The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Associate (Current Employee) –  Newmarket18 October 2017
working here as my first job is a great part time job for me while i am not at college as the pay is good, the team is friendly and hard working so it is a comfortable working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough18 October 2017
i am currently unemployed at the moment but i am looking for any part time work within 5 miles of the slough area. i don't have any experience in any areas apart from being a housekeeper at Langley Travelodge which i was only working there for a couple if months this year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  Taunton17 October 2017
i worked here as a christmas temp nearly 4 years ago and i loved every minute of it, didnt really like the changing room shifts but other than that i loved the organising on all the clothes racks
Pros
good pay for my age at the time
Cons
was a christmas temp position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work place
Customer Services Adviser, Tk Maxx, Castlepoint (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth17 October 2017
Go in early in the morning, serve till lunch have a lunch break then restock the shelves. one of the hardest problem during the job is talking to the costumers, i learnt how to use a till and how to talk to costumers
Pros
percentage off products
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford14 October 2017
The staff members at tk maxx were very friendly as was the management. If you are a new starter the management are very helpful with the training and wouldn't let you struggle
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London11 October 2017
Very nice colleague, i really like serving customers,the management are really nice yo work with.There ain't no hard park in my job because we all work together to get things done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bletchley, Buckinghamshire11 October 2017
I was hired when i was 16, they kept me on board part time until i left for University, then my store kept me on as a seasonal worker. This was amazing as it meant i could keep my work ethic and still earn money without it affecting my studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, not so great management
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 October 2017
The pay is great, management wasn't the best and obtaining holidays or more/less hours of work was a struggle.

Workplace culture was okay. Hardest part of the job was dealing with management but the most enjoyable for me was the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke9 October 2017
good weekend job for people but again, not really a career choice and no good progression within the company, i would avoid this unless youre in full time education
Pros
easy money
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced paced
Operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire9 October 2017
It is a very fast paced and intensive place to work but it is also very fun. The management know what they are doing and always take time to help you and look after you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short hours but good overtime
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea8 October 2017
Colleagues were good to work with; contract hours were short, but always opportunities for overtime; heavy lifting involved, which was hardest part of job.
Pros
easy access to work
Cons
contract hours short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was 16
Sales Assistant and Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 October 2017
Being 16 I don't really know, like any other retail industry with the bonus of getting discount on good items. its asking me for more words to write, hence what you are reading now.
Pros
can find a bargain
Cons
another retail industry that treats you poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St Helens5 October 2017
All my collegues where very friendly and welcoming. I have made life long friend. The work was always on the go but i enjoyed trying different sections of the work place.
Pros
Different departments to learn
Cons
Unsure shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a satisfactory job. Nothing Special
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Covent Garden, Greater London29 September 2017
The various job roles where reasonable boring. Can attract alot of uptight rude customers particularly in the covent garden area but I guess the pay helps to balance it out. Honestly if your looking for a job to start off in then it's perfect but not a job role to stay and progress in. I hope this helps. Thanks
Pros
Ok Starting Wage
Cons
Not enough overtime offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good workplace badly managed
Associate (Former Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent26 September 2017
The people are lovely
The pay is excellent
If you have a good manager you will go far

The structure of the workplace is good and you will generally feel welcomed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath25 September 2017
fast paced environment. hardest part of job takes time to learn and settle. enjoyed the discount and communication with customers. Learned how to arrange merchandise through store policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me occupied
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex22 September 2017
I like the fact that TK Maxx as a company took me on for the position for floor assistant but I only got given 8 hours a week. However near enough all of the staff were wonderful to speak to and they gave me the correct training I needed to pursue retail.

I found it difficult at first as I was a lot younger both physically and mentally but after one of the staff named Kat kindly invited me round her house for hours of tutorials, I came back a lot more confident and ready to work.
Pros
The support
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a really fun and quite simple place to work
Ireland - Associate (Former Employee) –  County Cork21 September 2017
While the hours aren't that great, the pay is good, and so is the management. The culture can feel a bit forced but you can genuinely form long lasting friendships while working here.
Pros
Friendly work environment, good pay.
Cons
Not enough hours, too many breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy productive workplace with fun likable staff
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Sheffield21 September 2017
A great learning experience for anyone wanting to start working in the retail or fashion industry. A very popular store so you are always kept occupied. Lovely work colleagues. Recommended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place that encourages creativity
Digital E Commerce Copywriter (Current Employee) –  Rugby19 September 2017
Brilliant and creative new thinking company. Excellent ethos and atmosphere. Great place that encourages creativity and people are approachable. Culture is good, flexible and they are willing to progress people's skills and energy as it benefits the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The TJX Companies, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,373 reviews
51.4K
41.4K
31.1K
2300
1217

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture