Toby Carvery Employee Reviews

Found 231 reviews matching the search See all 232 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and hard work
Chef (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire7 August 2018
I like this job as it's all round good fun and seeing people smile after they leave the restaurant is a very happy feeling and would recommend any cook or chef starting off to start there.
Pros
Free lunch great staff and enjoyable job
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex30 July 2018
This is the worst job I've had.
It has been physically and mentally draining.
After I finish my shift I go home and then have to sleep for 14 hours just to recouperate. Every single shift without fail, I've vomited at least 3 times due to the complete lack of hygiene from customers and the state they leave the place in.
Even though it's only 2 hours a day, it isn't enough.
You won't actually work for the carvery, you're a subcontractor for AOK cleaners. You don't get any of the benefits listed in the description and you'll get treated like dirt, and Ike a child if you don't get everything done in the allotted 2 hour time slot, which isn't enough time if you were able to see the state of the restaurant.
If you read the reviews I highly recommend you find a different job.
Pros
The only Pro is 50% off one breakfast, and only if you choose to work mornings.
Cons
Completely disgusting management, honestly everything about the job is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, welcoming team
Barista (Current Employee) –  Merseyside17 July 2018
I love working in the Toby Carvery. Food is delicious, very clean tidy restaurant and welcoming staff. I also love helping customers and putting a smile on there face by having a simple conversation about there Day.
Pros
33% discount
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Dudley16 July 2018
We were often short staffed at very busy period so as a waitress I was taking on numerous roles. Other than that is was okay to work there and colleagues were friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place too learn
BOH SECOND CHEF/ BARMAN (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth19 June 2018
It's good place too learn and gain experience in all areas off the catering business, and also if you want it enough, they will progress you as well but you've got too earn it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cook/Chef (Former Employee) –  Morley6 June 2018
Got made part of the family so to speak . Loved it working here. Brunntcliffe Ls27 . We had fun at work not too much tho. Had even more out of work to with the team. Everyone got to know each other very well which in return made us a better team.
Pros
lot of team days outs
Cons
long days (Sundays) .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appaling
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Metrocentre, Tyne and Wear5 June 2018
Appaling to work with
i learned nothing as they never taught me
nothing was enjoyable
they were nothing but nasty
dont help you
talk rudley about customers
Pros
Half Price food
Cons
No one talked to you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team
Front of house waitress (Current Employee) –  Brockworth4 June 2018
I enjoyed working at Toby Carvery, mainly because of team and the importance of working together to achieve sales and the highest quality of customer service.
Pros
great team (made many lasting friendships), tips, discounted food, flexible hours
Cons
They allowed flexible hours that fit very well with my studies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful workplace community.
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Lincoln3 June 2018
Management are more obsessed with arbitrary goals than the well being of staff, which is reflected in the poor customer service. Negative place to work as all staff were concerned with themselves, giving no time to train newer inexperienced members, yet berating them when they make mistakes, rather than working with them to improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Bar Team Leader and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire23 May 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company, i felt like a valued member of the team. They always offered progression and the support alongside this.
The hardest part of this job was leaving, but I only left to study in a college out of town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Runner (Former Employee) –  Streetly18 May 2018
Good place to work for, busy and difficult at times, good benefits like 33% off M&Bs resturants and bars, free meals on shift, good plave to gain skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Pace Job
FRONT OF HOUSE TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Southend, Essex1 May 2018
I was a waitress and my duties included taking orders, delivering food to the table and taking payments. I had to interact with customers and build relationships to ensure customers would visit the restaurant again. The management were visible and i could ask for assistance if needed. I enjoyed the front of house duties of this role for example greeting customers at the door and chatting when at the tables.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire24 April 2018
long working hours however rewarding, lots of time spent here on bank holidays , goodstaff and nice food , the people that come into the restaurant are usually nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, with lots of experience
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands19 April 2018
I absolutely loved working here. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the customers were generally lovely. You did work long hours and we’re oretty much none stop, but that’s part and parcel. The customers were mostly friendly and the staff was very helpful. I was trained for my first few days but as I’m a fast learner, I picked everything up fairly quickly. I dealt with complaints and managed the bar.
Pros
Free food, experience, friendly, salary
Cons
Long hours, non sociable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 March 2018
I didn't work here long, was just to fill a void until I found a better job. worked behind a bar, serving and greeting customers, filling the bar etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Ravenswood19 March 2018
Working for Toby Carvery in Ravenswood was the worst job I have ever had.
The management is horrific & so unprofessional
the Kitchen staff are always in a terrible mood & will be aggressive towards you.
The team “team” are a bunch of gossiping children with no personalities.
The rota is usually given 24 hours before a shift.
The pay is terrible at around 7.05 an hour & no free food is given.
Good luck if you apply, you’ll need it
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Basildon8 March 2018
working at Toby carvery is really fun to be honest you can meet great people guest wise and make friends with the other employees with is good, every one of the employees are helpful and the managers there couldn't be more helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Aldershot, Hampshire2 March 2018
As a former head chef with TC i can say the work culture, staff professionalism and management support is close to zero. As a result TC in aldershot was shut down.
Pros
Salary on time
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work always started and ended with a smile
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Old Windsor27 February 2018
My role in as a kitchen assistant involved pot washing, making the desserts and the starters, preparing the veg, cooking the veg and the meat, cleaning the kitchen as i went through out the day plus the main big clean at the end of every day. I learnt how to run a kitchen, learnt knife skills and also learnt more about time keeping using my time to always make sure the kitchen was clean and that dishes where made.
Pros
great atmosphere, great experience
Cons
late finishes and long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In it together
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside22 February 2018
Grest place to work
Lots of benefits of working for the company
Training ,progression ,discounts,pensions
Flexible working hours depending on your lifestyle
Pros
Discount, pension
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toby Carvery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 232 reviews
541
464
364
225
138

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture