Uber Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 1,863 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un workable hours
Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Glasgow9 October 2019
Uber is a grate platform for customers but for drivers to make a desent wage there isnt anuff hours in the day ..if u want to be out the house for more than half the week uber is the job for u u get no time with famly grand kids .u become disconected and depressed for being out constant .so u can make anuff to pay yr way ..apart from taking over yr life its ok lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uber
Private Hire Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Manchester1 October 2019
Self employed driver, but you do receive benefits and bonuses and discounts through the brand. You wouldn’t expect this as you are self employed but you do feel valued
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Taxi driver Janary (Former Employee) –  Leeds25 September 2019
self employed great company to work for choose the hours that suit you meet lots of interesting people .
uber hub for support and assistance is good never really had any issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uber are sly
Chauffeur (Current Employee) –  Manchester25 September 2019
Your doing silly mileage. The rates are low. Big investment for nice new cars and in return you get rubbish rates. So overall its not really worth it because your just killing yourself for what? £1 a mile. If you have any issues and try escalating this with uber, uber fo round in circles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend to anyone
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  london essex15 September 2019
stressful work low paid people not nice
people working in help have no idea about working in a car.
you can easily suspend uber drivers for a week a month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self employed
Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire4 September 2019
you are your own boss, do as you please with no boss or management. there is nothing much to sat but just get in the car and drop and pick people and carry on with your business
Pros
own boaa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Experienced PCO driver (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 September 2019
its good working with uber as uber because it provides freedom u can come to work anytime u like i love working for uber as driver really enjoy it i wish i have joined them early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turnover spilts. 25% uber fee, 20% fuel. £3000 maintenance £2500 insurance and over £1000 car wash
Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester31 August 2019
I work out my hourly rate as £7.15 per hour last year. Earnings is too low. Insurance is too expensive. 25 percentages is too much for uber fee while drivers earn too little. Past tax year turn of 40k, uber took 10k and business cost 14.5k. I made 16k for 7 days work and no holiday. 50 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall lack of consideration for drivers
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  all over29 August 2019
Uber never had any consideration when it came to their drivers. The payment was always cut. Team members for uber were always arguing over payment. Most times we would receive less than 50% of the rides payment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I can work according to my own time that is the beauty of this job
Driver Hire (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 August 2019
I enjoy this job because I can work according to my own suitable time,but as a female sometimes i feel bit insecure because sometimes i had to deal with chellenges. sometimes people are drunk they dont know to behave with females.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To work with people
Driver (Current Employee) –  Ilford29 July 2019
I enjoy this job, is cry hard of course, but we have to manage in life. Is very good because you can choose your own time for work, learn the city very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomous workplace
Driver/chauffeur Executive (Current Employee) –  London14 July 2019
Typically start at 06.00 am to service the rush hour. Usually finished by 2.00 pm.
The hardest part of the job is waiting for requests but usually in London this is not too long.
There is very little , if any, interaction with management and the worst part of the system is the very high commission rate they take.
However the most enjoyable part of the work is the flexibility that the system allows.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Long hours and no security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Focusing on Drivers Problems
Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 July 2019
In terms of Driver safety,Uber is better than any other company. But.... The commission they take is way too high, leaving the drivers with very little money for the work they did and the risks they took.
Drivers are left alone when people get sick in their car. Yes they will pay you, only if you get receipt from the company; here is the real problem, when a customer get sick at 12 at night, most of the cleaning companies are closed, only 2-3 open at night in entire London. If you take your car to them at that time, you probably will wait in the cue, then wait for the cleaning. This could take hours. And your night is ruined. you only get your cleaning expenses back, but no loss of earnings. Which is important for the cab drivers.
Fares are too low, and the commission is way too high, drivers have to work very long hours in order to cope with London expenses, hence many drivers are driving extremely tired. I have seen sleeping drivers while driving... Uber must calculate and take seriously the working hours and earnings combination.. Communication is a bit hard. Uber needs night stations, with coffee, toilet, sandwich kind of services. Uber must focus on drivers problems, like being ripped of by the insurance companies. Have you been involved in any accident? is not a relevant question. It means, Pay as and park your car in your drive way... A bad driver hits you from behind while you waiting for the traffic lights to change, should never be your fault.. Everyone seem quite about this.. Drivers are not monsters, TFL is only focusing on public safety. But never on drivers
  more... safety, UBER should raise drivers voices... Think about it, you are sitting in your office, and your clients are drunk, kicking your furniture, computer etc and breaking them. Shouting at you. And you have to pay for the damage. Or your insurers will pay, but this time your premium goes up.. How fair is this?
You must focus on your drivers problems.
  less
Pros
Drivers Safety
Cons
Earnings, ignorance, hours etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn.
Private hire driver (Former Employee) –  London1 July 2019
Every day you meet new people and hear different stories from all over the world. I would not recommend this job to people who hate sitting in traffic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place to work
Cab driver FT (UBER Driver) (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London19 June 2019
Lots of skills and experience to offer working at team work. Friendly managers willing to help all the way through to obtain a career development opportunity.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham11 June 2019
I have worked for uber it was good as you meet and greet different people from various backgrounds.

Also you travel to different destinations lets say you explore more places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
PCO Driver (Current Employee) –  London11 June 2019
The good is that you can choose whenever you work , you get job from every drop off ... at the end you can put your home destination so you pic up job only on your way ... the pay is not very good because they charge to much on commission , if they reduce the commission will be much better , driver can stay on line for a decent amount of hours , so more rest , and more job for everybody .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for two years with Uber. They don’t care about anything except money
Driver (Former Employee) –  London3 June 2019
When you have a question they only answer using a company answer Uncaring staff who don’t last long uber just announced they lost a billion pounds it doesn’t surprise me at all badly run and Will continue to loss money
Pros
Paid quick
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better work somewhere else
Uber driver (Current Employee) –  Brighton and Hove, East Sussex25 April 2019
Where do I start

1. Don’t pay the drivers the correct rates. I would advise all drivers to record every single trip manually to verify that it was logged

2. When “all trips” shows on the dashboard, they will refuse to pay for a long trip straight away and will use the excuse of “manual security verification”. You will have to chase the payment a few times. Initially you will be told “could take up to 48 hours. Once that passes “could take up to a week”. Once that passes “we are waiting for the specialized team for assessment” and so on

3. It’s a usable system, but far from perfect so when they have their automated reports switched on, drivers automatically get navigation reports according to their stupid maps that don’t see road blockages or know that the customer verbally requested alternate route due to traffic

4. Customer service rep are robots that only read from a script manual and do not Lisen to your cause of concern, even funnier when they choose the wrong script to read from

5. Uber rates are generally cheaper than local cabs, as a driver doing a cheap fare then a further 25% taken by Uber, then you pay for your fuel, car upkeep, maintenance, insurance and finally pay your tax, you’re better off stacking shelves at Sainsbury’s or live on social benefits

6. A normal job you work 37.5 hours per week to get roughly £1300 a month. I have to work 25 hours to break even and earn £0 after paying my overheads, so end up working 60 hours a week rather than “pick your own hours”. And will usually have to work rush hours otherwise you’re not earning enough
Pros
You’re off the street, sorry almost of the street
Cons
All of the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham9 April 2019
Uber was good for me because you got to
Meet people from all walks of life and you can learn from their experience and no two people are the same you could be in Birmingham in the morning and by the evening you can be anywhere in the south of England other days in Yorkshire and some days all over the West Midlands management was good always helped if it was needed
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Friday or Saturday night when people be sick in your car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Uber. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,863 reviews
5604
4455
3355
2156
1293

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture