Turning Point Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all cost
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire9 October 2018
Worst place to work for
Management is awful
5 managers in the past 18 months
Safeguarding issues
Bullies
Under paid over worked
Save yourself avoid
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work place
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire20 September 2018
In my experience line manager have gone above and beyond to support staff through mental ill health, bereavement and difficult home life.
Salisbury line managers seem to recognise by looking after their staff they are enabling them to look after the individuals in the best way too.
Care is very person centred and very much about giving the individuals the best quality of life.
All staff work really hard and go above and beyond to make things happen.
A lot of people really in the job for the right reasons and it is lovely to see.
Pros
Being part of a team and making a difference
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent service users, everything else is poor.
Support Workere (Current Employee) –  Stafford7 September 2018
The job itself is rewarding on many levels. Job satisfaction is great from the point of view doing good. However being left alone with a name verbal service user for hours at a time can take its toll. Some staff refuse to work with the tougher service users which puts massive pressure on those who are willing to work with any of the service users because of this many days are repetitive and the same in a job that’s advertised as every day is different. Some staff get every weekend off while others work them all. Work/ life balance can be non existent at times, staff sickness is massive as is turnover. Hours are long, some days 14.5 hours with no breaks at all allocated, there can also be a minimum of 8.5 hours between shifts which can leave staff over tired and with low morale and motivation. The wage is a little above minimum, which for the work done is pathetic as days can be very intense. There is also little opportunity for promotion, opportunities are few and far between and when they do arise experience is ignored. If you work for turning point get used to being taken advantage of, false promises and always being in financially destitute. It is also easy to get injured in work, which will result in sickness and then you get no pay and SSP making paying bills next to impossible.

Support staff often run the services without any management in the buildings for days sometimes weeks at a time.

Appalling company that doesn’t care about staff and doesn’t know how to look after staff.
Pros
Service users who need you, plenty of overtime
Cons
Poor pay, long hours, no promotion, badly managed services, being paid incorrectly, management who don’t appreciate hard work, no breaks and a poor work/ life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only place I've been given the chance to progress
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Kidderminster7 September 2018
I'm aged 22 and never expected to be a team leader- this is not due to desperation like I've known in some companies who will just hire anyone for the sake of it without looking at what they can bring to the company. Through hard work and dedication to my job I am now in a position I'd never expect to be in. I've worked in nursing homes privately owned, the conditions never good and 99% of the time you're limited to only a few minutes supporting each individual which sometimes is time precious to them. I hated it because I knew even when I tried my hardest I could never give them all the time and attention that they wanted- working for turning point is different, the job is surrounding the service users, person centred care is one of the most important parts of the job and is practiced certainly in the service I work in. Management are flexible, no one in forced into doing shifts if they don't want to and long hours are avoided usually only happen due to personal choice. We are constantly reminded it's our job to support individuals to gain and maintain independence, we are encouraged to take positive risks to enable service users to try new experiences- which is an amazing satisfaction that I've been looking for in a job for a long time. Working for turning point will teach you the difference between being a support worker and a carer- you do have to have the right mindset to be in this job, you need to be open minded, laid back to an extent and of course, compassionate. If you're that kind of person I would definitely recommend! The most important thing I find that TP considers  more... is feedback - if changes need to be made then they do listen. I know this from personal experience, and support is constantly provided through training opportunities, regular supervisions and the company provides professional counselling for emotional support if required. This job is exactly what YOU make it.  less
Pros
Flexible, listen to feedback, person centred
Cons
Online systems used for staff could do with improvement, sometimes interviews need to provide more detail on what to expect
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Support worker (Former Employee) –  Bedfordshire7 September 2018
The staff and colleagues are what makes working work this company bearable. They are massively understaffed and the leadership is not great. Training is almost non existent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor care
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire4 September 2018
The company offers poor care to its clients and doesn't think much about its staff. My experience was that there were divides between the staff, often split into separate clicks which affected the care given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive of career development and service user change.
Drug and Alcohol Worker (Current Employee) –  Wiltshire31 August 2018
I've worked in 3 different turning points across the country and all have been more supportive than I could have expected. The managers always had time to push me and help me develop. As a result I've now progressed professionally and had a substantial pay rise.

The company are faced with lots of challenges in regards to budget cuts but are always trying to provide the best support to service users and staff that they can. It is stressful but that happens with change. When it settles it will be a fantastic place to work. Stress is a natural part of the job if you care about clients. I have always been supported through the stress and my mental health has always been a priority for my line management. I feel valued and appreciated.

It's much better than the other drug agencies I've worked for.
Pros
Supportive and caring management. Great staff team.
Cons
Constraints applied by third parties on the vision of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ers. So much time taken up with paperwork you don't have time for service users.
Ex support worker (Former Employee) –  Witney, Oxfordshire16 August 2018
We do I start. Bad rude management, don't care about the staff even worse about the service users. Long hours with no support if you need it. Meds to be given when you are over tired and up in the night. Just told to get on with it. I feel sorry for the staff and the service users in Witney.
Pros
Service users. and colleges
Cons
Long hours. Lone working, unsafe, poor training.. Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job with career development opportunities
Project worker (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire3 August 2018
Turning Point gives people opportunities to advance their careers as long as you put in the hard work yourself. They genuinely care about their service users and staff.
Management are supportive and fair.
Pros
Good support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't choose to work for them
Specialist Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Dover30 July 2018
Seconded over by the NHS absolutely hate the organisation.
Bad management.
Awful Pay
No benefits.
They are entirely about profits which makes me laugh as they're a "charity".
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former staff
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  England25 July 2018
I worked for this company and did not find them supportive at all not to any of there staff.
Only the managers supported each other any other staff members felt devalued.
Pros
Left
Cons
Working for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire20 July 2018
Stay away from this company. I worked here for 6 months. I was underpaid on multiple times and would often forget to even pay at all. No progression opportunities and trying to get hold of HR is near enough impossible. It's all about the management, not about the Service Users or other member's of staff. Management belittle and talk down to staff and you feel undervalued. Reading the other reviews it appears it's a nationwide issue and not just Salisbury. There was only one manager in Salisbury who was great but still the company as a whole is a joke. They entice you in with lies so don't fall for it. This is especially the case in Supportive Living.
Pros
The Service Users and staff members. I wish them all the best.
Cons
Too long to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a young person
Mental Health Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Stevenage2 July 2018
Handled sensitive information and offered emotional and motivational support to various people suffering from mental health and substance
abuse issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire3 June 2018
management awful , good hours and good service but unable to carry out employment with the manager apart from that very enjoyable role and lovely clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope!
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Margate31 May 2018
avoid company at all costs, very unwelcoming, management are awful and only seem to care about themselves rather than the employees or the service. No thanks ever given even when going out your way to assist them
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is what you make it - the truth
Staff (Former Employee) –  Nationwide23 May 2018
Working in this company’s is what you make of it. Complaints about management in some reviews seems to be from people who didn’t do their job in the first place. All health and social care companies are working hard despite cuts to budgets which are decided by the commissioners and not Turning Point - yet we strive to offer the best services despite of this.
Paperwork is there for a reason and is a legal requirement and also evidences the work staff do so I find it heard to believe that people complain about this when I know for a fact some staff are happy to sit around not doing much when service users are still in bed so there is plenty of time to complete paperwork
The most of the moans come from people who want an easy life- it’s takes a certain kind of person to do any job in a health and social care setting and Turning Point has an abundance of dedicated staff with a few who would rather stir up issues than work together with those that show fantastic work ethics and the sharing of good practice amongst team members
The whining of some of the former staff on here are bad feeling when they don’t get things their own way
If you enjoy making a difference, supporting people to do what they can do no matter how small, if you enjoy seeing people being valued for who they are and you don’t mind evidencing the good work you do as part of your job role then this company will work with you not against you
There are good and bad staff in all walks of life and in all job roles from front line to managers . In no Way is it an easy job, it takes dedication and sweat and
  more... tears some days but so worth it and the rewards speak for themselves when you see what a difference you make
There are a few on these reviews who need to take a look at themselves as sometimes the behaviour in the workplace is a reflection of themselves rather than the company and staff they have worked with
All health and social care pay is poor compared to the skill set needed to do this job but in this job it’s not just about the pay
Personally I feel the company are much better than most, reward staff as best they can under restraints of financial budgets and value their staff members
In all honesty the bad reviews from some areas are plainly obvious as to who they are and If truthful would state their failings and give an honest review.imho
  less
Pros
Long standing company, person centred Committed staff in some areas, flexible working available, supportive management
Cons
unsocial hours, can be challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Management do not listen to staff.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford28 April 2018
Turning Point Bradford senior management lacks direction and staff are just left out with no information. The mangers make things up as they go on. No support, one promise after the other. Terribe communication. Stay Away for your own Sanity.
Pros
Other staff, Service users and Training
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall - positive experience
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Margate, Kent31 March 2018
Good company to start a career in health and social care. Large team, flexible rota. Clear job expectations. Management team mostly supportive. Always plenty of shifts available
Pros
Well facilitated, pleasure to support service users
Cons
Pitiful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted within 4 months
Senior Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Northamptonshire24 March 2018
I joined turning point in November and have loved it from day one. I have over 6 years experience of being a support worker and never felt fully happy as I do with turning point. 2 days are never the same and it’s amazing to see how my service user has improved since being with turning point. Get our challenging days but I wouldn’t change them as it what makes me love my job. Looking forward to starting as a senior support worker this week and progressing even more in the future! Thank you turning point for this opportunity
Pros
Progression, decent pay for support work, new reward, good annual leave
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and professional workplace
Support Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Birchington, Kent13 March 2018
I found turning point was very professional and gave me a lot of skills to take away, also i became trained in first aid and bugal and modazolam trained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turning Point. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 287 reviews
596
470
355
223
143

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture