Travis Perkins plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made redundant on maternity leave following 9 years service!
Rather not say (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire22 May 2018
No maternity pay
No equality with regards to wages
Made redundant following a flexible working request whilst on maternity leave...AVOID!
Not the company it once was
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travis Perkins
Customer service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rickmansworth22 May 2018
Woudnt work for them if you made me long hours no breaks no appreciation for your hard work pay is poor for the work you do and only pay attention to health and safety when they want very clicky company one big boys club at the top of the company something that very much needs to be breached rather have no job then work for Travis Perkins
Pros
Staff and customers make it fun
Cons
Long hours poor pay management think something special
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Accounts Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aldridge, West Midlands14 May 2018
Happy and fun place to work, good prospects and friendly environment. happy overall place to be working for.
management could have been a bit better
Pros
good pension
Cons
not good location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Driver (Current Employee) –  Shropshire4 May 2018
Very poor managment. Have to ask drivers whats legal and illegal has they have not got a clue. Allways working overtime for FREE as they wont pay it. . Company is a joke which is a shame as it could be a good job
Pros
Store discounts
Cons
Poor management and low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
Na (Former Employee) –  Scotland4 May 2018
Worked here before for a branch in Scotland.....as title says do not work here! Long hours underpaid, staff are not friendly! They lure you in with false promises, job security is not there at all!!!!
Pros
Fininshing at 5
Cons
Having to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainee/Sales
Driver / Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 April 2018
I started as a trainee meant to be on a two year program. After nine months I started working on the trade counter. I eventually moved into the plumbing sales section.

Mainly you would be speaking with customers and suppliers over the phone or the trade counter.

The company allowed me to complete a two year part time course at College and MOL books to take home.

I settled in the Pollockshaws branch but around the two year mark I was sent to keyline on south street. I started to get anxious and unhappy with this move.

After speaking to my parents I said I don't want to work there anymore. They agreed with me to take a career break, I phoned the branch and they said ok bye.
Pros
College, Mol, some work mates
Cons
Managers coming and going, Lack of care of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad environment
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  cardiff rc27 April 2018
worst place ever to work
from management to Team Leaders none of them know what to do......... do not recommend no one to work there!!! They need to go for some management courses ASAP no manners to speak with workers......
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Few opportunities to advance
Direct Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Saltash25 April 2018
This is a job that I was in ten years ago and the role has clearly changed in that time. When I was emplyed there the opportunity to move your career forward seemed limited so I moved on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Yard Person (Former Employee) –  Northampton15 April 2018
The job was very easy going and the rate of pay was good. Working outdoors which I like.
The management was fantastic with very good training for health and safety.
Pros
Working outside in the summer
Cons
Working outside in the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult work enviroment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bracknell3 April 2018
low morale amongst staff degrades to petty fights and shallow rumours to be spread region wide. as with all business there are good and bad days, however there seems to be more bad than good.
Pros
a certain level of job permenance
Cons
long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales negotiator (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire3 April 2018
Fabulous enviroment, all very friendly, would take calls and deal with emails, even made good friends with suppliers. Always had good incentives going on and management made time for their staff!
Pros
great cafe, great hours, great benefits
Cons
lots of stairs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teamwork place.
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Northampton20 March 2018
Pretty good place to work, They care very much about health and safety. They want to offer as much overtimes as they can. Good food in the canteen but a bit expensive. Wickes offers better prices :)
Pros
Expensive lunches
Cons
Managment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for progression , family oriented
Control the day-to-day running of the branch (Former Employee) –  Borehamwood / Hampstead15 March 2018
Extremely good company to work for, Staff are well looked after by this professional company. I would recommend working for this company in any role and any of its associated businesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Trade Associate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands14 March 2018
A good secure company to work for I have been in the group nearly 3 years now looking to getting something closer to home ! I love working on a trade counter seeing customers face to face enjoy the banter !!
Pros
Good team
Cons
Long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
HGV DRIVER (Former Employee) –  London8 March 2018
Great job, I'd be happy to go back anytime, busy all day, position is as you'd expect, plus customer interaction & general duties around the yard, good company all round.
Pros
Good company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Yardsman (Former Employee) –  Rotherham4 March 2018
A fantastic team to work with and very helpfully company never 2 busy to help or train there employees great company always felt at home and easy to approach management as well as feeling more like a family than a work place.
Pros
Fantastic team
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it or hate it
Process Analyst (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire1 March 2018
If you can cope with a complete lack of direction from the top down, constant firefighting because someone higher up has an idea and lots of infighting between brands, then this is a place for you
Pros
TP discounts
Cons
No direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perfect employer??
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Warwickshire27 February 2018
Travis ticked all the boxes for me Bar job security, I thought it had that too until sadly being made redundant. Every other aspect of working for TP ticked all the boxes. The work life balance, massively supported by the management team is second to none,
Pros
All
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Romford, Greater London21 February 2018
Great company to work for shop based environment great people to work with and salary was in keeping the store was called tile giant based in Romford .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Contract manager / project coordinator (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire and warminster14 February 2018
extremely good company to work for.
staff are well looked after by this professional company.
i would recommend working for this company in any role and any of its associated businesses.
Pros
staff treated with respect
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Travis Perkins plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 389 reviews
595
4126
368
243
157

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture