Towergate Insurance Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Work Experiance
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Oxted, Surrey23 February 2019
Spent a week working with the people from Towergate in the Oxted office. Great people, great work ethic there as teams work hard to get the best commissions for bonuses on their pay check.

Staff will frequently head to the pub after work which is fun.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Very monotonous job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Area Team
Area Conduct Officer (Former Employee) –  Wales11 February 2019
Enjoyed being part of the Area Team and what we accomplished.
Good working environment and lots of benefits as part of the standard employment package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsettling
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex25 January 2019
We had numerous Management changes causing a feeling of instability, however, the environment was a good, fun workplace
with various incentives throughout. Competitiveness was encouraged which gave challenges to overcome & a feeling of real satisfaction.
I made many friends there who remain my friends today.
Pros
Lots of prizes to be won
Cons
Unsettled job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts
Purchase Ledger Clerk (Current Employee) –  Maidstone31 December 2018
Our section started out with 13-14 staff. We had a good laugh and all pitched in when needed.

Unfortunately, over a year ago the business decided to Offshore our section. Redundancies happened, and now morale is at an all time low.

The worst part about it all is that I enjoyed my job, but now I sit there and watch someone overseas doing it. It's very soul destroying which is why it is time to move on.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Job no longer what it was
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical call centre environment, very high staff turnover
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire11 December 2018
I really haven’t enjoyed my time here at all. It’s a very typical call centre environment.
I have found it very difficult to take holiday or time owed back as a result of overtime as a result of staff shortages, meaning that they will not authorise it.
When I have had holiday authorised, I’ve been put on the rota several times to work on the Saturday during that time which has caused me many issues.
Not many experienced staff as no one tends to stay beyond 6 months
Pros
Free drinks once a month
Cons
Turnover, staff shortages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head if IT Operations and Infrastructure
Head of IT Operations (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 November 2018
Good company but continual leadership change and direction makes it difficult to bind to a strategy

Company has a strong culture, people are friendly and easy to work with,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Query Resolution Analyst (Current Employee) –  Manchester11 October 2018
Towergate Insurance is a leading and established company within the Insurance sector.

Working as a Financial Analyst involved me being responsible for high value transactions between both B2B and B2C, ensuring I not only improved the balance sheet but adhered to stringent industry regulations.

Their exists a culture of excellence with an analytical approach to daily activities. The role is high pressured but yet highly rewarding,
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No scope for progression
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex13 September 2018
I enjoyed my time here.

You can work in New Business, Customer Services, Retentions, Administration, Underwriting.

It is Monday - Friday with the occasional Saturday 9-1
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London1 July 2018
Was part of company previously taken over by Towergate. Slowly saw the family company ripped apart and business spread across the Towergate Death Star. They started redundancies and it was only a matter of time before I fell victim. 2010 that was. Gone was the dangling carrot of employee benefit when Toweragte went PLC!!! Six years. They didn't understand the business models were were operating with 12M premiums. New systems implemented didnt work. Would never work for this bunch of cowboys again
Pros
hmmm
Cons
Ever increasing workloads and demands
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Oxted, Surrey7 June 2018
Interesting role so much to learn during your first couple weeks of training, multiple different departments to work in so everyone's day to day is different
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good bosses
Financial Controller (Former Employee) –  North London13 May 2018
great boss. would work for him again
great offices/ environment
work life balance good

management are fantastic couldnt as for more.

very steady and non stressful job
Pros
local
Cons
rude team members
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Military Commercial Manager (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire9 May 2018
Was ok when they originally took over, but deteriorated over time. Consolidating offices and making the people with knowledge who know the products, redundant.
Cons
Management oblivious
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiting workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire10 April 2018
A typical day at work would be to make a minimum of 100 outbound calls a day to reach potential clientele. We had daily targets to meet in a driven environment, which I found challenging and exiting. overall I have to say it was valuable experience to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Commercial Insurance Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Telford12 March 2018
good company to work for, there was always room to advance and learn in the job role.
There wasn't much room to advance through the ranks but you are well looked after for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company & nice people
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Fareham2 March 2018
had a great team,enjoyed the role and gained a lot of experience from my time with them. The sales manager gave me the confidence to go off and try my hand in a sales type role next and he was a brilliant support when with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Colchester, Essex15 February 2018
Fast flowing sales floor
Making commission on a day to day basis
Hitting daily/monthly targets
Take inbound calls and making the necessary outbound calls.

Managing a small team when required to.
Make sure team is on target, the relevant information delivered to the team also.

Enjoyable part of the job would be hitting target and earning commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Executive
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Galashiels8 January 2018
The staff are very hardworking and give the job the best of their ability.
I have some lovely clients who are a pleasure to look after. Working in the Borders is a lovely experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone down the tubes, avoid at all costs
N/A (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire7 November 2017
could earn more stacking shelves, management are clueless, everyone keeps being made redundant, replaced with an army of temps that have no idea, no training, no room for progression, workload is far too high, expect to be off with stress at any given point.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
SERVICE RELATIONSHIP MANAGER (Former Employee) –  55 Bishopsgate20 October 2017
Towergate was a good place to work as the business is expanding and growing which gives a good opportunity to learn different things.

The culture is very friendly and everyone is pulling in the same direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Commercial Insurance Broker (Former Employee) –  Manchester17 October 2017
Great place to work. Enjoyed the commercial broking aspect of the role and gained a lot of knowledge. Dealt with various packages which gave me lots of confidence to deal with different aspects of risk.
Pros
Great working enviroment
Cons
Getting made redundant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Towergate Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 101 reviews
513
432
331
213
112

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture