marshall (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon9 September 2017
I worked as a student marshal at the University of Exeter during the University open day. Such a great experience. The most enjoyable part of the job was explaining to the guest about the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really nice place
bar staff (Current Employee) –  exeter21 August 2017
really nice place to work good people and good pay i really enjoyed working at the university they make you feel valued and take care of the staff and would recomend it to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Workplace
Catering Assistant and Buffet Driver (Former Employee) –  Exeter18 July 2017
It is easy to feel at home very quickly at the University of Exeter with most staff in all departments and at all levels being friendly and welcoming.
Sometimes you may be asked to work extra hours and irregular times but this is compensated in the salary.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Possible ling hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new and fun experience
Student mentor (Former Employee) –  Devon8 July 2017
First time as a student mentor
dealt with students going through exam anxiety or home sickness, or any general issue while living away from home
counselling
organizing social events like day trips around UK, bowling or table tennis matches, picnics, bake sales and workshops etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging and supportive workplace
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon8 June 2017
The working environment is friendly and productive with an emphasis on the progression of the university as well as personal development. A good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Exeter. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 53 reviews
523
422
36
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

University of Exeter Reviews by Location