THE SHEFFIELD COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire28 April 2018
I love my job, but economic pressures, constant re-structures,targets, and pressure from management make it hard. I guess most schools would be the same!
Pros
teaching
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained a variety of experience
Work Placement Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire16 April 2018
I am looking for alternative work as my position ceased due to position changing, not necessarily doing the same type of role.

I have had varied experience since leaving school in 1978.

I am looking for work admin based and database rather than a secretarial position, preferably in the public sector or educational environment, or government agency.
Pros
variety
Cons
couldn't continue because not enough work for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Learner Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire26 March 2018
Enjoyable and rewarding work supporting students with a variety of abilities, mental health problems and learning difficulties. The work culture was one of support for students and staff, from team members. The hardest par of the job was the lack of resources for support, which was offset by the joy of the interaction with students and seeing them progress.
Pros
Supportive team
Cons
Educational cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling to adapt to modern day culture
N/A (Former Employee) –  Sheffield14 November 2017
Friendly people and culture, but management, systems, processes etc. are holding the college back and are quite antiquated, The general day to day life at the college is quite relaxed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, not a bad place to work, but not a great place either.
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire10 May 2017
Depending on who your manager is, as in most places, depends on how satisfied you are in your job. I've been here a while and seen a lot of changes and not always in the best interest of the students. Overall - most people are nice enough, its been a good experience, but don't expect to climb the ladder - the opportunities just aren't there.
Pros
can be flexible with childcare issues etc.
Cons
long hours, heaviliy reliant on goodwill and dedicated staff to work for free.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant staffand teachingf tutors
Self Marketing and Personal Enterprise (Former Employee) –  sheffield19 October 2015
what can I say all good stuff and self marketing and job hunting and networking and a pride to myself and others you cant go wrong in education and the need for it even late in life
Pros
good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging work
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Sheffield24 January 2015
Great fun teaching History of Art and Art. Good colleagues, and good working atmosphere. Organised lots of trips to centres of culture. Good work life balance. Learned a great deal about Art
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Paced with some busy periods but really good fun
Technical Trainer (Design & Visual Arts) (Current Employee) –  Wombwell, ENG30 July 2014
• To manage and run the print room facilities
• To maintain and re-stock the art department cupboards
• To aid the coverage of classes in tutor absence
• To supervise off-site student trips
• To order new stationery using the online ordering systems
Pros
Learnt how to use large format printers
Cons
Zero hours contract so summer holidays are so quiet I have no working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more THE SHEFFIELD COLLEGE reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE SHEFFIELD COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 11 reviews
52
44
34
21
10

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.2Culture

THE SHEFFIELD COLLEGE Reviews by Location