University of Birmingham Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 August 2018
As a PA, I had a lot of computer work & liaising with other departments to do.
I learned about working within a large team,
The management & work place culture were surprisingly quite relaxed.
There wasn't really any part of the job that was particularly difficult.
I enjoyed meeting lots of different people & having to visit different areas of the university.
Pros
The varied responsibilities.
Cons
Relatively low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Food and Beverage Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham23 July 2018
Decent place to work, friendly staff and good pay, contrasted by the amount of hours acctually working and availibility of shifts. Work is easy enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
International Student Advisory Service (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 June 2018
As University of Birmingham is one of the prominent universities in the region, it does attract a lot of home and overseas students. Due to large number of students, some departments are short on staff. I have noticed young employees tend to work in UOB for a few years just to get valuable experience and then find a different work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Global Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 June 2018
As a student, this job was perfect as it was located on campus and management were extremely understanding of other time commitments, such as our degree. Hours were flexible and the work was interesting, especially regarding increasing update in the international year abroad programme.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Hours were irregular
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Environment
Student Cleaning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham4 June 2018
Nice place to be, lots of new experiences both professional and personal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and friendly environment
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Chemistry Department28 May 2018
Working as a student ambassador was very relaxed and it was easy to balance with my studies. On a typical day, I would meet and greet parents and students to then take them on a tour of the university campus and accommodation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid academic research institution
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 May 2018
For a researcher, the connection to the wider research community can be lacking somewhat. There is a tendency for people to operate in their own silos and to share ideas less than in other institutions. As with academia as a whole, where there is so much competition, the job security/progression can be a dead end.

However, the expertise there is very high, the campus community is welcoming, and the pay was good. Birmingham is a very livable and lively city!
Pros
Beautiful campus, great fitness facilities
Cons
Ageing equipment, too much bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspirational
Student priest (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 May 2018
Nice environment, assisting one to actualise his potentials. The studednts and the team of other professionals are always disposed to accommodate the team spirit to achieve the desired goal, which has been character and intellectual formation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and decent work hours
Physics Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Birmingham6 May 2018
Only frequent work for me was on a wednesday, meaning I had a nice balance of a little bit of work while still focusing on my degree. Good pay as well.
Pros
Free Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham9 April 2018
Bosses were a family and looked out for employees with families. It was a fun place to work and everyone worked well together. If you need time off for any reason it was granted and holidays were granted when requested.
Pros
A lot of things.
Cons
The company no longer exists.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clinical Academic Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 April 2018
People are great. Lots of opportunities for advancement. Good salaries. Nice environment. My role is very rewarding and I have had lots of freedom in how it has developed. I feel part of a very forward-thinking, prestigious university.
Pros
Great people, lots of opportunities
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn a lot and I had fun working everyday
Cleaning Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands30 March 2018
Very nice company and I love working there to be honest great people and workers too. Have some training, holiday pay for 45 days and I am very happy part of working in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Full Time Researcher (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 March 2018
Great place to work for, give plenty of provisions for students to be flexible with their time and studies. The skillsets I've acquired have helped me come a long way
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and growing University
PA to the Director of Operations College of EPS (Current Employee) –  Birmingham9 March 2018
Working at the University is a very different culture to any other sector.

A dynamic and diverse environment which is easy to embrace.

Beautiful campus with a very interesting history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom6 March 2018
The job was interesting but challenging. There is the opportunity for training and development. Great people and great environment makes for a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High academic quality but poor management from the university
PhD Research Student (Current Employee) –  Birmingham22 February 2018
The research group and research environment is very high quality. However, the central administration and university leadership are incompetent, disconnected and overpaid.
Pros
Excellent academic standards and research
Cons
incompetent and unconcerned central administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 February 2018
Great place to work, friendly staff
Flexible working hours
Great atmosphere
I was part of the temping staff so managed to work in a few different departments during my time working there. I enjoyed it very much.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham2 February 2018
due to changes in the management .i.e. bringing in managers from other departments who have no idea about security. the section has been going down ever since . morel is so low now absenteeism is a huge problem. many very good officers left when the new changes were introduced . managers do not listen to concerns. section ruined . enough said
Pros
relaxed atmosphere
Cons
bad management all the way to the top
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Reception assistant in the Guild of student (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 January 2018
I was responsible for receiving students, staffs, and visitors at the front desk by greeting, welcoming, directing and announcing them appropriately, I also answered screening and forwarding incoming phone calls. Moreover, I helped to receive, sort and deliver daily mails to different departments in the guild of student. During this job, I gained the organizational skills, I effectively built multitasking and time-management skills, with the ability to prioritize tasks. I also strengthened my communication skills to be more concise and to the point.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Student Mentor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 January 2018
Absolutely loved working for the Guild of Students whilst being a student myself. The work was very challenging but also very rewarding. I learnt many skills, including patient, understanding and communicational.
Pros
Great team, brilliant management
Cons
Work was quite difficult and often challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Birmingham. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 132 reviews
557
447
319
22
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

University of Birmingham Reviews by Location