Unipart Rail Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehousing/Distribution
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Hexthorpe24 June 2019
In Warehousing/Distribution Not the Offices very bad working conditions Management Don't listen ask them for help they try and then don't bother time you for breaks Discriminated and threaten you of your job position Pile more work on you when you only have 3 to 4 hours to complete the tasks left of your shift overall avoid the bullying management bad place to be employed. Work colleagues are fine though.
Pros
Pay/Hours
Cons
Management and badly run on systems and being discriminated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganised but quiet times
Store Operator (Former Employee) –  London18 January 2019
as a store operator for unipart rail my job was to issue in an out railway tools for engineers. the problem i had with unipart rail was that i was mentored about the company for only a week an a half under presumptions i would be working alongside other people on the same shift, what i was told was not the truth so on last day of mentoring i was told id be working on my own, which i found shocking because what was told to me was different than what was said in the interview. on top of that i had to deal with a team leader who always thought he was right, never took anything i said on board seriously and tried to cause friction between me and another colleague. above all turning up to work a couple of times to find the store shut wasn't amusing as i did late evening. this company is just starting up so they may get better but the beckton branch is one to avoid.
Pros
friendly and helpful contractors
Cons
bad organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inspiring workplace
Intern - Market Analyst (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire19 November 2018
It is a highly motivated organisation, eager to flourish with the latest technology. Highly supportive and encouraging upper management, giving voice to new minds and creative ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire13 November 2018
Unipart Rail are on the whole an excellent company to work for with the main assets being the workforce.

However feel the company is in decline especially as ageing vehicles are removed fleets and the reliance of train operators on Unipart Rail reduces so potentially challenging times ahead.

Recently some of the Management styles have been poor and the overall direction of the business confused.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Some Management Styles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fitter
Key Operative (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire17 October 2018
overhauling various bogies for different train types. lots of painting involved . most of the management were spot on. friendly workforce. cold work place during the winter melting during the summer
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice enviromet
Technician/ inspector (Former Employee) –  Crewe13 September 2018
Wish not left in some ways would love to go back part time kept all paperwork and knowlage of products in my work book can probably do some jobs that others dont do now
Pros
Live down the road
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiting and challanging at times
Van Driver/Warehouse Operative/flt driver (Former Employee) –  Doncaster11 June 2018
Good experience enjoyed my time here. Sometimes abit of a slow job but once it picks up i really e joyed it. All staff exelent and good shifts also in good location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school culture at its worst.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire17 April 2018
Lots of great theories and ideas put forward to customers, none of which are put into practice by Unipart Rail themselves.

Culture of blame and zero support or direction given when needed. Typical old fashioned Public company culture with a huge silo mentality trying to apply itself in a market soon to be more open to competition.

This business is a disaster waiting to happen.

Some staff are great, others are dangerously hopeless yet completely unaware of it.
Pros
Close to the motorway.
Cons
Negative culture and direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Official response from Unipart Rail
8 May 2018

Thank you for your review on Unipart Rail. We are disappointed you feel the way you do and would like to confirm that the company have robust internal policies and procedures in place to deal with issues similar to those highlighted. In addition, we have various employee forums which offer the opportunity for ideas and concerns to be raised. We would also like to add that the company has recently been awarded a Silver IIP accreditation and has achieved world-class employee engagement scores.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire3 April 2018
Interesting place to work, management and work colleagues are a pleasure to work with. Enjoy the challenge of every different task I am required to undertake.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unipart Rail review
logistics supervisor (Former Employee) –  Weedon, Northamptonshire18 September 2017
Very nice company to work for.A company committed to continuously improve. Unipart way is a culture that is driven from the top downwards. Training is provided to promote standardisation and sustainment.
We strive to be the best in the industry and strive for on time delivery and customer satisfaction. Employee engagement is high priority for unipart and is focused on throughout the year.
Pros
very good to work for
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and challanging workplace.
Product Manager/Production Planner (Current Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire9 August 2017
A company committed to continuously improve. Unipart way is a culture that is driven from the top downwards. Training is provided to promote standardisation and sustainment.
We strive to be the best in the industry and strive for on time delivery and customer satisfaction. Employee engagement is high priority for unipart and is focused on throughout the year.
Pros
Great people, working hours, training, quality product
Cons
Jack of all trades, workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible morale and salary
Finance and Business Administrator (Current Employee) –  Southport15 June 2017
Archaic methods (some month end spreadsheets are 20 years old)
Disrespectful managers
Terrible 'blame culture'
Unwilling to advance younger employees
Staff turnover has greatly increased
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just another day
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire1 June 2017
It's a nice place to work if you like sitting behind a desk for 8 hours. I can't fault the staff, employees or job itself, the sitting down for a length of time just isn't my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Weedon, Northamptonshire1 May 2017
The work at Unipart Rail is good but when the work is not coming through its alot harder to find yourslef doing something to pass the day and when your full time you hsve to stay untill the end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, customer focused place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Doncaster16 April 2017
Good atmosphere most of the time. People work hard on the job and for each other and not just within and for the teams they are in. This isn't recognized enough. Excellent training but a silo effect still endures.Need to get more young people in as a demographic time bomb looms in the product knowledge areas.
Pros
excellent training.
Cons
poor wages comparatively
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be apart of
Student (Former Employee) –  Manchester Metropolitan University23 November 2016
Undertook a live project with the company in association with Manchester metropolitan University.

Great to be able to cooperate with live clients to get a taste of what is expected in the professional environment.

Interesting project overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
forklift truck driver (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, ENG5 December 2015
If you have ever work for this company before , for example through a agency you will see that ,if that person as have a problem etc, the company does not want to know & does not understand when someone as a problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good firm to work for.
Inventor Designer (Former Employee) –  Crewe, ENG13 June 2015
Very good firm to work for. The projects are varied and not too complicated. A good bunch of guys to support you. A good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unipart Rail look after its employees, the work is challenging and demanding and you are expected to perform your duties to a very high level.
Head of Sales (Former Employee) –  Crewe, ENG13 March 2015
Unipart Rail has allowed me to utilise all of my sales and managerial skills developed over many years in business.

To be an effect leader in the business you need the respect of all, it is important to be able to manage up as well as down but once accepted it is a great place to work. Developing strong compelling propositions for our customers and being in a position to support my staff and help them to broaden their knowledge and develop their account management capability is extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly company
Audit Support (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, ENG13 March 2015
Unipart Rail are very friendly, they are their to help their staff with personal issues as well as the workplace.

A typical day was to go into email and arrange audits for the company auditor to go into its suppliers. Also get information from the buyers and engineers as to what they would like discussed within the audit.

I learned a new system to use which was SAP where it held all information on the suppliers and how to upload information onto it.

co workers were exceptionally friendly and would always help if got stuck on something.

Making contact with the suppliers as not always happy to have an audit when they are required to.

Sending out the certification when a supplier had passed the audit and knew they would not be required to have another one for 3 years.
Pros
The outside help offered such as health support
Cons
Management always clock watching to see if anyone was late without asking reasons why
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unipart Rail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 25 reviews
57
49
34
22
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.4Culture

Unipart Rail Reviews by Location