UK Ministry of Defence Employee Reviews in Portsmouth

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 481 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment if no commitments
RN POLICE (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire23 May 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the RN, however, stability is now non-existent and work\life balance is questionable. If you have no responsibilities or commitments this is a perfect job for you, with promotion prospects.
Pros
Healthcare, dental, holiday allowance, security.
Cons
No stability, poor work/life balance, no union and therefore no say, an expectation to work all hours at no notice, sometimes for months on end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to do. Good mates. But more and more demanding.
Ministry of Defence security officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth15 August 2017
Working for the M.O.D is a great job to do, plenty of responsibilities and lots to learn. The wage increases am afraid has been limited to 1% per year for a very long time and not good. Pension is good.
Great people to work with and more responsibilities being added all the time.
Pros
Good mates. Good holiday entitlement. Lots to do.
Cons
12 Hour shifts. Your body clock gets confused.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibility for work-life balance.
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire23 June 2017
Enjoyable place to work with many military characters inside the workplace, not much room for growth within the branch as not many civilian roles.

Main workflow can become repetitive, but plenty of opportunities to take on other tasks if you're willing to volunteer.

Relatively simple job, hardest part would be trying to please the several layers of management, sometimes poor communication between them can lead to confusion in the work being undertaken.

Exceedingly flexible with work-life patterns, a major bonus of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Split Review
International & Commonwealth Taining Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth11 June 2017
MOD(N) as a Civil Servant

Always some different challenges each day.
Never shirk away from hard decisions or accept half hearted solutions.
Good working relationship with higher management.
Extremely professional and outward thinking culture.
Hardest part of the job was balancing so many tasks/responsibilities in time available. Yet rewarding feeling when you did just that, day in day out.

BABCOCK as a contractor to MOD(N)
As above.
Generally good working relationship with immediate higher management.
Atmosphere of uncertainty, especially during initial changeover, .

Maintaining high standards despite the challenges.
Pros
Continuity of working pattern and the sense of humour of colleagues within RN/MOD
Cons
Change of management style as a contractor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Employer - Way of Life
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire10 May 2017
I served over 17 years in the RN and it is more than an employer but a way of life. My colleagues are family. I would recommend joining the Royal Navy to anybody.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
royal navy
Royal Navy (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth14 December 2016
Work for the royal navy for 4.5 years good pat job stability and the only down side is being away from home o much and being to under manned so there is a lot job stress and a lot of stress put on us as sailors
Pros
good pension
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Contract Manger (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth12 January 2016
As a member of the Royal Navy you work within a structured organisation. Promotion for those who are willing and wanting to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never dull
Military Guard Service (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth4 November 2014
No two days were the same.
I learned so much about CCTV that I would not have known if I hadn't worked here.
We all got on well together and worked as a part of a team.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil service benefits but lack of progression opportunities
CSO5 (Civilian Security Officer Grade 5) (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth15 January 2014
Can be mundane but steady competitive salary with enhancements and plenty of time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning experience
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, ENG14 January 2014
My day to day job varies as Welfare Support and being the first point of contact within this organisation i have to adhere to every caller and the different cases that are put to me, along the way i learn how best to deal with upset or difficult clients as well as gaining more and more experience every. I can always look towards management for support and knowledge as they are always on hand to help that to includes my co-workers i enjoy working with a team and feel i excel from this. It can be extremely hard working with service personnel's families considering some of the line of work that the service men & women have to carry out however the most enjoyable part of my day is helping to solve some of the difficulties that these families are going through and seeing a smile on their faces.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin/Clerical
Admin Officer  (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth22 May 2013
Left MOD on Voluntary Early Release (VERS) after 24 years service in March 2012
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more UK Ministry of Defence reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UK Ministry of Defence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 481 reviews
5193
4169
385
218
116

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture