University College Birmingham Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job For Students
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 October 2018
Working as a student ambassador was a great way to gain more experience and learn/develop new skills while presenting something you are passionate about.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Visiting Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 March 2018
The typical day comprises dealing with items and issues arsing in a dynamic and challenging working environment that requires a good skills set in which to operate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Student (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 February 2018
A good college overall but unless you've got an issue management will deal with it very poorly.Communication is very limited here as an appointment is needed with everyone you need to talk with.Too many buildings also as i and a few others have gotten lost finding the colleges.
Pros
Good mentors
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mellow and calm work enviorment
Hairdressing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham City Centre, West Midlands20 January 2018
typical day at work is coming in and seeing what I need to do within the day. As usual I learn new things everyday and due to this everyday is interesting.
Pros
lunch
Cons
not learing new things
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of organisation
Support staff member (Current Employee) –  Birmingham7 January 2018
An organisation which is committed to professional development of its staff.

Positive working culture.

Good work life balance for many roles.

Salaries are acceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Chef Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 May 2017
My responsibilities was:
Preparing food.
Cooking food.
Cleaning and making sure the work environment met the required hygiene standards.
Retail aspects , providing customer support on tills.
Handling finances.
Making sure food was prepared in a timely manner and to a high standard.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
When there was not many customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University College Birmingham
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 May 2017
The best experience ever! Not only support given is amazing, but the quality of the information is brilliant too! UCB is a great way to move forward in life also I would recommend to any student to apply and enrol this UCB Campus !!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Student (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 February 2017
a great place to study day in and day out with some of the chefs, they definitely keep you on your toes all day. some great benefits and qualifications to come out with.
Pros
£20 a week for 100% attendance.
Cons
Long hours, far to travel for my self every morning with early starts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Cheerleading Coach (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 January 2017
Great place to work. Always listen to you and see how can make things better. Great student accommodation. Excellent facilities for students and staff to use.
Pros
Short Hours
Cons
No Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Working Practices
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham14 December 2016
The time spent at UCB has been filled with fun, great students and great teams to work with. Yes, like all educationally led positions its hard work, some long hours, however UCB recognise this and you are awarded in one way or another, through bonuses, extra holidays etc. The timetables are fair for all and shared equally.
Pros
students, fellow colleagues and the food
Cons
some long hours and heavy marking loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work due progression limited
Student Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 July 2016
Great culture at UCB, staff are well treated. Professional development is encouraged however due to the size of the institution progression routes are limited in some areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Position
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, UK18 April 2016
Quick problem solver using a range of software, also learning administrative experience and managing a team, from training to implementation.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Disorganised
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a School
I am a Student of University College Birmingham (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG3 July 2015
The Unirversity send me to the Saltley School as a mentor for years

9, 10 and 11 students. The dutation was about a year and the students were given certificates at the end of the programms.

It wqas a wonderful experience for me and also for the students both boy and girls.
Pros
we purchased lunch at the school
Cons
about 3to 4 hurs per week and I went in for 1 day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG4 June 2015
Working in the college gym as a Fitness Instructor. General gym duties including inductions, personal training programmes and the up selling of gym memberships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative and knowladgable pace
Student (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG27 November 2014
Working at the restaurant was really a good chance to acquire skill and knowledge of performing a good service for the customers. The dishes served where inviting to the customer and this meant the restaurant was always busy. The colleagues were a joy to be around and skills were transferrable amongst all of us. Management was very skilled and very helpful so much that the service was part of them.
Pros
free meals and took home any left overs
Cons
late night working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG3 October 2014
I work as a student ambassador for my university to plan events and give presentation of my ongoing experience as a student. I help in planning and sorting out invitations and letters to the public. I also work in the marketing department in my university as a receptionist when needed on busy event day.
During my free time, i volunteer as an accountant in my church to help prepare the church's statement of account, data entry, and make all necessary payment.
I go for Zumba classes and also bake and sell pastries on my less busy days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG8 September 2014
Decent company to work for. Nice people , pay isn't the most competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enable
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG19 August 2014
I have learned a number of thing form this role, such as how to effective communicate and build a positive relationship with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sports Therapist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG31 March 2014
Although this was an unpaid workplace, the environment of working within a clinic seeing to patients that require treatment and rehabilitation was fun because I would see a different patient everytime
Pros
During university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Kitchen (chef) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG6 November 2013
Co-workers were helpful.
I never really learnt anything i didn't already know
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University College Birmingham. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 29 reviews
511
412
36
20
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

University College Birmingham Reviews by Location