The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and happy workplace
Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  County Oak Retail Park12 April 2018
I did find the job boring every now and then but the people there really help with that aspect. The people at TJX are very easy to get along with and make you feel as welcome as possible so you can fit in to the job well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guildford11 April 2018
Typical day is to just serve customers and replenish stock
I learn that how to deal with all types of customers and transaction is very busy environment.
Management were helpful most of the time
The culture with late teens and most people were very nice
Hardest part of the job were the hours, either very late nights or very early mornings
Most enjoyable part with the pay and the discount.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok...
Associate (Former Employee) –  Stafford9 April 2018
wages are good but hours can be really long, shift patterns are everywhere, a lot of staff but still never seems to be enough to cover the store. all the staff seem to be so unhappy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible place to work
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire8 April 2018
Staff are all so friendly, great environment to work in and good pay. Enjoyable job, not like other retail jobs. TJX are also very eager for their staff to move up in the company and massively encourage it, which I thought was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to work
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Staines, Surrey4 April 2018
Tkjx working environment is excellent, there is teamwork and always opportunity to learn different skills such as time management, multitasking, effective communication skills and more. There are rewards, such as certificates for excellency in customer service, strongly taking part in charities and any other ideas that helps the store. Management set up daily briefs and monthly meetings that keeps everything up to date and what plans are expected in the near future. Thus, all workers are kept on their toes and improving on their daily activities and on their job roles.

A typical day at work would be clocking in with quick briefing by team leader about certain tasks upon arrival. You would than be needed to recover/maintain your department along with helping your colleagues on tills at the end of the day you would be needed to recover your department on time and also help other if they are lacking behind. As I have been experienced in my department I'm required to brief other colleague on what to do in my department .The best part of my job would be to accommodate any changes that will be best suited for the department and also meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne3 April 2018
My day would vary depending on what I would be on. I learned new skills like confidence and to be able to both approach and be approached by customers. All management were nice and friendly, with a goal to make all staff and customers satisfied. The hardest part of the job was the fact i was only a Christmas temporary so i didn't know if i was staying on. The most enjoyable part was helping the customers and making sure they were happy too.
Pros
The staff are very friendly.
Cons
Messy customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced worklife
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  London3 April 2018
Very professional work place. Working day moves quickly and you feel accomplished.
Always a lot of work to do however very high expectations and training isn't the most effective.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
High Expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting job with perk, benefits and rewards
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire30 March 2018
The working environment is excellent, there is teamwork and always different opportunity skills to learn. There are rewards, such as certificates for excellency in customer service, strongly taking part in charities and any other ideas that helps the store. Management set up daily briefs and monthly meetings that keeps everything up to date and what plans are expected in the near future. Thus, all workers are kept on their toes and improving on their daily activities and on their job roles.
Pros
all staffs are looked after
Cons
not enough hours, mostly part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times but not very exciting overall
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich30 March 2018
A typical day here for me involved scanning a lot of clothing lines, looking for discounts and then moving them to another rail, sometimes dealing with deliveries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not agood place to work
Sales Assistant / Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire25 March 2018
I was left on my own alot and there was never anyone about to help.It was the worst place i have ever worked.I was on the till alot,didn't like the people i worked with.
Pros
discount
Cons
strange hours not agood atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham18 March 2018
I enjoy working at tk maxx. Iv been there three years and have learnt a lot. I have learnt a lot about jewelry as they had me trained to work on the jewelry counter. That is the part i enjoy the most. The hardest part of job i would say is the fitting rooms due to the fact that it can be very fast pace however i wouldn't class it a hard, i would say its challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human slavery at its best!
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire14 March 2018
There is no respect for humans, managers yelling at you for not reaching the targets and laughing behind the counter with team leaders,health and safety is a JOKE , they don't care if you got a problem all you get in response is "business needs" . You don't have the right to speak your mind, if you want to keep your job you need to keep you head down and smile when they pick on you. I never felt so humiliated before!
Pros
none
Cons
way too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and boring workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Ilford10 March 2018
A typical day at work would include clocking in and sorting out the stock, while customers would throw everything they could touch on the floor.
I learnt about the importance of health and safety at work.
The management were organised but did not care.
The workplace culture was focused on taking lunch breaks as soon as possible.
The hardest part of the job was respecting customers.
The easiest part of the job was organising the stock.
Pros
Location was extremely close to home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  BD21 3NJ10 March 2018
i learned alot of new skills at TKMaxx, and good training was given on the introduction days. However, there seemed to be different types of managing styles and alot of staff left initially which meant we were understaffed.
Cons
no leeway alongside studies or extra curricular activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London6 March 2018
It's not a bad place to work.
Pay rate is average and people are nice.

Because they sell cheaper products it feels like the store is on sale all the time. So it's always busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brixton, Greater London6 March 2018
I really enjoyed it and it was great working there as the environment was very friendly and was like one family. Furthermore management were very friendly towards me
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  stoke5 March 2018
ros
Stable growing business
Fast pace, everyday can be different
Challenging
Cons
Working with some very huge EGOS
Very long tiring days, work doesn’t stop even when you get home.
Payroll restrictions making the day to day difficult.
District managers who Micro Manage. Can be very demotivating.
Cultures and values that aren’t delivered by higher management yet it’s drilled into teams at store level.
DM’s making changes to policy, which are not in the employee handbook.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace culture
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire3 March 2018
fun place to work with a great progression path. There is a lot of fun to be had as the company does a lot for charity so there is always something to get involved with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and Uncooperative Working Environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset28 February 2018
A typical day at work would consist of not being briefed upon arrival, which one would argue is necessary in order to begin a shift, then a series of instructions on tasks that need completing which are received by multiple members of the management team in a disorderly fashion whereby no single instruction or objective corresponds with that of another member of management. This is a consistent issue in the everyday workplace at this company, and causes confusion and distress among associates on the shop floor as there is uncertainty on where associates are stationed, what tasks need completing and what deadlines are to be met. Furthermore, there has been much dispute between the management and the associates regarding hours (availability). It would seem that some members of management do not comply with the availability of many associates and disregard any reasonable requests for days off, shift swaps or less/more hours. An example of this is when an associate's request for a minor amendment to their availability was verbally accepted by members of management, but then not put into practice in the follow-up, despite being asked persistently and to consider their circumstances. On top of that, the job itself is repetitive, dull and tedious, while the working environment is tense and irritable. Overall, there is a lack of basic communication between the management which, in turn, creates misunderstandings and hence strained relationships in the workplace. There is not a great deal of respect for much of the management coming from an associate's viewpoint and there is a collective  more... distaste from the associates concerning various unacceptable actions, behavior and approaches of some of the superior members of management.  less
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Inflexible, long hours, repetitive, unrewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TKmaxx
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport28 February 2018
Good shift patterns, you would always know what days you would be working and what time you would be finishing.
The pay was very good and everyone was friendly.
Pros
Good pay, Good shifts, Breaks included
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The TJX Companies, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,838 reviews
51.5K
41.5K
31.2K
2336
1241

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture