The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 773 reviews matching the search See all 9,277 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place
Voluntary Work (Current Employee) –  Romford3 December 2018
very amazing place, i got to meet new people and help them out as they were homeless and it makes me happy when i help someone and they are happy.
had to help out a lot in the kitchen especially with the dishes and the food.
Pros
brakes, lunches, gave free bakery
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
SALES ASSITANT (Former Employee) –  South Shields, Tyne and Wear3 December 2018
I volunteered and the Salvation Army and had a lot of fun doing it. I met some amazing people and gained knowledge and experience of how the store works as well as gaining lots of skills that I took with me to my next challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to worj
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire30 November 2018
Love working here although it's vaulentry I have gaind loads of experience and qualifications during my to.e here every one is brilliant to get along with and work atmosphere is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  South East London, Greater London28 November 2018
Awesome. Excellent working environment and conditions. I learnt so much.
I went there for work experience and got the best training from the dedicated staff members.
Pros
no free meals
Cons
Good training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire28 November 2018
my time at the Salvation Army was great overall. sometimes customers would be annoying but you get that in every store and you have to put up with it, but other than that it was great.
Pros
nice people
Cons
i had to wake up before 8am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor service and poor management
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset25 November 2018
I worked for the Salvation Army an couple months ago
I found them have no idea or interest in running a business
Very poor management no care for residents or staff
No idea how to employ people and salaries are very poor amazing got the minimum wage found the wages were different each month
Pros
Smelly and dirty
Cons
Supervisor won’t train their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Assist shop manager (Former Employee) –  Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands21 November 2018
Helping manager with customers.

I learnt different charity aspects of the company.

Management is very poor. Expects you to do menial tasks.

Workplace culture is not enjoyable.

Job is not hard, just mundane and boring.

Other staff can be enjoyable to work with.
Pros
Get 1st dips with donations.
Cons
Menial tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Batley21 November 2018
Excellent people to work for and to work with different people. I learned a few new techniques in the kitchen area and in the shop, and on deliveries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place and organisation to work for
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hadleigh20 November 2018
very good organisation to work for they treat everyone with respect and a positive attitude every employee has a task and a great attitude to completing their task that has been set.
Pros
cheap lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Weekly volunteering (Current Employee) –  Limavady, County Londonderry20 November 2018
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoy my time there and help out in the store with cleaning and organising shelves from the food bank.
Pros
Tea & biscuits offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun volunteers.
Voluntary Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redcar19 November 2018
Fun volunteers, Manager at that time wasn't great.
Wouldn't take me seriously. I had fun with the other volunteers but paid staff would not let us on the shop floor we had to stay in the stock rooms and our main job was to clean after staff and make tea.
Pros
N/a
Cons
No benefits, bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lesuire hobby
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ripon, North Yorkshire17 November 2018
Was a fun place to work at and lovley staff and all very friendly. Lovley items in the shop to buy for men women and kids its a lovley place to shop and look around in genral the items are relvant for kids women men and teenager's
Pros
Lovely people to meet
Cons
Beeb told what to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely people to work with
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Leeds17 November 2018
I worked with the Salvation Army as a volunteer. On Monday afternoons we would serve up to 40 people with a hot meal. I really enjoyed interacting with the other volunteers and the men and women who came for a meal. I learned to show empathy towards the people. I enjoyed listening to their life stories and experiences. The hardest part of the work was washing up the dishes after our clients had finished eating. The management were senior officers in the army. They were very kind and helped me feel at ease in my duties preparing and serving the meals.
Pros
We were given a free meal after the men and women had finished eating
Cons
Doing the washing up!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and very Productive
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Dunfermline, Fife15 November 2018
Typical day involves preparing clothes on the shop and assist with deliveries, learned about how to hang and tag clothes, management are fabulous, workplace culture is very good, isnt a hard part of the job and i enjoy the job as it's built my confidence up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly Workplace
Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Stourbridge8 November 2018
The Salvation Army is a fun place to work and all the staff members are so friendly and welcoming and just generally kind to customers that come in. They work hard to make sure the shop is at its best standard and it keeps the customers happy. So far I have enjoyed working for them and have felt like part of the team since day one. Would definitely recommend doing volunteer work with the company to get some good work experience and a good reference.
Pros
Friendly staff, Staff discounts, Good work experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 November 2018
It's a christian charity so isn't the most wild place to work and the office in Elephant and Castle isn't the most aesthetically pleasing building in London. But it is a friendly place to work and you are doing something worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire3 November 2018
Warm environment, satisfying job role,
always something to do,
never boring, good social factors;
interaction with new people 24-7,
cashier,
Banking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  Nottingham29 October 2018
i volenteered here for almost 2 years and found alot of confidence and gained skills from simple things, the staff were amazing and always showed me how to complete things better if i made a mistake, i highly reccomend anyone intrested in a placement like this then they should go for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me get over my Social Anxiety
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Luton28 October 2018
I worked here for 2 weeks due to my work experience as a sales assistant and helped to clean the place. The interaction with other people somewhat helped me get over my Social Anxiety. Plus the people working there were a lovely people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rothwell21 October 2018
I have to sort old clothes with new clothes, serve customers hot and cold drinks, play snooker at lunch, read books, clean the place up at 3:00pm before the next day
Pros
free lunches
Cons
waiting for buses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9,278 reviews
54K
42.5K
31.7K
2542
1504

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture