Unilever Employee Reviews

Found 258 reviews matching the search See all 5,447 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stafd gpod to work with overall a good factory
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Gloucester2 November 2018
I have been working for manpower as agency with Unileaver i really did enjoy working there as i started when i was 18. The reason i walked out was because i felt like i wasnt getting offered full time work and i needed security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and enjoyable work place.
Global Supply Chain Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Liverpool19 October 2018
It was an enjoyable period of time. I was given enormous exposure to one of the world's largest and most impactful business and I was given the chance to make a difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that has lost it's way
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London12 October 2018
Job advancement extremely poor (unless you are a UFLP). People I worked with waited years before moving up to the next salary band - competitors pay considerably more for similar benefits. The company is very slow to react to trends which can make your job feel a bit pointless as innovations take years to come to market (by which point the trend has been and gone). If you don't fit in with the Unilever culture you won't last. Training is without doubt extremely poor, by far the worst I have ever experienced and as a result, a lot of new starts feel demotivated and unhappy with management. Management seem to have an 'us and them' mentality with regards to their staff - if they don't like the way you work or another manager does not like the way you work, you feel like people start to gang up on you behind closed doors. On the face of it, this is a great company but I would never recommend it to anyone. There has been a mass efflux of people in the past couple of years, with many moving to other companies for better salaries and to escape all of the politics that come with working for Unilever.
Pros
Flexi time is useful
Cons
Managers not always happy to let you take flexi time...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none of theese
Housekeeping Staff (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames, Greater London19 September 2018
I was not very happy about the working conditions and all the extra jobs every day over my main duties responsibilities and also the treatment of staff no respect and been rude at all times so I was needed to quit the job!
Pros
they give us the expired food from the kitchen and sometimes was nothing to eat
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not meet expectations
Customer Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Surrey12 September 2018
Overall you are given a good amount of responsibility, covering large accounts with different pressures ensuring you remain adaptable. You do have to seek work though constantly as a placement student because otherwise you will not been given tasks to complete. The culture is also cut-throat at times with other managers attempting to clam responsibility for your work, which is obviously not acceptable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Leeds4 September 2018
Enjoyable experience within a diverse multidisciplinary team. Relaxed yet productive environment. Many team events and trips to balance work with team building so that everyone is aware of each others strengths making for a more efficient workforce.
Pros
Friendly colleagues.
Cons
Time taken from concept to product on shelf.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developement
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Manchester, England31 August 2018
Worked for many years here, safety and excellence were paramount and this in turn delivered high production outputs and developed positive team structures
Pros
development and support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 August 2018
Great place to work
Found it a nice and friendly atmosphere learnt a lot and really grew as a result of working here is a pace i highly recommend. Brilliant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Wales21 August 2018
It's an alright place to work, but when you're on a zero hour contract with their agency it can sadly be difficult to have consistent and reliable money at all times. Typical work can be varied and easy enough to understand when you learn it, but also can be difficult when you're working alone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and frendly work place
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Doncaster3 August 2018
DHL is a company that repacks products such as body spays, shower gels , shaving creams . At the time i worked there , my position was a liner leader, i had set up line every morning and look affter 20 people, the job was simple open product from the pallete and base them on working line ,the next task was pack them in to the specific boxes
Pros
clean canten
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Office.
TRS Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames, Greater London1 August 2018
Very friendly team who support each other and work very well as a team communicating excellently within a local and global team. Enjoyed working with such a varied team!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, great colleagues ...
Documentation Manager / Technical Author (Former Employee) –  Port Sunlight1 August 2018
I can't fault Unilever's ability to find great people to work with. With the odd exception, as you'd find anywhere, everyone was dedicated to their jobs and generally got on well.

Unilever must have been doing something right for me to want to go to work for over 6 years, without a single day wishing I could just stay in bed.

Management were okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purpose and Sustainability 1st
SR. GLOBAL MARKETING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  London31 July 2018
I have only worked here for a short time but it was refreshing to see how much Unilever cares about incorporating purpose and sustainability to every aspect of their company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant company to work for
Depot Manager (Former Employee) –  HAYES,SOUTHALL,ACTON,MANCHESTER,SURREY30 July 2018
Unilever look after their staff, the life work balance is good and salaries are very competitive.

The stand by their staff encouraging training and development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work with lots of stress
Product Technology Leader (Current Employee) –  Gloucester25 July 2018
Unilever made the great, fantastic name long time ago unfortunately management changed and all good and positive ambitions will soon disappear as soon as you will start working with that new management who involving all “news” without even considering there is an years of experiencing staff with lots of practical feedback , anyway : even it does take a long process and time and effort to get back the good name, it’s still nice place to work with lots of helpful and smile colleagues and benefits , good luck
Pros
Colleagues, benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Printing and Connectivity (Current Employee) –  Port Sunlight24 July 2018
great place to work, good work life balance and great sense of belonging to a collective group.

proactive people with a good moral compass and ethics
Pros
shares and health care benefits
Cons
tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nurturing company
Business Systems Analyst/Developer (Former Employee) –  Crawley1 July 2018
Great memories of being warmly welcomed, provided with top quality training, encouraged to provide current solutions and great that main focus was the company's factories and their staff, who were always welcoming and friendly. Happy times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I can think of
Head Office Team Secretary (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Central and Westminster23 June 2018
Beautiful award-winning designed office, Perfectly appointed on the river. The culture in Unilever was always about teamwork, and wellbeing as well as getting results.

The most difficult part of the job would be the sheer diversity of types of people involved and how to maintain a cohesive team.
Pros
subsidised lunches, beautiful offices
Cons
large teams to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable and trustworthy team
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Slough Trading Estate, Berkshire5 June 2018
Managment team was a reliable team and very understanding. Especially, when it came to personal issues. The warehousing team was fun and made work enjoyable and wanted me to stay with the company for such a long time.
Pros
Amazing salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly Team work, Near to Home
Security Office (Former Employee) –  Berkshire3 June 2018
I was working with a friendly and multi-culture team players. I learned a lot experience in easy and difficult challenges. I had also learnt a lot knowledge about new technology and systems. This period gave my much confidence, trustworthy, reliability and hard working in all conditions.
Pros
Near to Home, Good Team Work
Cons
long shift ( 12 Hours )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unilever. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,451 reviews
52.5K
41.9K
3807
2152
196

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture