Turning Point Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
S/w (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire23 June 2018
What a disgusting company called Turning point with useless Team leader and Managers always Gossip without doing their jobs . Can't recommend to frien
Pros
Service users ok
Cons
Racists managers and team leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t touch with a barge pole
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire8 June 2018
Where to start - didn’t survive the probationary period for a number of reasons though I have extensive experience with supporting adults with learning difficulties and challenging behaviours.

The house I worked in was inadequate and not fit for purpose for the 3 residence. turning point relied solely on TFS agency staff that was there purely for the tax free earnings - though shied away from any of the day-to-day responsibilities.

Management were reactive rather then proactive to resolving any issues with the agency staff, the welfare of the service users and their care plans.

The work environment was as intense and demanding as you can imagine especially as agency staff would leave you alone for periods of time with all 3 residence with challenging behaviours.

No real benefits to mention apart from the flexibility your able to work whatever hours you wanted.
Pros
Hard to come up with any
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire3 June 2018
management awful , good hours and good service but unable to carry out employment with the manager apart from that very enjoyable role and lovely clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope!
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Margate31 May 2018
avoid company at all costs, very unwelcoming, management are awful and only seem to care about themselves rather than the employees or the service. No thanks ever given even when going out your way to assist them
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is what you make it - the truth
Staff (Former Employee) –  Nationwide23 May 2018
Working in this company’s is what you make of it. Complaints about management in some reviews seems to be from people who didn’t do their job in the first place. All health and social care companies are working hard despite cuts to budgets which are decided by the commissioners and not Turning Point - yet we strive to offer the best services despite of this.
Paperwork is there for a reason and is a legal requirement and also evidences the work staff do so I find it heard to believe that people complain about this when I know for a fact some staff are happy to sit around not doing much when service users are still in bed so there is plenty of time to complete paperwork
The most of the moans come from people who want an easy life- it’s takes a certain kind of person to do any job in a health and social care setting and Turning Point has an abundance of dedicated staff with a few who would rather stir up issues than work together with those that show fantastic work ethics and the sharing of good practice amongst team members
The whining of some of the former staff on here are bad feeling when they don’t get things their own way
If you enjoy making a difference, supporting people to do what they can do no matter how small, if you enjoy seeing people being valued for who they are and you don’t mind evidencing the good work you do as part of your job role then this company will work with you not against you
There are good and bad staff in all walks of life and in all job roles from front line to managers . In no Way is it an easy job, it takes dedication and sweat and
  more... tears some days but so worth it and the rewards speak for themselves when you see what a difference you make
There are a few on these reviews who need to take a look at themselves as sometimes the behaviour in the workplace is a reflection of themselves rather than the company and staff they have worked with
All health and social care pay is poor compared to the skill set needed to do this job but in this job it’s not just about the pay
Personally I feel the company are much better than most, reward staff as best they can under restraints of financial budgets and value their staff members
In all honesty the bad reviews from some areas are plainly obvious as to who they are and If truthful would state their failings and give an honest review.imho
  less
Pros
Long standing company, person centred Committed staff in some areas, flexible working available, supportive management
Cons
unsocial hours, can be challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Management do not listen to staff.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford28 April 2018
Turning Point Bradford senior management lacks direction and staff are just left out with no information. The mangers make things up as they go on. No support, one promise after the other. Terribe communication. Stay Away for your own Sanity.
Pros
Other staff, Service users and Training
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall - positive experience
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Margate, Kent31 March 2018
Good company to start a career in health and social care. Large team, flexible rota. Clear job expectations. Management team mostly supportive. Always plenty of shifts available
Pros
Well facilitated, pleasure to support service users
Cons
Pitiful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted within 4 months
Senior Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Northamptonshire24 March 2018
I joined turning point in November and have loved it from day one. I have over 6 years experience of being a support worker and never felt fully happy as I do with turning point. 2 days are never the same and it’s amazing to see how my service user has improved since being with turning point. Get our challenging days but I wouldn’t change them as it what makes me love my job. Looking forward to starting as a senior support worker this week and progressing even more in the future! Thank you turning point for this opportunity
Pros
Progression, decent pay for support work, new reward, good annual leave
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and professional workplace
Support Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Birchington, Kent13 March 2018
I found turning point was very professional and gave me a lot of skills to take away, also i became trained in first aid and bugal and modazolam trained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and demanding
Various Job Roles (Current Employee) –  London18 February 2018
Demanding and difficult to manage without guidance, with guidance and support, you can achieve great things, all depends on the service and commissioner vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years was more than enough
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Leamington Spa5 February 2018
supporting those with disabilities is exceptionally rewarding and on a day to day basis this was a great job. however Turning Point is constantly expanding despite the fact that existing services are stretched and under staffed. I personally felt the need to go due to low pay and stress caused by low staffing and HR complaining about amount spent on agency. why cant the Service users do more in house activities where we don't need the staff? was HRs solution. this to me does not seem very customer friendly having worked with this group of individuals for 10 years they are used to going out daily not once a week if we've got the staff.
Also very little understanding or compassion offered by senior management for staff health concerns support negligible and purely dependent on how good your line manager was- I had a good one otherwise I'd have gone sooner
Pros
good annual leave entitlement
Cons
unsocial hours with no enhancements
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work. Overworked - under paid
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire13 January 2018
I worked here for a while and have never worked for a company so disorganised, with to many management who work against staff. The paperwork which i understand is a legal requirement takes up more time than looking after actual service users, plus the amount of time you do completing paperwork, in my opinion the service users were neglected. I could do nothing about this and could not cope anymore working for such an unhappy, disorganised workplace. Who care more about ticks on paperwork rather than genuine care of people with special needs.
Pros
The serive users were amazing people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and rewarding
Manager (Current Employee) –  England11 January 2018
I've worked for the company for coming up to 5 years, what people don't realise coming into health and social care just how demanding a job it is, and therefore you need a specific mind set.

We are the first area hit with cuts every year, making the job harder and challenging, but the job is what you make it. Not everyday will be the same, some days can be tougher than others but when you have a good day it will out weigh the negative.

Managers despite what is said do work really hard behind the scenes, and the job is becoming more more paper focused to ensure that changes to the legislation are contentiously being met, which is why it is harder to come out on the floor.

I have found Turning Point to move with the times, putting the people at the heart of everything, from individual regions to a National Peoples Parliament, which gives the people who are being supported to have their chance to have a say.

I've seen people who never have voted before, vote for the first time because they want to have a say in the quality of their care, people who were institutionalised in long stay hospitals thrive in a more relaxed setting.

On a daily basis, I hear laughter from the staff and the people we support, and look forward to coming to work everyday....and I mean that.
Pros
The people being supported
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff teams
Senior Support Worker and Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Derby10 January 2018
Underpaid for the amount of work staff do especially since the job can be mentally draining and physically challenging when dealing with service users with challenging behaviors.

Need to offer more nationally recognized training courses for staff to advance into management.
Pros
Excellent staff teams
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
Support worker (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria9 January 2018
When I first started the support, training, area Manager was excellent. Once the area manager left the home Manager is never to been seen, not supportive and not interested in the welfare of the people of staff. The new senior manager doesn’t care also and allows the home Manager to get away with absolutely everything. The home has no structure no work life balance not cared for. The staff are good and care deeply for the people but the lack of support has brought the moral down within the team. The company is disorganised and is a blame culture company. It is such a shame as in the beginning it was such a good supportive company. It needs true leadership and not a bombastic do as your told approach. Such a high turnover of staff now there is no continuity.
Pros
Training
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly managed, serous concerns regarding safety, agency staff .
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kent4 January 2018
Registered manager absolutely awful, no skills in leading a team at all and relies on team leaders to carry the roles that have been allocated!
managment don't have a clue what their job role is let alone for the support workers.
Always understaffed
Very high turn over of staff
Poor wages
Sickness policy only 3 periods with in a year once you go past this you get put back on probation with first formal warning. Sick again final formal warning and then they threaten to sack you! Totally reliant on agency workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Support worker (Former Employee) –  Thanet, Kent11 November 2017
A typical work day is very productive, as i was designated to care for one individual at a time. I learnt how to care for individual with dementia and other complex disabilitiy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullies. Not a good company to work for
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire21 October 2017
Dont consider this company.. culture is one of bullying which starts at the top and filters down to the ones who try so hard. Person centred? Definatly not for the service users, they are a means to an end.
They cant get staff & run on agency.. stay well away.
Pros
Service usets
Cons
Bullying condoned & promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Chipping Norton10 October 2017
I wouldn't recommend working for company
Bad management no communication little support
Service users left alone not person centred little positive behaviour support
Lack of knowledge from management unapproachable no knowledge of current care legislation
Run by agency workers lack of staff unsafe and service users unhappy quite a culture to be involved in
Avoid ......
Pros
None
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullies
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham2 October 2017
Nasty two faced people,bad managment,everyone cares about other people"s business not about residents,this company made me sick to work there,i was bullied on everyday basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turning Point. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 240 reviews
582
460
343
220
135

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture