University of Birmingham Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search See all 138 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a teacher assistant
Postgraduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  School of EESE13 November 2018
It has been a great opportunity to work as a Postgraduate Teaching assistant as the University of Birmingham. I achieved various skills such as leadership, motivating and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work with wide social network
Research assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham31 October 2018
The university of Birmingham is familiar to me where I have been a studant between 2017-2018, which I have got my MSc degree in food safety , hygiene and management with distinction level.In addition to that I have got an opportunity to continue my MSc project at school of chemical engendering in the university of Birmingham as research assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to do small group teaching
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham21 October 2018
I was a teaching assistant whilst doing my postgraduate degree. A all round good experience that was well worth doing. The pay was adequate for most tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham16 October 2018
It is a nice university with many people doing excellent research. I was very welcomed here. I could develop my independent research projects, and participate in several important training sessions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
attending the PGDipEd course
ITT student (Current Employee) –  School of Education5 October 2018
N/A as I was attending the university as a student rather than an employee. I would consider seeking employment at the University in the future due to the environment and access to departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 August 2018
As a PA, I had a lot of computer work & liaising with other departments to do.
I learned about working within a large team,
The management & work place culture were surprisingly quite relaxed.
There wasn't really any part of the job that was particularly difficult.
I enjoyed meeting lots of different people & having to visit different areas of the university.
Pros
The varied responsibilities.
Cons
Relatively low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 August 2018
Really good pay and can work with some great people. The place itself is in a really nice part of Birmingham as it surrounded by greenery. Great views and nice people.
Pros
Location
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Food and Beverage Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham23 July 2018
Decent place to work, friendly staff and good pay, contrasted by the amount of hours acctually working and availibility of shifts. Work is easy enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
International Student Advisory Service (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 June 2018
As University of Birmingham is one of the prominent universities in the region, it does attract a lot of home and overseas students. Due to large number of students, some departments are short on staff. I have noticed young employees tend to work in UOB for a few years just to get valuable experience and then find a different work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Global Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 June 2018
As a student, this job was perfect as it was located on campus and management were extremely understanding of other time commitments, such as our degree. Hours were flexible and the work was interesting, especially regarding increasing update in the international year abroad programme.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Hours were irregular
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Environment
Student Cleaning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham4 June 2018
Nice place to be, lots of new experiences both professional and personal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and friendly environment
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Chemistry Department28 May 2018
Working as a student ambassador was very relaxed and it was easy to balance with my studies. On a typical day, I would meet and greet parents and students to then take them on a tour of the university campus and accommodation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid academic research institution
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 May 2018
For a researcher, the connection to the wider research community can be lacking somewhat. There is a tendency for people to operate in their own silos and to share ideas less than in other institutions. As with academia as a whole, where there is so much competition, the job security/progression can be a dead end.

However, the expertise there is very high, the campus community is welcoming, and the pay was good. Birmingham is a very livable and lively city!
Pros
Beautiful campus, great fitness facilities
Cons
Ageing equipment, too much bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspirational
Student priest (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 May 2018
Nice environment, assisting one to actualise his potentials. The studednts and the team of other professionals are always disposed to accommodate the team spirit to achieve the desired goal, which has been character and intellectual formation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and decent work hours
Physics Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Birmingham6 May 2018
Only frequent work for me was on a wednesday, meaning I had a nice balance of a little bit of work while still focusing on my degree. Good pay as well.
Pros
Free Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham9 April 2018
Bosses were a family and looked out for employees with families. It was a fun place to work and everyone worked well together. If you need time off for any reason it was granted and holidays were granted when requested.
Pros
A lot of things.
Cons
The company no longer exists.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clinical Academic Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 April 2018
People are great. Lots of opportunities for advancement. Good salaries. Nice environment. My role is very rewarding and I have had lots of freedom in how it has developed. I feel part of a very forward-thinking, prestigious university.
Pros
Great people, lots of opportunities
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn a lot and I had fun working everyday
Cleaning Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands30 March 2018
Very nice company and I love working there to be honest great people and workers too. Have some training, holiday pay for 45 days and I am very happy part of working in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Full Time Researcher (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 March 2018
Great place to work for, give plenty of provisions for students to be flexible with their time and studies. The skillsets I've acquired have helped me come a long way
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and growing University
PA to the Director of Operations College of EPS (Current Employee) –  Birmingham9 March 2018
Working at the University is a very different culture to any other sector.

A dynamic and diverse environment which is easy to embrace.

Beautiful campus with a very interesting history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Birmingham. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 138 reviews
561
448
320
22
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

University of Birmingham Reviews by Location