University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Bank
Staff Bank Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire10 October 2018
I would definitely not recommend working for the staff bank team, you are left alone to work and manage the service with no support from management. Over worked and no processes in place to run the service. They have long term staff leaving on stress leave and sickness. I’m surprised the UHL directors have yet not investigated this service. It’s disgusting how staff are treated in that place! Poor Management and poor Service
Pros
None
Cons
Overworked, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Staff Nurse Band 5 Bank (Former Employee) –  UHL26 July 2018
If you don’t mind working as a nurse where you feel unsafe often unsupported and your pin at risk then this Job will be perfect for you. Very low morale.
Pros
You will always have a job as they’re always short staffed.
Cons
Long hours, rubbish pay, unsupported
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralizing work environment
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Leicester18 March 2018
Poor staff development. Favoritism within management and junior members if staff. Over worked, low morale, no positive reinforcement only negative. Wouldn't advise anyone to work there.
Pros
Social aspects
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UHL- tough but promising employer
OD Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Leicester4 December 2017
I have worked at UHL since May 2016 and I have to say this is the best job I have ever had.

It is quite a challenging environment- given the political pressures of the NHS, the need to manage clinical and administrative needs, as well as working with limited resources. Also, as one of the busiest (and largest) NHS trusts we have 15,500 staff who look after approximately 1 million people(!) across Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland.

This can be a very tough place to work, but it is worth it!
Pros
Great pension scheme, flexible working, good benefits
Cons
Can have long working hours (at times), limited scope for development in some areas and lower pay for the work many staff do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for newly qualified staff
Midwife-Assistant Ward Manager (Former Employee) –  Leicester25 November 2017
UHLT had one of the best development programmes for newly qualified Midwives. The support provided by both the Trust and the University was fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but need to work closer to home
Research Administrator (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire12 October 2017
I love working for UHL, but would like to work closer to home. I work with a great team of people, we discuss issues as a team and I feel part of that, even though I am not a senior member of staff. I have been able to go on several training courses to improve my skills. I have a good relationship with my Manager, I can go to him if I have a problem, but he leaves me alone to plan my day and get on with the tasks I have been assigned. I have an appraisal twice a year and if my role changes at all and my manager feels I would benefit from an available training course, I can book a place. The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling part of a team and knowing your input was part of progression.
Pros
Well looked after/flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
valuable
Medical HR Recruitment Administrator (Current Employee) –  Leicester19 April 2016
A great, fast paced and varied place to work with a variety of career opportunities available to all. Typically a busy and productive environment.
Pros
opportunity
Cons
progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and calm enviornment
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Rollout Technician31 October 2012
I have worked in NHS as a Apprentice for 12 weeks and gained alot of experince an new skills while I was working NHS. Worked in three main hospitals in Leicester such as Glenfield Hospital, Leicester Royal Infirmary, and Leicester General Hospital. I was there as a Desktop support technician and solving technical issues around the hospital. I have also worked as Rollout Technician to replace the old PC's to new PC, upgrading RAM's according to the Windows 7 requirements as NHS is going to deploy Windows 7.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 9 reviews
52
43
31
20
13

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.4Culture

University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust Reviews by Location